Content tagged with general will appear on the About LDWF Page.

Five Louisiana Subjects Cited for Duck Hunting Violations

Release Date: 12/20/2011


Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division Agents cited five Slidell residents on Dec. 17 for alleged migratory game bird violations in Orleans Parish.

Agents cited David Marshall, 55, Charles Efferson, 49, Michael Landry, 42, Robert Landry, 52, and a juvenile for hunting over bait.  Agents also cited Robert Landry for an unplugged gun, Michael Landry for hunting with lead shot and the juvenile for over limit of scaup.

Agents were given an anonymous tip through the new tip411 smart phone application of possible illegal hunting activity in the Lake Catherine area.  Agents conducted an investigation into the complaint and found several baited ponds.  Agents seized 36 ducks from the subjects.

The state penalties for hunting migratory game birds over bait, hunting with an unplugged gun, use of lead shot and possessing over the limit of scaup brings fines between $400 and $950, or up to 120 days in jail and forfeiture of anything seized for each offense.  The subjects could each owe the state $956 in civil restitution for the illegally taken game.

LDWF launched the tip411 program at the end of September as a part of their Operation Game Thief program, which may offer a cash reward for information leading to arrests or convictions.

To use the tip411 program, citizens can text LADWF and their tip to 847411 or download the "LADWF Tips" iPhone app from the Apple iTunes store free of charge.   CitizenObserver, the tip411 provider, uses technology that removes all identifying information before LDWF receives the text so that LDWF cannot identify the sender.

Citizens can also call Operation Game Thief's Hotline at 1-800-442-2511.  The hotline and the tip411 program are monitored 24 hours a day.

Investigating Agents were Sgts. Kris Bourgeois and Todd Laviolette, Senior Agents Doug Danna and Austin Arteaga, and Agents Mike Williams and Jared Taylor.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or

Agents Cite Two Louisiana Residents for Insurance Fraud

Release Date: 12/20/2011


Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents cited two Slidell residents on Dec. 15 for alleged insurance fraud charges.

Agents cited Robert F. Angle, 78, and Joyce G. Angle, 77, for theft by insurance fraud, filing false public documents and injuring public records.

LDWF agents and National Insurance Crime Bureau investigators started a joint investigation involving a boat that was claimed as lost by the Angle's following Hurricane Katrina in 2005.  The boat in question was recently found registered in Florida and was seized by detectives in Lee County Florida.

The Angle's each face up to 10 years in jail and up to $3,000 in fines for theft by insurance fraud.  Injuring and filing false public records each bring a fine up to $5,000 and up to five years in jail.

LDWF agents Sgt. Todd Laviolette and Senior Agent Doug Danna were involved in the case.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or

Louisiana Environmental Education Symposium - Proposals are now being accepted for Presenters and Exhibitors!

Proposals are now being accepted for Presenters and Exhibitors!

Join us for the 2012 Environmental Education Symposium in Lafayette, Louisiana on March 9-10, 2012!


Exhibitors: If your organization offers environmental resources for educators, this symposium would provide an excellent opportunity for you to display and distribute these materials to the individuals who can best utilize them – teachers and informal educators! Our Exhibit Hall will feature environmental education resources for educators, such as curriculum guides, lesson plans, CD ROMs, videos, field trip information and other opportunities that can enrich the classroom experience. Our educators would greatly appreciate your resources and the opportunity to speak to you, the experts!

Presenters: Do you have a new, dynamic lesson, activity, or program that you would like to share with fellow formal and informal environmental educators? Consider presenting at the 2012 EE Symposium! Emphasis this year will be placed on engaging teachers and students in outdoor learning experiences … so what can you add to the conversation?!
Classroom teachers are encouraged to submit proposals! Your counterparts are anxious to see what you are doing in the classroom so do them a favor and share your knowledge!

All Symposium registration, exhibitor, and presenter forms and related information can be found on our website at For more information: Venise Ortego, EE Coordinator, 337-948-0255,,


WEEKLY eNEWS: LEEC EE Symposium! Plus, Educational Opportunities, Seminars, Contests/Awards, Resources

A Compilation of Environmental Education News from Across Louisiana 

On March 9-10, 2012, the Louisiana Environmental Education Commission and the Louisiana Environmental Education Association will host the 15th Annual Louisiana Environmental Education Symposium – “Our Environment…Our Future” at the Lafayette Crowne Plaza in Lafayette, Louisiana. Early Bird Registration is $35 until February 10, 2012. (Registrations sent after February 10th increase to $50.) We are celebrating 15 years of professional development (lots of CLUs here) and want YOU to join in the fun!!
          Friday, March 9th: Optional Short Course sessions will be offered at locations in and around Lafayette. Get a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into coastal restoration efforts and talk one-on-one with the scientists involved! Or take a canoe trip down the Vermilion River to learn about watershed issues and the variety of habitats along the way. You’ll then return to Vermilionville for some great watershed lesson activities. Or get ideas on how to “Green Ribbon” your school through the schoolyard garden tour with the “Get Your ROOTS on” session. Lastly, you can choose to participate in a fun-filled day at Acadiana Nature Station. The staff there can’t wait for you to experience their take-home ideas on using the outdoors for THE BEST kind of classroom experience! Go to our website for more information & registration forms for these workshops/tours.
          Saturday, March 10th: Sit back and enjoy some quality networking while we serve up a continental breakfast to start your day. We’ll then offer breakout sessions and plenty of exhibit hall time. Prepare to be entertained with a WOW keynote address during our banquet style lunch! Then it’s back to the final sessions before we break and go home. We’ve designated 2012 as the Year of Outdoor Teaching so many sessions will focus on how to use the outdoors to enhance the classroom experience!
We do offer lodging assistance (1/2 the hotel fee for 1 night) to those with significant drive times while funding is available so apply now! Lodging assistance forms can be found on our website.

All Symposium registration, exhibitor, and presenter forms and related information can be found on our website at For more information: Venise Ortego, EE Coordinator, 337-948-0255,,


Spring 2012 Online Course: Environmental Education in Urban Communities
Apply: December 15, 2011 – January 22, 2012
Course Dates: February 6, 2012 – April 29, 2012

Cornell University’s Civic Ecology Lab announces an online course offered through EECapacity, the EPA-funded national environmental education program. This 12-week, non-credit professional development course will cover novel practices and conceptual frameworks of urban environmental education. Limited to 20 participants. For more information:

Exciting Summer Program for High School Juniors (June 24-August 4)
The Center for Excellence in Education (CEE) and Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) co-sponsors of the Research Science Institute (RSI) are looking for talented 11th Grade STEM Students! Interested students should apply to the (RSI) program to be held on the MIT campus June 24 to August 4, 2012. They will meet some of the world’s most talented students and have an opportunity to conduct research in amazing labs! Visit for RSI application materials and more information about the program or contact Maite Ballestero, Vice President, Programs, The Center for Excellence in Education can also be found on Facebook.


Oil Spill Professional Development Video conference (January 28)
Through a grant supported by the NOAA Office of Education professional development as a video conference will be offered to teachers at ten locations with an opportunity to earn a $100 stipend on January 28, 2012 in Florida, Mississippi, Alabama and Louisiana. Formal and informal educators who teach middle to high school grades or professionals who work with the K-12 community are invited to participate in a three hour training session on topics related to the Deepwater Horizon Oil Spill. The session will be on Saturday, January 28, 2012 9 a.m. to 12 noon (sign in at 8:30 a.m.) at three locations in Louisiana: LSU Baton Rouge; Aquarium of the Americas, New Orleans; Bossier Instructional Technology Center, Bossier City.
For more information contact Dianne Lindstedt at Louisiana Sea Grant, LSU at or (225) 578-1558. To register:
See attachments below for more information.

Call for Proposals: Dedicated Sessions, Presentations, and Posters (Deadline: February 1)
Restore America’s Estuaries 6th National Conference on Coastal and Estuarine Habitat Restoration
Restoring Ecosystems, Strengthening Communities
October 20-24, 2012, Tampa, Florida, USA
To Submit a Proposal:  
The Conference focuses attention on the challenges and opportunities facing the coastal habitat restoration community. Join the restoration practitioners, civic and community leaders, consultants, scientists, educators, planners, engineers, students, volunteers, philanthropists, program managers, field staff, contractors, regulators, and others at this must-attend event.
For additional information about the Conference, please contact:
Sponsorship: Harvey Potts (
Exhibitor and Scholarship Opportunities: Meg Beiter (
General Conference Information: Elsa Carlisle (
Conference Program/Call for Proposals: Suzanne Giles Simon (


Schools Eligible to win $5,000 Awards To Help Save America’s Wetland
Annual ‘Keep Your Eye on the Prize’ Contest (Deadline January 15)

The America’s WETLAND Foundation’s annual Keep Your Eye on the Prize will award $5,000 to the schools of 10 Louisiana students who are challenged to use their creative skills to illustrate what they feel is the significance of Louisiana’s coastal land loss. The Keep Your Eye on the Prize program is designed to encourage students across the state to consider the significance of Louisiana's coastal wetlands to their own lives by writing essays, creating artwork or taking photographs on the topic. The subject of the 2012 contest essay entries will be “How can Louisiana adapt to coastal land loss and what changes should be made?” The subject of the 2012 contest art/photo entries will be, “Why should the area known as “America’s WETLAND be saved?”
Students may submit entries online at under the “Get Involved” tab through January 15, 2012. Two winners will be awarded in each age category and two overall winners will be named. Winning students’ classes will be awarded a $5000 grant from the America’s WETLAND Conservation Corps to be used for a wetland planting project along with a school visit by The Estuarians, the nine action hero mascots of the Campaign to Save Coastal Louisiana.
The LSU AgCenter, the LSU Coastal Roots Program, Louisiana Science Teachers Association and Youth Wetlands Week support the Keep Your Eye on the Prize contest.
Complete contest guidelines available at

Go Bananas! Challenge (Deadline: January 27)
Take the Go Bananas Challenge! – a competition that challenges schools and scout groups across the country to answer the call, and create campaigns to collect and recycle cell phones to help save gorillas. Collect the most cell phones and win up to $5,000 for your school/scout group. Coltan, a mineral found in cell phones, is mined in gorilla habitat. By recycling old cell phones, you reduce the demand. Join the challenge online and start thinking about a creative campaign. Contest ends January 27, 2012, and the winning group will be announced February 1, 2012. For more information:

Like A Drop of Water Essay Contest
This writing contest encourages youth ages 8-17 to share their ideas on how they and their countries can reduce climate change and pollution. Like drops of water that make up the oceans, millions of people of all ages, can lead the way to creating the positive changes needed to have a sustainable planet. No deadline. Six awards of $50-$100 per month are granted through June 2015.
For more information:

Now Accepting Nominations for Coastal Stewardship Awards (Deadline: February 3)
The Coalition to Restore Coastal Louisiana will host the 17th annual Coastal Stewardship Awards Program on Friday, April 13, 2011 at the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center. Coastal Stewardship Awards recognize the contributions of individuals and groups who demonstrate outstanding commitment to preserving and restoring Louisiana’s coastal wetlands. CRCL is proud to honor these leaders in coastal restoration, who share our vision of a sustainable coast for future generations. Nominations are now being accepted for the Lifetime Achievement Award, Distinguished Achievement Award and the Coastal Stewardship Award.  Please consider nominating an individual or group who has made an exceptional contribution to protecting and restoring Louisiana’s wetlands. To nominate a person or organization for a Coastal Stewardship Award, visit For more information, contact CRCL at 1-888-LACOAST (1-888-522-6278). All nominations must be received by February 3, 2012.

Announcing the Sustainable Energy Award (Deadline: February 10)
NEEF and Samsung are partnering to celebrate those innovative schools from across the country that have used energy efficiency to enhance education, reduce environmental impacts and generate cost savings. The $10,000 Sustainable Energy Award will be presented to each of the top three high schools that can demonstrate how they have engaged students and teachers in school-wide energy savings through the creative and innovative use of technology. Their achievement will be showcased as models for other schools looking to take on this challenge. The national Sustainable Energy Award is made possible through the generous support of Samsung Electronics America. Applications are due February 10, 2012. For more information:

We Can Change the World Challenge (Deadline: March 15)
The Siemens "We Can Change the World Challenge" involves student teams along with teacher/mentors to solve environmental problems. This collaborative effort of the Siemens Foundation, Discovery Education, the National Science Teachers Association (NSTA), and the College Board, gives students the use of scientific investigation and Web-based curriculum tools powered by Discovery Education to create a replicable green solution. Teachers and mentors should register their teams and begin formulating their projects online. For more information:


CWPPRA Goes Live on Facebook and YouTube
The Coastal Wetlands Planning, Protection and Restoration Act (CWPPRA) Public Outreach Committee is pleased to announce the public opening of the new CWPPRA Facebook and YouTube Pages. Members of the public are encouraged to visit the LaCoast homepage and click on the “f” icon near the top of the page. This will bring users to the CWPPRA Facebook Page. Once there, please, “Like” us on Facebook. Please invite your friends to also “Like” us on Facebook.
Also, now available is our new YouTube site. Our YouTube site has all of our CWPPRA videos in one location in the realm of social media. The advantage to this is that YouTube is partnered with Google which will add a great search resource for the public to find our informative videos on our coastal restoration efforts.
To directly access these new sites from this page, click on the link: and

Energy Hog
Energy Hog is an online game developed by the Alliance to Save Energy that allows students to identify and get rid of hogs that pig out on energy, in the process discovering how to use energy wisely. Access the game at

Survival: An Endangered Animal Game
This newly developed free mobile app from ARKive engages students in a series of quick-fire mini-games to reveal the identity of some of the world's most endangered animals. Access the app at


Find out about wetland outreach activities including symposiums, conferences, meetings, educational opportunities, volunteer opportunities, and related support material at the Louisiana Unified Coastal Community Calendar at

Venise Ortego, Environmental Education Coordinator, 337-948-0255,
Juliet Raffray, Environmental Education Assistant Coordinator, 225-765-0124,
Louisiana Department of Wildlife & Fisheries –

Louisiana Inshore Waters to Close for Fall Shrimp Season

Release Date: 12/14/2011


Dec. 14, 2011 - Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Secretary Robert Barham announced today that the fall shrimp season will close in a majority of inshore waters on Tuesday, December 20 at sunset.  The open waters of Breton and Chandeleur sounds and other areas located within Shrimp Management Zone 1, will remain open until further notice.

This closure date coincides with the December 20 closure of a portion of state outside waters approved earlier this month by the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission.  These closures historically take place at this time of year when the temporary exemption from the white shrimp minimum possession size of 100 count per pound expires. 

Current sampling conducted by LDWF biologists indicates that average white shrimp size in these waters is smaller than 100 count per pound, and this action protects these small white shrimp and provides increased opportunity for growth to larger, more valuable sizes.

Effective with this closure, shrimping will only be allowed in:

  • The portion of Shrimp Management Zone 1 north of the southern shore of the Mississippi River Gulf Outlet (MRGO) including the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (ICWW) north of the Parish Road Bridge
  • The open waters of Breton and Chandeleur sounds as described the double-rig line in R.S.56:495.1.(A)2
  • State outside waters seaward of the inside/outside shrimp line east of the U.S. Coast Guard navigational light off the northwest shore of Caillou Boca at 29 degrees 03 minutes 10 seconds north latitude and 90 degrees 50 minutes 27 seconds west longitude
  • State outside waters seaward of the inside/outside shrimp line west of Freshwater Bayou Canal at 92 degrees 18 minutes 33 seconds west longitude

The Department of Wildlife and Fisheries is charged with managing and protecting Louisiana's abundant natural resources. For more information, visit us at, on Facebook at or follow us on Twitter @LDWF.

For more information, please contact Laura Wooderson at or (225) 610-2363.


Tip411 Complaint Leads to Deer Violations

Release Date: 12/09/2011


Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement Division agents cited a Winnfield Man for alleged deer violations in Winn Parish on Dec. 1.

Agents cited Jeremy S. Rowell, 26, for possession of illegally taken deer, taking over the legal limit of deer, hunting without a basic and big game license and without deer tags.

Agents received information through their tip411 program about Rowell harvesting three deer on Dec. 1 in Winn Parish.  The investigation determined that Rowell killed three doe deer.

LDWF launched the tip411 program at the end of September as a part of their Operation Game Thief program, which may offer a cash reward for information leading to arrests or convictions.

To use the tip411 program, citizens can text LADWF and their tip to 847411 or download the "LADWF Tips" iPhone app from the Apple iTunes store free of charge.   CitizenObserver, the tip411 provider, uses technology that removes all identifying information before LDWF receives the text so that LDWF cannot identify the sender.

Citizens can also call Operation Game Thief's Hotline at 1-800-442-2511.  The hotline and the tip411 program are monitored 24 hours a day.

Possession of an illegally taken deer brings a fine between $400 and $950 and up to 120 days in jail.  Taking over the limit of deer carries a fine of $250 to $500 and up to 90 days in jail.  Hunting without a basic license, big game license and deer tags are each punishable with a $50 fine and up to 15 days in jail.

Rowell may also be responsible for civil restitution to LDWF in the amount of $1,624 per illegally taken deer.

Agents participating in the case were Sgt. Rusty Perry and Senior Agent Heath Wood.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or

Terrebonne Parish Man Cited for Filing False Boat Registration

Release Date: 12/08/2011


Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement Division agents cited a Houma man for alleged boat registration violations in East Baton Rouge Parish on Dec. 6, 2011.

LDWF Strike Force and Undercover agents cited Chad Sagona, 36, for possessing a motorboat with an altered hull identification number and an outboard motor with altered serial number.  Agents also cited Sagona for injuring and filing false public records for his attempt to illegally register a boat.

Undercover agents answered an Internet classified ad in reference to a subject wanting to purchase a Louisiana boat registration for a vessel that could not receive a legal registration.  Undercover agents made contact with Sagona and sold him a false registration.

Sagona allegedly registered the vessel in his name with the false registration.  Agents seized the vessel along with a Yamaha outboard motor and boat trailer.

Filing false and injuring public records brings up to five years in jail and up to $5,000 in fines for each offense.  If found guilty of altering a hull identification number and outboard serial number, Sagona faces a $50 fine for each charge and forfeiture of his boat and motor.

Agents involved in the case were Lt. Joseph Arnaud, Agent Jake Darden and LDWF undercover agents.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at

Franklin Man Pleads Guilty to Alligator Violations

Release Date: 12/08/2011


A Franklin man pleaded guilty on Dec. 7 in the Lafayette Division of the Western District Federal Court of Louisiana to alligator charges.

Federal Magistrate Michael Hill sentenced Daniel A. Edgar, 62, to pay a $2,000 fine for pleading guilty to taking alligators from an unapproved area.

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement Division agents cited Edgar on Sept. 7, 2006 in Iberia and St. Martin parishes for running alligator lines set in areas in the Atchafalaya Basin.  Edgar did not have alligator tags for where his alligator lines were set.

Assistant U.S. Attorney Luke Walker prosecuted the case.  LDWF agents participating in the case were Sgt. James Rhodes, Sgt. Ronald Hebert, Senior Agent Donnie Bozeman and Senior Agent Jerry Stassi.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or

WEEKLY eNEWS: Grants! Plus Volunteer Opportunities, Webinars, Seminars, Resources, Events

A Compilation of Environmental Education News from Across Louisiana


Donors Choose
This grant program allows educators to create project requests. These requests are funded by individuals based on interest and merit. Grant recipients are required to create a presentation on how the funds were spent. To request funds for a project you must work at least 75 percent of the time with students. A "thank you" package template is provided on the website to thank each contributing donor. Application Website: was created as part of the E-Grants Initiative in 2002. The website provides access to over 1,000 federal grant programs with around $500 billion in annual awards. Independent school districts are eligible to apply for these grants as well as public and private colleges and universities. Signing up on the site will enable you to receive notification of future eligible grants. Application Website:

Home Depot 2012 Youth Garden Grants (Deadline: December 11)
Apply now for the 2012 Youth Garden Grant, sponsored by The Home Depot Garden Club. 100 programs will be selected. Thanks to the generosity of The Home Depot Garden Club, 5 winners will receive gift cards valued at $1,000, and 95 winners will receive $500 gift cards, for the purchase of gardening materials and supplies specific to the needs of their program from their local Home Depot store. Application Website:

Great American Can Roundup School Challenge (Deadline: December 15)
The Can Manufacturer's Institute is awarding $1,000 to schools in each state and the District of Columbia recycling the most aluminum cans per student and an additional $5,000 to the top per capita recycling school nationwide. Application Website:

Presidential Innovation Award for Environmental Educators (Deadline: December 30)
The Presidential Innovation Award for Environmental Educators Program, a partnership between the CEQ and the EPA, recognizes outstanding K-12 teachers who employ innovative approaches to environmental education and use the environment as a context for learning for their students. Two teachers from each EPA region will be selected to receive the award. The deadline for application is December 30, 2011. Application Website:

National Youth Fishing and Boating Grants (Deadline: December 30)
The Recreational Boating & Fishing Foundation is a non-profit organization dedicated to growing participation in fishing, boating, and aquatic stewardship. The National Youth Fishing & Boating Initiative is offering boating and fishing education grants for programs which introduce boating and fishing to minorities and underserved communities. Youth focused boating, fishing, and conservation organizations are encouraged to apply. The deadline for application is December 30, 2011. Application Website:

School Garden Grants (Deadline: December 31)
School Garden Grants School gardens are a vital educational tool. Every seed planted sprouts a new opportunity for kids to cultivate healthy eating habits. Teaching kids to garden helps them learn about complex topics like sustainability and conservation, food systems and community awareness. Learning about the process of growing food helps children develop a deep understanding of the connection between healthy eating and a healthy body. School gardens offer an opportunity to integrate math, science and health curriculum into a dynamic, interactive setting. School garden grant applications will be accepted through 5pm CST, December 31, 2011. Learn more about the application process at:

Are You an Eco-Hero? (Deadline: January 15, 2012)
Action for Nature is proud to honor the work of young people between the ages of 8 and 16 who have done creative environmental projects. The winners of AFN’s International Young Eco-Hero Awards program receive a cash prize and a special certificate, as well as public recognition on our Web site and elsewhere. This is a great chance for you to share your environmental activism and creative work. We look forward to again supporting young people from all around the world working to save our planet. Please visit:

YSA Grants (Youth Service America) – Open Grant Programs
Sodexo Youth Grants - $500
: YSA will award 100 Sodexo Youth Grants of $500 each to support youth-led service projects in the United States that address the issue of childhood hunger on Global Youth Service Day (April 20-22, 2012). We’re looking for projects that engage your peers, friends, families, neighbors, Sodexo employees, and other community members in creative, youth-inspired solutions to ending childhood hunger in your community. Deadline: January 17, 2012
J-Serve 2012 Micro-Grants: Through the generosity of the Charles and Lynn Schusterman Family Foundation and in an effort to empower communities around the world to participate and grow their J-Serve effort, grants are available for J-Serve 2012 - April 22, 2012. 
Sign up to receive grant updates and announcements

Middle School Students Sustainable Future Challenge (Deadline: February 14, 2012)
The I-SWEEEP 3E Sustainable Future Challenge is a national contest for middle school students that aim to create a platform for young researchers in which they present their innovative projects to take on today’s challenges in energy, engineering, and environment. Application Website:

Toolbox For Education (Deadline: February 17, 2012)
This grant program is funded by the Lowe's corporation and assists more than 1,000 public schools per year. The grant focuses on project requests that permanently improve facilities or involve landscaping and cleanup. The grants range from $2,000 to $5,000 and only ten percent of the funds may be used for labor, installation, consultation and delivery. Application Website:

NFWF Invites Applications for Five Star Restoration Grant Program (Deadline: February 15, 2012)
The National Fish and Wildlife Foundation (NFWF), the National Association of Counties, and the Wildlife Habitat Council, in cooperation with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Southern Company, and FedEx, are accepting applications for the Five Star Restoration Grant Program. Five Star provides funding to support community-based wetland, riparian, and coastal habitat restoration projects that build partnerships and foster local natural resource stewardship through education, outreach and training activities. The average grant award is expected to be between $20,000 and $25,000. A minimum 1:1 match of cash or in-kind/contributed goods and services to funds requested is expected. The deadline to apply is February 15, 2012. Visit the NFWF website for the complete Request for Proposals, application procedures, and information about upcoming webinars for applicants.

Mantis Awards for Community and Youth Gardens (Deadline: March 1, 2012)
The grant is sponsored by the Mantis Corporation for charitable and non-profit education programs. The grant provides 25 organizations with a Mantis Tiller/Cultivator with choice of gas-powered or electric motor. The tiller may not be used as a prize for fund-raising and winners must fill out an impact and eligibility form. Application Website:


Elmer's Island Habitat Restoration - December 10th-15th - 10 am to 3 pm 
Elmer's Island is a 230-acre tract of barrier beachfront located on the southwestern tip of Jefferson Parish, managed by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries as a refuge for migrating and nesting birds, wildlife, and planned habitat restoration.
Habitat Restoration: Sand fences to facilitate dune building and the planting of native vegetation to enhance shoreline protection provide habitat for migratory and native birds, and for our native fish and wildlife.
What to Bring and Expect: Dress for the weather and be prepared to be in direct sun and to get wet and muddy. Elmer’s Island is remote. There are no bathrooms. Pack a lunch or order food to pick up from a local restaurant. Bring sunscreen, a water bottle and a smile. If you prefer to wear gloves please bring a pair.
An introduction to coastal land loss and the role of grasses in restoration as well as all necessary equipment and training are provided. To register e-mail


Digital Coast Webinar: Marshes on the Move (December 7)
The NOAA Coastal Services Center (CSC) will host “Marshes on the Move: Understanding and Using Model Results that Show Future Sea Level Rise Impacts on Coastal Wetlands” as part of the Digital Coast webinar series from 2:00-3:00pm EST on December 7th. This webinar will help participants understand key considerations and questions to ask when presented with models and maps estimating the future condition and location of coastal wetlands in response to rising sea level. Participants will gain a basic understanding of some key parameters and uncertainties associated with these models; interact with technical specialists regarding real world implications of model results; and learn how modeling results can be incorporated into management initiatives. To register, visit:

Gulf of Mexico Restoration Support Tool Webinar (December 19)
Please join the Nature Conservancy on Monday, December 19, 2011 at 2:00 pm CST for a webinar on the utilization of GIS based support tool designed to inform conservation and restoration planning across the Gulf of Mexico. Topic: Mississippi Oyster Restoration. Restoration practitioners, federal and state resource managers, conservation and resource planners, non-government conservation organization and anyone with an interest in GIS based support tools are encourage to attend. For more information, contact: Tom Mohrman,

Digital Coast Webinar: Ocean Energy Planning w/ Marine Cadastre (January 4, 2012)
The NOAA Coastal Services Center (CSC) will host “Supporting Ocean Energy Planning with the Multipurpose Marine Cadastre (MMC)” as part of the Digital Coast webinar series from 2:00-3:00pm EST on January 4th. In this webinar, participants will learn about the basics of marine cadastral data, see demonstrations of the MMC, and hear examples of how the MMC can be used to support ocean energy planning. To register, visit:

One NOAA Science Seminars
Upcoming OneNOAA Science Seminars; a joint voluntary effort by many NOAA offices to help share science across NOAA and our constituents. For questions, to join as a OneNOAA seminar partner, or to present a seminar, please contact or a OneNOAA seminar partner. Seminars take place at different NOAA locations across the US. All seminars are open to anyone unless otherwise indicated. Click on the seminar titles (links below) to access details (location, time, remote access, etc) or visit for updated seminar information. 
December 2011 OneNOAA Science Seminars
Dec 07: Marshes on the Move: Understanding and Using Model Results that Show Future Sea Level Rise Impacts on Coastal Wetlands
Dec 08: NMFS's Role in Bycatch Reduction
Dec 14: A Sustainable Idea: Virginia Sea Grant's Seafood Education for the Culinary Community
Dec 14: The GOES-R Advanced Baseline Imager (ABI)
Dec 15: An Ecologist's Perspective on the Progress of Ecosystem-Based Management by the Fishery Management Councils
OneNOAA Science Seminars: January 2012
Jan 04: Supporting Ocean Energy Planning with the Multipurpose Marine Cadastre
Jan 17: Ocean Acidification Research at NOAA: What, Where and Why
Jan 18: Ensemble-Based Variational Assimilation Method to Incorporate Microwave Imager Data into a Cloud-Resolving Model

OneNOAA Science Seminar: Ocean Acidification Research (January 17, 2012)
At 1:00pm EST on January 17th, the NOAA National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) and Ocean Acidification Program will host “Ocean Acidification Research at NOAA: What, Where and Why” at NOAA headquarters in Silver Spring, MD. Dr. Elizabeth (Libby) Jewett, Director of NOAA's Ocean Acidification Program, will lead the seminar. Web and audio access will also be available for interested participants unable to attend in person. For more information about the seminar and how to participate, visit the One NOAA Science Seminar series website.


New Children's Health EPA web-based resource directory for healthy child care
Healthy child care web-based resource directory:
This website was developed with three target audiences in mind: childcare providers, parents, and state and local agencies; the information it contains is arranged to be easily accessible for these three distinct audiences. On the web site are links to a wealth of information (fact sheets, PPTs, trainings, assessment tools, reports, prevention and intervention guidance, etc.) on asthma, chemical hazards, environmental tobacco smoke, green cleaning, indoor air quality, lead, mercury, mold, pesticides and plastics.

Gr 1-4 Teachers Love Loop Scoops! Environmental resource
Check out what elementary school teachers are saying about their classroom experiences with Loop Scoops, a collection of videos and lesson plans that help students think more deeply about the stuff that they use. "The children really connected to the Garbage video because they were able to think about stuff in their own room that may have been thrown away but now they have some options to consider." What's the most popular Loop Scoops video on Teachers' Domain? A short video called Happiness. It's guaranteed to make you smile.

Gulf Coast Task Force Releases Final Ecosystem Restoration Strategy
The Gulf Coast Ecosystem Restoration Task Force released its final strategy for long term ecosystem restoration for the Gulf Coast, following extensive feedback from citizens throughout the region. EPA Administrator and Task Force Chair Lisa P. Jackson, joined by National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Administrator Jane Lubchenco, Council on Environmental Quality Chair Nancy Sutley, and USDA Under Secretary for Natural Resources and Environment Harris Sherman, made the announcement during keynote remarks at the 2011 State of the Gulf of Mexico Summit in Houston. The Task Force delivered the final strategy on Friday, Dec. 2 to President Barack Obama, who established the Task Force by executive order to continue the Administration’s ongoing commitment to the Gulf region.
More Info:


Call for Presentations – Louisiana Folklore Society 2012 Annual Meeting (Deadline: February 10, 2012)
Roots Rerouted: Tradition and Innovation in Louisiana Cultures
Friday, March 16 – Saturday, March 17
McNeese State University, Lake Charles, LA
The Louisiana Folklore Society invites proposals for papers and other types of presentations for its 2012 annual meeting. We welcome presentations on the conference theme and on any other folklore topics and Louisiana folk traditions. The Society is interested in hearing diverse voices; therefore, we encourage presentations on any subject by scholars, tradition bearers, folk artists, musicians, students, community leaders, community scholars, and others interested in local Louisiana cultures throughout the state and elsewhere. Typically, presentations last 20 minutes.
Abstract Submission: Please submit 250-word abstract (proposal/presentation description) by February 10, 2012 via email to or mail to Keagan LeJeune, English Dept., P. O. Box 92655, McNeese State University, Lake Charles, LA 70609. Please note equipment needs.
For more information on the Louisiana Folklore Society, or to pre-register, see or call Keagan LeJeune at 337-475-5312 or email All events related to the conference are open to the public.


Find out about wetland outreach activities including symposiums, conferences, meetings, educational opportunities, volunteer opportunities, and related support material at the Louisiana Unified Coastal Community Calendar at

Venise Ortego, Environmental Education Coordinator, 337-948-0255,
Juliet Raffray, Environmental Education Assistant Coordinator, 225-765-0124,
Louisiana Department of Wildlife & Fisheries –

Parking on Interstate and Highway Shoulders Prohibited

Release Date: 12/06/2011


The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) is reminding hunters that parking on shoulders and grassy areas along interstates and highways are illegal and strictly prohibited.

The Louisiana State Police are aware of an increasing number of vehicles that are being parked on roadway shoulders and grassy areas, particularly on Interstate 10 between Baton Rouge and New Orleans, during hunting season. 

The shoulders of the road are designed for emergency stopping only.  The parked vehicles pose a threat to motorists when they re-enter or exit the road and can be a hazard to motorists stopping for emergencies. 

Louisiana State Police is committed to ensuring safety on highways and interstates.  Owners of vehicles parked in prohibited areas may face traffic citation fines and have their vehicles towed at their expense.

If any hazardous situation is observed, the public is urged to call Louisiana State Police at *LSP (*577) from a cell phone.

For more information, contact LDWF Spokesman Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or; or the Louisiana State Police Public Affairs Unit at 225-754-8524.

Syndicate content