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SPECIAL BAIT DEALER'S PERMIT APPLICATION 
Title 76:329 

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries 

Licensing Section 

P. 0.  Box 14796 

Baton Rouge, LA 70898 

225-765-2898 

 
 

NAME OF BUSINESS:      

OWNER OF BUSINESS:  FEDERAL TAX ID#:  _ 

MAILING ADDRESS:                                                                                                                                                               

PHYSICAL ADDRESS:      

DAYTIME PHONE:  VESSEL REGISTRATION#:  _ 

 
List Name(s) of Commercial Fisherman/Boat Captain(s) and Their Commercial Fisherman's License Number: 

 

 

 

 

 

FEES: $1000 bond and $110 permit fee (money order or cashier's check only). 

 

 
Certification/Disclaimer 

 
I am a bona fide Bait Dealer and I understand the rules and provisions of the Special Bait Dealers Permit. I am prepared to meet 

the terms of the permit, and if I violate any of the terms of the permit, the permit will be revoked and my $1,000 bond will be forfeited. 

I understand that by applying for and accepting a permit issued by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF), 

I am being allowed to engage in an activity which would otherwise be prohibited by law.  I understand that the permit is not a license 

and confers no property right upon me. I agree to abide by all State and Federal fish and wildlife laws and regulations, and by all other 

terms and conditions of this permit. I understand that the permit for which I am applying may be suspended, canceled or revoked at any 

time by the LDWF. I agree to immediately surrender the permit issued to me upon demand made upon me by any authorized employee 

of the LDWF. I understand and agree that any permit issued to me by the LDWF is in the nature of a privilege which is being voluntarily 

extended to me by the Department and the failure on  my  part to cooperate fully and completely with the Department or its employees 

can result in the loss of the privilege conferred and  the denial  of  future requests for permits. By accepting this perm it, I evidence my 

agreement to be bound by all conditions and stipulations set forth herein. 

 
 

l, (we) declare under the penalties in the Louisiana statues that to be the best of my knowledge and belief that 

all matters stated herein are true and correct. Any misrepresentation of facts supplied to this office for the 
purpose of obtaining a permit will subject the applicant to criminal charges as provided by law. 

 
 

Signature:  Date:  _ 



§329. Special Bait Dealer's Permit 

A. Policy. The special bait dealer's permit is 

intended solely for the benefit of the recreational fishing 

public which desires to use live shrimp and live croaker as 

bait during the closed shrimp seasons. Its purpose is to 

allow the uninterrupted operation of those commercial 

establishments which sell live bait shrimp and live croaker 

to the fishing public during the closed shrimp seasons. The 

permit is not intended for the direct use of recreational 

fishermen, charter boats, commercial fishermen who sell 

dead shrimp or croaker, or for any other entity which may 

wish to catch shrimp or croaker for their own use during 

the closed shrimp seasons. 

B. Application 

1. Applicants wishing to sell live shrimp or live 

croaker harvested from Louisiana waters during closed 

shrimp season must apply for a special bait dealer permit 

from the department for a fee of $110.00. 

2. The special bait dealer’s permit shall be valid for 

one year beginning January 1 and ending December 31 of 

that same calendar year. The permit may be purchased at 

any time during the year for the current permit year and 

beginning November 15 for the immediately following 

permit year. 

3. Applications will be accepted only from the 

owner of an onshore business which sells or plans to sell 

live shrimp or live croaker to recreational fisherman. 

4. Applicant shall be responsible for acquiring and 

possessing all proper licenses including the 

wholesale/retail seafood dealers license. 

5. Any person convicted of any class three or 

greater wildlife or fisheries violation within the previous 

three years prior to the date of application shall not qualify 

to obtain a special bait dealer’s permit or be onboard any 

vessel engaged in permitted activities. 

6. Applicant must post a $1,000 cash bond before 

the permit is issued. This bond will be forfeited if the 

permittee, his employee, or his contractor violates any 

provision of the rules and regulations concerning the 

special bait dealer's permit or if the permittee, his 

employee, or his contractor violates any commercial 

fishing law or regulation while operating under the permit. 

7. All new applications shall require an inspection 

by the department of their onshore facility and vessel prior 

to permit being issued. Subsequent inspections may be 

required at renewal. Inspection requirements shall verify 

applicant is operating a commercial establishment which 

sells live shrimp or live croakers to the fishing public for 

use as bait and shall include: 

a. onshore facility able to maintain live 

shrimp or live croakers; 

b. onshore facilities and vessel tanks 

must have provisions for aeration and/or circulation of 

the water in which live shrimp or live croakers are held; 

c.                onshore facility holding tanks must 

have a minimal combined capacity of 300 gallons. Tanks 

having less than 30 gallon capacity will not be included in 

combined on shore facility capacity; 

d. vessel tanks must be carried on or built into 

the vessel and have a minimum of one compartment or tank with 

a minimum capacity of 30 gallons; 

e.              notice to the public must be posted that live 

bait is available. 

8. Only the vessel and those commercial fishermen 

specified at the time of application shall operate under the 

permit. Amendments to vessel or commercial fishermen listed 

under the permit must be submitted to the department and 

approved before the new vessel or commercial fisherman can 

operate under the permit. The permit is not transferable to any 

other person or vessel. The entire original permit must be carried 

on the vessel while in operation. 

C. Operations 

1. The entire original permit must be in the possession of 

the commercial fisherman while operating under the conditions 

of the permit. Only the vessel and those commercial fishermen 

specified at the time of application shall operate under the 

permit. No other vessel or commercial fisherman shall be used 

under this permit. 

2. Live wells, aeration tanks, and other vessel facilities to 

maintain live shrimp or croaker must be carried on or built into 

this vessel while operating under the conditions of the permit. 

3. No person shall transfer any shrimp or croaker taken 

under a permit from one vessel to another unless both vessels are 

permitted under the same wholesale/retail seafood dealer, and 

the captain of the harvesting vessel has signed a trip ticket for 

the harvested bait, and the bait is then transported directly to the 

wholesale/retail seafood dealer under which both vessels are 

operating; upon receiving the harvested bait the dealer shall 

complete the trip ticket. 

4. While operating under the conditions of the permit, no 

shrimp or croaker may be sold from the vessel to anyone other 

than the licensed wholesale/retail seafood dealer listed on the 

permit during the closed shrimp seasons. 

5. Signs which identify the vessel as working under the 

special bait dealer's permit shall be posted on the vessel. These 

signs shall be visible from either side of the vessel and from the 

air; the word "BAIT" and the permit number shall be placed on 

these signs in letters at least 12 inches high. 

6. No more than two gallons of dead shrimp or croaker or 

combination thereof may be aboard the vessel while it is 

operating under the permit. All dead shrimp or croaker or 

combination thereof in excess of two gallons must be 

immediately returned to the water. Shrimp or croaker dying in 

onshore holding facilities may be sold for bait use only. 

7. Trawl and skimmer vessels operating under a special 

bait dealer’s permit must adhere to a tow time, not exceeding, 

15 minutes. Tow times are measured from the time the codend 

enters the water until it is completely removed from the water. 

The net must be completely emptied of catch on the deck after 

the codend is removed from the water. 

8. Except as provided in Paragraph 9, permitted gear is 

limited to one trawl not to exceed 25 feet along the cork line 33 

feet along the lead line or two skimmer nets having an 



individual net frame size not more than 16 feet measured 

horizontally or 12 feet measured vertically or 20 feet 

measured diagonally. 

a. These are the only commercial fishing gears 

which can be used or carried aboard the permitted vessel 

while the vessel is operating under the permit; no other 

commercial fishing gear other than unserviceable crab 

traps as described in R.S. 56:322(G) may be on the vessel 

when it is being used under the special bait dealer’s 

permit. 

9. Notwithstanding any portion of this Section to the 

contrary, permitted gear when operating under the 

special bait dealer’s permit is as follows: 

a. One trawl measuring 50 feet long and less along 

the cork line and 66 feet long or less along the lead line. 

Mesh size must be at least 5/8-inch bar or 1-1/4 inches 

stretched and 3/4- inch bar or 1-1/2 inches stretched 

during the fall inshore shrimp season from the western 

shore of Vermilion Bay and Southwest Pass at Marsh 

Island to the Atchafalaya River. 

b. Double skimmer nets may have an opening 

circumference of no more than 72 feet for each net and a 

maximum lead line length of 33 feet. Skimmer nets may 

be mounted to the horizontal net frame at any distance 

from the gunwale of the vessel as long as the mounting 

distance and horizontal length of the net frame does not 

exceed 20 feet from the gunwale. Mesh size must be at 

least 5/8-inch bar or 1-1/4 inches stretched and 3/4-inch 

bar or 1-1/2 inches stretched during the fall inshore 

shrimp season from the western shore of Vermilion Bay 

and Southwest Pass at Marsh Island to the Atchafalaya 

River. 

c. The provisions of this Paragraph shall be 

effective until December 31, 2023. 

10. Bait shrimp or croaker may be taken only from 

official sunrise to official sunset; however, the 

department at its discretion, may designate the areas and 

hours of night time operations under the permit provided 

permitted vessels are equipped with a working vessel 

monitoring system as described in LAC 76:VII.371. 

11. Each time the permit is used the permittee must 

notify the department by contacting the Communications 

Section on the designated toll free telephone number 

provided on the permit and recording the confirmation 

number received. Before the vessel departs the dock 

under the permit, the department must be advised of the 

time of departure and the sub- basin code corresponding 

to the department’s trip ticket sub-basin map in which 

trawling or skimming will take place; immediately after 

the permitted vessel returns to the dock the department 

must be notified of the time of return by contacting the 

Communications Section on the designated toll free 

telephone number provided on the permit. 

12. The permittee shall maintain an up-to- date 

record of the activities conducted under the permit on 

forms provided by the department for that purpose. 

These records shall be kept onboard the vessel and made 

available for inspection by agents of the department upon 

request by said agents at any time and shall include the 

permittee’s name and permit number, date, departure time, 

fishing location, gear used, confirmation number, return time, 

and number of live shrimp or live croaker harvested. All 

applicable record information shall be completed before fishing 

operations begin. In addition, any agent of the department shall 

be allowed to make an onsite inspection of any facilities 

operating under the permit, at any time. Nothing herein this 

Section shall exempt the permittee from trip ticket reporting 

requirements as provided for in R.S. 56:306.4. 

D. Penalties 

1. No person shall violate any provision of this Section. 

Violations of any provision of this Section shall constitute a 

class 4 violation as defined in R.S. 56:34. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with 

LA R.S. 56:326.3 and 56:497(C). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, and Wildlife and Fisheries 

Commission, LR 3:210 (April, 1977), amended LR 15:867 

(October, 

1989), LR 19:215 (February, 1993), LR 23:86 

(January, 1997), LR 33:864 (May 2007), LR 36:77 

(January 2010), LR 38:3250 (December 2012), 

LR 47:1651 (November 2021). 



 

 

§371. Vessel Monitoring System (VMS) 

Requirements 

A. The following provision regarding VMS shall 

be applicable to all provisions of law  requiring  the 

use of VMS except where required by R.S . 56:433.1 

and LAC 76:Vll.525. 

I . The vessel must have onboard a fully 

operational and approved VMS Device. Approved 

devices are those devices approved by NOAA 

Fisheries Service or the secretary of the Louisiana 

Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) for 

fisheries in the Gulf of Mexico Reef Fish fishery and 

which meet the minimum performance criteria 

specified in Paragraph 2 of this Subsection. In the 

event that a VMS device is removed from the list of 

approved devices, vessel owners who installed an 

approved VMS prior to approval of any revised list will 

be considered in compliance with requirements of this 

Paragraph, unless otherwise notified by the LDWF. 

2. Minimum VMS Performance Criteria. Basic 

required features of the VMS are as follows. 

a. The VMS shall be satellite-based and 

tamper proof, i.e., shall not permit the input of false 

positions; furthermore, satellite selection must be 

automatic to provide an optimal fix and shall not be 

capable of being manually overridden. 

b. The VMS shall be fully automatic and 

operational at all times, regardless of weather and 

environmental conditions. 

c. The VMS shall be fully operable and 

capable of tracking the vessel in all of Louisiana 

coastal waters and throughout the Gulf of Mexico. 

d. The VMS shall be capable of 

transmitting and storing information including 

vessel identification, date, time and 

latitude/longitude. 

e. The VMS unit shall make all required 

transmissions to a designated and approved VMS 

vendor who shall be responsible for monitoring the 

vessel and reporting information to the LDWF. 

f. The VMS shall provide accurate 

position transmissions every ha lf - hour, except for 

those vessels operating solely under the  out-of-state 

landing permit mentioned in Paragraph 3 that 

require accurate position transmissions every hour, 

every day of the year, during required monitoring 

period. In addition, the VMS shall allow polling of 

individual vessels or any set of vessels at any time 

and permit those monitoring the vessel to receive 

position reports in real time. For the purposes of this 

specification, real time shall constitute data that 

reflect a delay of 15 minutes or less betwee 11t the 

displayed information  and   the   vessel's   actual position. 

g. The VMS vendor shall be capable of 

transmitting position data to a LDWF designated 

computer system via a modem at a  minimum  speed 

of 9600 baud. Transmission shall be in a file format 

acceptable to the LDWF. Such transmission must be 

made at any time upon demand of the LDWF. 

h. The VMS vendor shall be capable of 

archiving vessel position histories for a minimum of 

three months, as transmitted by the VMS unit, and 

provide transmissions to the LDWF of specified 

portions of archived data in response to LDWF 

requests in a variety of media (tape, compact disc, etc.) 

as specified by the LDWF. 

3. Operating Requirements. Except as provided in 

Paragraph 4 (power down exemption) of this Subsection, 

or unless otherwise required by law, all required VMS 

units must transmit a signal indicating the vessel's 

accurate position at least every half hour, 24 hours a day, 

throughout the year. However, those vessels operating 

solely   under   the   out-of-state landing permit shall 

transmit a signal indicating the vessel's accurate position 

at least every  hour,   24 hours a day throughout the year. 

4. Power Down Exemption. Any vessel 

required to have on board a fully operational VMS unit 

at all times, as specified in Paragraph 3 of this 

Subsection, is exempt from this requirement provided: 

a. the vessel wi II be continuously out of the 

water for more than 72 consecutive hours; and 

b. a valid letter of exemption obtained 

pursuant to Subparagraph 5.a of the Subsection has 

been issued to the vessel and is on board the vessel is 

in compliance with all conditions and requirements of 

said lette r. 

5. Letter of Exemption 

a. Application. A vessel owner may  apply 

for a letter of exemption from the operating 

requirements specified in Paragraph 3 of this 

Subsection for his/her vessel by sending a written 

request to the LDWF and providing the following: 

Sufficient information to determine that  the  vessel 

will be out of the water for more than 72 continuous 

hours; the location of the vessel during the time an 

exemption is sought; and the exact time period for 

which an exemption is needed (i.e., the time the VMS 

will be turned off and turned on again). 



 

 
b. Issuance. Upon receipt of an application, 

the LDWF may issue a letter of exemption to  the  

vessel if it is  determined  that  the  vessel  owner 

provided sufficient information as required under 

Subparagraph 5.a of this Subsection  and  that  the 

issuance of the letter of exemption will not jeopardize 

accurate monitoring of the vessel's position . Upon 

written request the LDWF may change the time period 

for which the exemption was granted. 

6. Presumption. If a VMS unit fails to 

transmit the required signal of a vessel's position, the 

vessel shall be deemed to have incurred a VMS 

violation, for as long as the unit fails to transmit a 

signal, unless a preponderance of evidence shows 

that the failure to transmit was due to an un 

avoidable malfunction, or disruption of the 

transmission that occurred while the vessel was 

declared out of the fishery, as  applicable, or was not 

at sea. 

7. Replacement. Should a VMS unit require 

replacement, a vessel owner must submit 

documentation to the LDWF Law Enforcement 

Division Headquarters VMS coordinator, within 3 

days of installation and prior to the vessel's next trip, 

verifying that the new VMS unit is an operational, 

approved system as described in this Section. 

8. Access. All vessel owners shall allow the 

LDWF, and their authorized wildlife enforcement 

agents or designees access to the vessel's VMS unit 

and data, if applicable, and location data obtained 

from its VMS unit, if required, at the time of or after 

its transmission to the vendor or receiver, as the case 

may be. 

9. Tampering. Tampering with a VMS, a VMS unit, 

or a VMS signal, is prohibited. Tampering includes any 

activity that is likely to affect the unit's ability to operate 

properly, signal, or accuracy compute the vessel's position 

fix. 

I0. Violation. Failure to abide by any regulation set 

fo11h regarding the use or operation of VMS, or failure to 

have VMS when required shall be a violation of the 

Louisiana Revised Statutes which mandates VMS and 

requirements of probation where applicable. All fish taken 

or possessed by a person in violation of these rules, and who 

is identified on his commercial license or permit as required 

to be VMS monitored, shall be deemed illegally taken and 

possessed. The provisions of this Section do not exempt any 

person from any other laws, rules, regulation, and license 

requirements for this or other jurisdictions. Violations of 

this Section shall constitute a violation of the Section of law 

requiring the use of VMS. 

11. All costs and monthly fees associated with the 

installation, operation and monitoring of any VMS system 

in accordance with these rules shall  be the responsibility of 

the person required to be monitored and shall be paid by him 

directly to the approved VMS supplier and monitoring 

facilitator. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

56:424, R.S. 56:424.1 , R.S. 56:495.1, R.S. 56:497.1 , 

and R.S. 56:433.1. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Wildlife and Fisheries, Wil dli fe and Fisheries Commission, LR 

34:888  (May  2008),  amended  LR 38:1997 (August 201 2). 



 

DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

CATCH RECORD 

SPECIAL BAIT DEALER PERMIT PROGRAM 

YEAR2013 

 

 
PERMITTEE NAME: _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _  _ PERMIT NUMBER: 

-----
 

 
NUMBER OF LIVE SHRIMP HARVESTED SHOULD BE REPORTED AS INDIVIDUAL SHRIMP (BY THE HEAD) NOT IN POUNDS, QUARTS OR GALLONS 

 

 

 
DATE 

DEPART 

TIME 

 

 
SHRIMPING LOCATION 

CONFIRMATION 

NU M BER 

RET URN 

TI ME 

NU MBER OF 

SHR IMP 

HARVESTED 

NUM BER OF 

POUNDS DEAD 

SHRIMP SOLD 

NUM BER OF 

CROAKER 

HARVESTED 

 

OTHER 

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

         

 
TO REPORT DEPARTURE & RETURNING TIME AND GENERAL LOCATION OF SHRIMPING, CALL 1-800-442-2511. NOT E: You do not need to 

submit this report to the Department at the end of the year. Please retain the report for your records. 

 


