Hunting

Louisiana Duck

Grouping: 
Hunting Fees
Fees
Resident: 
$5.50
Non-Resident: 
$25.00

Primitive Firearm

Grouping: 
Hunting Fees
Fees
Resident: 
$10.50
Non-Resident: 
$26.00

Lifetime License Application

Commercial or Recreational: 
Recreational

Disabled Veteran Application

Hunting or Fishing: 
Hunting
Commercial or Recreational: 
Recreational

Trapper Education

LDWF has partnered with the Louisiana Trappers and Alligator Hunters Association (LTAHA) and the Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies to provide a free, voluntary online trapper education course.

Course topics include:

  • Introduction to Trapper Education
  • Historical Considerations
  • Furbearer Management
  • Best Management Practices
  • Running a Trapline
  • Trapping Regulations
  • Types of Traps
  • Trapping Equipment
  • Trapping Safety
  • Responsible Trapping
  • The Market Value of Furbearers

Trapper education is not mandatory in Louisiana, but the information provided in this free course can help current trappers improve their knowledge and provide new trappers with a basic background of the industry. The purpose of this course is to increase active trapper numbers, provide basic trapping knowledge, and teach ethical and law-abiding behavior, as well as to instill public confidence and maintain public support for trapping as a wildlife management tool.

LDWF and the LTAHA also offer hands-on trapping workshops. Workshops are held each winter, generally as full day Saturday events, in both the southern and northern areas of the state. Workshop topics include trap setting for land and water areas, skinning demonstrations, and pelt handling techniques. Workshops are available to teens and adults who have completed the online course.

For more information contact Jennifer Manuel at jhogue@wlf.la.gov or 337-373-0032.

Trapping Workshops

Single Day Workshops:
December 2nd at Cypress Black Bayou
December 9th at Palmetto Island State Park

Weekend Trapping School:
January 26th-28th at Woodworth Shooting Range

For more information or to register for one of these free workshops, contact LDWF's New Iberia office at 337-373-0032 or email Jennifer Manuel at jhogue@wlf.la.gov.

Hunter and Bowhunter Instructor Courses

Volunteer Hunter Education Instructor Academy (2-day course)

Dates:  January 26 &27, 2018

Location:    LSU Ag Center
                     157 Cherokee Drive
                     Crowley, LA 70526

Schedule:  January 26, 2018 (Friday)        5:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.
                     January 27, 2018 (Saturday)     8:30 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
 
Contact Theresa Cross at (337)491-2575 x3009 or tcross@wlf.la.gov for more information or to register for the course.

 

Requirements for other states

HUNTING OUTSIDE OF LOUISIANA?

See link below.

Tagging

POSSESSION TAGS

Any part of the deer or wild turkey divided shall have affixed thereto the name, date, address and big game license number of the person killing the deer or wild turkey and the sex of that animal. This information shall be legibly written in pen or pencil on any piece of paper or cardboard or any material which is attached or secured to or enclosing the part or parts. On lands enrolled in DMAP, deer management assistance tags must be attached and locked through the hock of the antlerless deer, (including those taken with bow, muzzleloader and those antlerless deer taken on either-sex days) in a manner that it cannot be removed, before the deer is moved from the site of the kill.

Documents: 
Syndicate content