Black Bear News

Thursday, February 5, 2015 - 4:59pm
Feb. 5, 2015 -- The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) today presented its Louisiana Black Bear Management Plan. The plan, which includes a population monitoring component, was delivered to the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission at their monthly meeting in Baton Rouge...
Wednesday, November 19, 2014 - 2:42pm
Nov. 19, 2014 -- The bear species nicknamed “teddy” more than a century ago that inspired the iconic stuffed toy still popular today will likely survive at least another century, according to a new U.S. Geological Survey study.   The threatened Louisiana black bear, one of 18...
Tuesday, July 22, 2014 - 8:25am
 Bears on the Bayou By Hicks Wogan
Friday, January 17, 2014 - 3:46pm
This Curtis Darrah article appears courtesy of SLEMCO Power. "Our Bears are Back"  
Monday, December 30, 2013 - 3:08pm
Dec. 30, 2013 -- Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) biologists have been called upon in recent weeks to release several bears caught in coyote or hog snares.  Luckily, in all of these recent situations, the bears survived the experience.   Hog snares and some coyote...
Monday, December 23, 2013 - 4:48pm
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement Division agents are seeking leads for an illegally killed black bear that was found in Concordia Parish. A citizen alerted authorities on Dec. 20 about a dead black bear lying in the woods in the Yancey Wildlife Management Area....
Thursday, December 5, 2013 - 4:11pm
Dec. 5, 2013 -- Two decades ago, the Louisiana Black Bear was on the brink of extinction, but today it is on the rebound. The latest episode of Louisiana Public Broadcasting’s six-part wildlife series Alive! In America’s Delta, Black Bear Comeback, documents efforts to save this iconic...
Friday, July 26, 2013 - 8:23am
July 26, 2013 -- The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) and the University of Tennessee (UT) will hold public meetings in Morganza on Monday, Aug. 5 at 6:30 p.m. and in Franklin on Tuesday, Aug. 6 at 6:30 p.m. to present information about black bear population research. The...
Thursday, May 2, 2013 - 10:55am
May 2, 2013 – The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) is investigating the killing of a calf by a black bear in West Carroll Parish. The incident occurred on private property near Epps between sunset Wednesday, April 24 and sunrise Thursday, April 25.   LDWF Wildlife...
Friday, April 12, 2013 - 1:14pm
April 12, 2013 – The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) will present an educational workshop on Louisiana black bears on Tuesday, May 7 at 6:30 p.m. in Rapides Parish. The workshop will be held at the Deville Fire District 6 Training Center, also known as the Deville...