
Helpful Tips to Consider BEFORE & AFTER You 
Purchase a Used or Previously Registered Boat

To Transfer a boat/motor from one LA Resident to 
another LA resident:

Be sure to call our LDWF Licensing Department to verify that 
the name of the current registered owner of the boat is the 
person that is currently selling the boat. LDWF Licensing 
Department will need the LA Registration# or Hull ID#.

To register a boat/motor  from out of state and brought 
into Louisiana:

Obtain the out of state registration information from the 
registered owner.

What to do after you purchase your boat in-state?

Register your boat with LDWF:
Complete the Boat Registration-Title Application:
Click here for Boat Registration/Boat & Motor Title Application

What to do after you purchase your boat from out of state?

Register your boat with LDWF:
Complete the Boat Registration-Title Application:
Click here for Boat Registration/Boat & Motor Title Application

BEFORE PURCHASE

AFTER PURCHASE

Contact LDWF Licensing Department with any questions  |  225-765-2898

The Licensing Department can recognize if there is a title. 
If there is one, you must request that the original title be 
surrendered to you at the time of sale.

If the title is reassigned on the back, it must be notarized.

Obtain a completed Bill of Sale or Act of Donation form from 
the person with whom you are purchasing the boat/motor.  
Be sure the bill of sale or act of donation identifies the boat 
by LA# or Hull ID number.

Call the Licensing Department from that state of transfer 
to recognize if there is a title issued & request the original 
from the seller if there is one, making sure it is notarized if 
necessary.

Obtain a completed Bill of Sale or Act of Donation form from 
the person with whom you are purchasing the boat/motor.   
Be sure the bill of sale or act of donation identifies the boat by 
LA# or Hull ID number.

Choose one of the following to finish the registration process:
1. Mail your boat/motor application, documents, and payment

(check or money order) to the address on the form.  If you mail
in your paperwork, be sure to keep copies of everything.

2. Bring it all to our WLF Headquarters:
2000 Quail Drive, BR, LA  70808
We accept the following types of payments in person; cash,
check, or credit/debit card

If boat was purchased from an individual who previously 
registered/titled the boat in another state, the applicant must 
submit the title and registration along with a bill of sale. If the 
boat was acquired in another state, previously titled or registered, 
applicant must submit invoice from the dealer, or a bill of sale, 
along with the title and/or registration and proof of ownership 
from titled/registered owner to dealer is required. 

Applications for first time registration in Louisiana may be 
required to submit a completed tax payment certification form 
(R-1331) from LA Department of Revenue and your local tax-
collecting agency, if at least one of the following is true. The value 
of the boat is $2500 or greater, the vessel was manufactured 
within the last 10 years, and or the vessel was purchased from a 
dealership. Call telephone number at the bottom of this page for 
more clarification

https://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/assets/Boating/Files/Title-and-Register-Your-Boat/boat_registration_title_app.pdf
https://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/assets/Boating/Files/Title-and-Register-Your-Boat/boat_registration_title_app.pdf

