Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited a Newellton man for alleged deer hunting violations on Jan. 16.
Agents cited Michael F. Powell, 54, for taking over the season limit of antlered deer, taking over the daily limit of antlered deer, taking over the total limit of deer in a season and failing to abide by deer tagging regulations.
Agents investigating a tip from the public learned that Powell had harvested 11 total deer with nine of them being antlered deer from October to Jan. 16 this hunting season in Caldwell and Tensas parishes.
Agents made contact with Powell at his residence in Tensas Parish on Jan. 16 and found Powell in possession of a freshly killed antlered deer without a tag. After a short investigation, agents found Powell in possession of eight more sets of deer antlers that he admitted to harvesting this season.
That brought his total of antlered deer harvested this season to nine. Powell also admitted to killing two antlerless deer without tagging them earlier in the season.
Agents also found the antlers to an 11 point buck and eight point buck in the collection of antlers that Powell admitted to killing on the same day.
Agents seized the deer antlers and the rifle Powell said he used to harvest all the deer.
Deer hunters are allowed a total of six deer during the season, but hunters can’t exceed three antlered or four antlerless deer. During either sex days hunters are allowed to take one antlered and one antlerless deer per day.
Taking over the season limit of antlered deer, daily limit of antlered deer and total limit of deer in a season each brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail for each offense. Failing to comply with deer tagging regulations carries a $100 to $500 fine and up to 90s days in jail.
Powell may also face civil restitution totaling up to $18,860 for the illegally taken deer.
Agents involved in the case are Sgt. Lee Tarver, Sgt. Joe Chandler, Sgt. Bear Fletcher, Sgt. Justin Goudey, and Senior Agent Joey Tarver.
This four-day workshop features exciting, hands-on activities designed to give you all the information you need to lead your students into the field and start collecting environmental data. Learn to use debris cleanup and water quality monitoring as a stewardship activity and data collection and analysis exercise. Use our WET App to share and analyze data from throughout the Gulf States region.
· A binder filled with GLE/NGSS correlated lessons and related materials
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents arrested a Metairie man for allegedly driving under the influence (DUI) and drug possession in Orleans Parish on Jan. 11.
Agents received a complaint at approximately 12 p.m. about a person whom later was identified as George Girard, 31, appearing to be under the influence attempting to launch a boat at a public boat launch on Bayou Sauvage in Orleans Parish. Agents arrived shortly after Girard managed to launch and waited for a brief period before he returned to the launch.
Upon Girard’s return to the launch, agents made contact and immediately observed Girard showing signs of impairment. After Girard consented to a search of his vessel and himself, agents found marijuana and a plastic baggy with a white powdery substance.
After failing the Standardized Field Sobriety Test, agents arrested Girard for DUI and possession of illegal drugs and booked him into the Orleans Parish Prison. The suspected illegal drugs were sent to the Louisiana State Police Crime lab for testing.
A DUI brings a $300 to $1,000 fine and 10 days to six months of jail. Possession of illegal drugs carries up to a $500 fine and six months in jail.
Agents involved in the case are Sgt. Austin Arteaga, Sgt. Tim Fox, Senior Agent Bret Nabors and Agent Chelsea Kling.
For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or email@example.com.
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited an Arkansas man for allegedly obtaining a hunting license by fraud on Jan. 7 in Claiborne Parish.
Agents cited James Perkins, 42, of Emerson, Ark., for obtaining a Louisiana resident hunting license by fraud, hunting without a non-resident hunting license and possessing an unplugged shotgun that held five shells.
Agents observed Perkins returning from hunting on the Kisatchie National Forest in Claiborne Parish on Jan. 7. Upon conducting a license compliance check agents discovered that Perkins was a resident of Arkansas and possessed a Louisiana resident hunting license.
After further investigation, agents also discovered that his 12 gauge shotgun was holding five shells. It is illegal to possess a shotgun that is capable of holding more than three shells during hunting season. Plugs are to be used if a shotgun can hold more than three shells.
Obtain license by fraud penalties will be set at a later date by the presiding judge. Hunting with an unplugged gun carries a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail. Hunting without a non-resident hunting license carries a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.