Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited a man for alleged charter guide license violations in Lafourche Parish on May 25.
Agents cited Austin J. Ourso, 21, of Prairieville, for failing to comply with charter boat regulations and failing to have a personal flotation device on an occupant 16 years of age and younger while underway in the vessel.
Agents on patrol in Bayou Lafourche observed a vessel underway with a juvenile subject onboard not wearing a personal floatation device. After stopping the vessel, agents found that Ourso was operating the vessel and acting as a charter guide.
Agents then learned that Ourso did not purchase the required state charter fishing guide license and proof of liability insurance.
Charter boat fishing guides in Louisiana are required to have a state charter fishing guide license, a valid captain’s license issued by the U.S. Coast Guard, proof of liability insurance and a valid state recreational fishing license. Any person acting as a saltwater fishing guide must have their required licenses and proof of liability in their possession while on the water.
Failing to comply with charter boat regulations fines are up to $950 or imprisonment for up to 120 days. Failing to have a PFD on an occupant 16 year of age and younger while underway brings a $50 fine and up to 15 days in jail.
Agents participating in the case are Senior Agents Dale Wheat, Adam Tieben and Tyler Wheeler.