Home Study Format

Students pursing Hunter Education Certification via the home study format must first complete the approved online course. The online course is an interactive course that consists of reading material with a narration option, graphics, animations and videos. Each section concludes with a quiz that must be passed before moving onto the next section. After completing all sections there is a final test. Upon passing the final test, the student can print a “voucher” or certificate that acknowledges successful completion of the online course portion of the home study format. 

Upon successful completion of the online course and printing of the voucher, students must attend a 5-hour field day course. Field day courses are usually taught on weekends or weekday evenings. Field day courses cover a review of the online material, hands-on exercises, live-fire exercise and a final written test.  Students in the home study format must complete both the online course and field-day course to receive Hunter Education Certification.

There is no charge for the field day course. However effective July 1, 2019, the fee will increase from $17.95 to $19.95 per student charge to take the online course portion of the home study format. Students will pay at the time of registration for the online course. Students should access the online course through this website to ensure they are taking the approved online course.

Click here to view the field day schedule or register for a field day visit.

Hunter Education

Please click here to register for classes or to view class and field day schedules.

Replacement Hunter Education Card

If you have lost your hunter or bowhunter education certification card, you can print a new card.  To print a new hunter education card, click the link below,  log into your account, click 'View Your Certifications', then click 'Get Your Certificate'.

Replacement Hunter Education Card

Why hunter education?  

The Louisiana Hunter Education Course is much more than hunter safety. It is a course with something for everyone interested in firearms, hunting and conservation.

The goals of the program are to prevent hunting accidents and ensure the future of hunting by teaching hunters about their responsibilities and role in conservation. Much of the course covers firearm safety, but responsibility, ethics, wildlife conservation, and outdoor safety are also covered.

The Hunter Education Program was developed by LDWF and has helped make hunting a safe activity. In fact, hunting is one of the safest outdoor recreational activities in terms of injuries per 100,000 participants. Hunter education training is available to everyone, regardless of race, sex, age or national origin.

Who needs hunter education?

Every hunter is encouraged to take hunter education. However, Louisiana law requires all hunters born on or after September 1, 1969 receive Hunter Education Certification from an LDWF-approved course prior to hunting in Louisiana, unless they are under direct supervision of a qualified person.

For supervision purposes, a qualified person is a Louisiana licensed hunter born before September 1, 1969, or a person 18 years of age or older who has proof of Hunter Education Certification from an approved course. Direct supervision means the supervising person is in direct line of sight and within normal voice contact of the hunter they are supervising. 

The minimum age for Hunter Education Certification in Louisiana is 10 years old. However, it is required 10 and 11 year-olds be supervised while hunting, even if they have received Hunter Education Certification. Youth younger than 10 years old may take the course, but they are not eligible to be certified and will have to retake the course to obtain certification when they reach 10 years of age or older.

Active or veteran members of the United States armed forces or any current POST-certified law enforcement officer may apply for a Louisiana hunter education exemption.  If granted, the applicant will be provided with a hunter education exemption card that is valid in Louisiana only. Applications for exemptions may be filed at the LDWF Education Program office in Baton Rouge (225-765-2932) or most field offices. Click here to download a Military/Police Exemption application form.

States have differing hunter education requirements, so hunters planning trips to other states should check the hunter education requirements of their destination state well in advance of their trip. For instance, hunters traveling to Colorado must have hunter education certification if they were born on or after January 1, 1949. The Louisiana Hunter Education Certification is honored in all states and Canadian provinces.

About the Course

The Louisiana Hunter Education Certification course is offered in 2 formats. The first format is a 10-hour classroom format that is usually held over 2-3 days. The second format, recommended only for students 14 years of age and older, is a home study format that consists of two parts: an online class that can be taken at the student’s own pace, followed by a 5-hour field-day class. Both formats cover firearm and hunting safety, wildlife management principles, ethics, game identification and outdoor survival. Students must successfully complete a live-fire exercise with both formats. Firearms and ammunition are provided for the live-fire exercise so students should not bring their own.

Upon successful completion of either format, students will receive their permanent, certification via email (at the address they provided during registration).  Students can also print their cards by accessing their LDWF account and clicking “View Your Certifications.”

Who can participate?

The minimum age for Hunter Education Certification in Louisiana is 10 years old. However, it is required 10 and 11 year-olds be supervised while hunting, even if they have received Hunter Education Certification. Youth younger than 10 years old may take the course, but they are not eligible to be certified and will have to retake the course to obtain certification when they reach 10 years of age or older.

How much does the course cost?

There is no charge for the classroom format or to attend the field day portion of the home study format. The online portion of the home study format costs $17.95 and is payable upon completion of the course.

Who teaches hunter education courses?

Courses are taught by LDWF Education Program staff and volunteer instructors. The majority of courses are taught by volunteers who donate their time to teach hunter education. Volunteers undergo background checks and receive training and oversight from LDWF staff.

Do I need bowhunter education?

Bowhunter education courses are offered through LDWF. Although not mandatory in Louisiana, this course does provide a bowhunter with training that will make a safer and more competent bowhunter. Some states do require bowhunter education before bowhunting in that state. Check the regulations of other states before you hunt.

How do I register for a course?

Click here to register for a classroom course or field day course. You can also call a Hunter Education Field Office. Most classes require advance registration.

Click here to access the approved online course.

Did you know?

Next time you renew your driver’s license at the Office of Motor Vehicles, you can add the following endorsements to your license; Lifetime Hunting, Lifetime Fishing, Lifetime Combination, Boater Education and Hunter Education.

Taking Resident Game

Methods of taking Quadrupeds and Resident Game Birds

Taking quadrupeds and resident game birds from aircraft or participating in the taking of deer with the aid of aircraft or from automobiles or other moving land vehicles is prohibited.

No person shall take or kill any game bird or wild quadruped with a firearm fitted with any device to deaden or silence the sound of the discharge thereof; or fitted with an infrared sight, electrically operated sight or device specifically designed to enhance vision at night {R.S. 56:116.1B(3)}.

It is illegal to intentionally feed, deposit, place, distribute, expose, scatter, or cause to be fed, deposited, placed, distributed, exposed, or scattered, raw sweet potatoes to wild game quadrupeds.

Use of a longbow (including compound bow and crossbow) and arrow or a shotgun not larger than a 10 gauge fired from the shoulder without a rest shall be legal for taking all resident game birds and quadrupeds. Also, the use of a handgun, rifle and falconry (special permit required) shall be legal for taking all game species except turkey. It shall be illegal to hunt or take squirrel or rabbits at any time with a breech-loaded rifle or handgun larger than a .22 caliber rimfire or a primitive firearm larger than a .36 caliber.

During closed deer gun season, it shall be illegal to possess shotgun shells loaded with slugs or shot larger than BB lead or F steel shot while small game hunting.

Still hunting is defined as stalking or stationary stand hunting without the use of dog(s). Pursuing, driving or hunting deer with dogs is prohibited when or where a still hunting season or area is designated and will be strictly enforced.

Shotguns larger than a 10 gauge or capable of holding more than three shells shall be prohibited. Plugs used in shotguns must be incapable of being removed without disassembly.

Refer to game schedules contained within these regulations for specific restrictions on the use of firearms and other devices.

Nuisance Animals

Landowners or their designees may remove beaver and nutria causing damage to their property without a special permit. Water set traps and firearms may be used to remove beaver; nutria may be removed by any means EXCEPT that nutria cannot be taken by the use of headlight and gun between the hours of sunset and sunrise. With a special permit issued by LDWF, beavers may be taken between one-half hour after official sunset to one-half hour before official sunrise for a period of three consecutive calendar evenings from the effective date of the permit. For specific details contact a regional office near you. Any nuisance beaver or nutria trapped or shot outside open trapping season cannot be pelted or sold. A trapping license is required to sell or pelt nuisance beavers or nutria taken during open trapping season. Squirrel found destroying commercial crops of pecans may be taken year-round by permit issued by LDWF. This permit shall be valid for 30 days from the date of issuance. Contact the local regional office  or details.

Threatened and Endangered Species

Louisiana black bear, Louisiana pearl shell (mussel), sea turtles, gopher tortoise, ringed sawback turtle, brown pelican, bald eagle, peregrine falcon, whooping crane, Eskimo curlew, piping plover, interior least tern, ivory-billed woodpecker, red-cockaded woodpecker, Bachman's warbler, West Indian manatee, Florida panther, pallid sturgeon, gulf sturgeon, Attwater's greater prairie chicken, whales and red wolf. Taking or harassment of any of these species is a violation of state and federal laws. Outlaw Quadrupeds Holders of a legal hunting license may take coyotes, feral hogs where legal and armadillos year round during legal daylight shooting hours. The running of coyotes with dogs is prohibited in all turkey hunting areas during the open turkey season. Coyote hunting is restricted to chase only when using dogs during still hunting segments of the firearm and archery only season for deer. Foxes are protected quadrupeds and may be taken only with traps by licensed trappers during the trapping season. Remaind   of the year "chase only" allowed by licensed hunters.

Hunting and/or Discharging Firearms on Public Roads

Hunting, standing, loitering or shooting game quadrupeds or game birds with a gun during open season while on a public highway or public road right-of-way is prohibited. Hunting or the discharge of firearms on roads or highways located on public levees or within 100 feet from the centerline of such levee roads or highways is prohibited. Spot-lighting or shining from public roads is prohibited by state law. Hunting from all public roads and rights-of-way is prohibited and these provisions will be strictly enforced.


Any part of the deer or wild turkey divided shall have affixed thereto the name, date, address and big game license number of the person killing the deer or wild turkey and the sex of that animal. This information shall be legibly written in pen or pencil on any piece of paper or cardboard or any material which is attached or secured to or enclosing the part or parts.

Sex Identification

Positive evidence of sex identification, including the head, shall remain on any deer taken or killed within the state of Louisiana, or on all turkey taken or killed during any special gobbler season when killing of turkey hens is prohibited, so long as such deer or turkey is kept in camp or field, or is in route to the domicile of it possessor, or until such deer or turkey has been stored at the domicile of its possessor or divided at a cold storage facility and has thus become identifiable as food rather than as wild game.

Harvest Information Program

The Harvest Information Program (HIP) Certification is required of all licensed hunters who hunt migratory bird (ducks, geese, coots doves, rails, gallinules, snipe, and woodcock), including lifetime license holders.

This federal program is design to develop better harvest estimates for all migratory birds. Hunters will be asked how many of each species that they bagged last season to allow the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to better identify persons for sampling of a specific species such as woodcock. However, even some migratory bird hunters who indicate that they did not hunt a particular species will be sampled because a percentage that did not hunt a particular species may hunt them the following year. All migratory bird hunters will not receive the federal harvest surveys. Hunters to be sampled will be randomly chosen by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service from the certified hunters.

When buying your hunting license, vendors should automatically ask whether you intend to hunt migratory birds. Should this not happen and you plan to hunt migratory, you should request that the HIP questions (Privilege 09) be completed. If you initially indicate that you are not planning on hunting migratory birds and later decide to hunt them, you must complete the certification process. If no other hunting licenses are being purchased, simply request the vendor to certify you for Privilege 09. There is no cost for the certification. Migratory bird hunters who do not require hunting licenses, such as 15 year-olds and younger, are also encouraged to become HIP certified. Lifetime license holders are required by law to be HIP certified if hunting migratory birds and may become certified at any Louisiana license vendor.

For more information about HIP in Louisiana call 225-765-2887.

Duck Hunting Requirements


In addition to a Federal Duck Stamp AND Louisiana HIP Certification the following apply:

Waterfowl hunters, age 16 or older are required to carry one of the following:

1) Basic Hunting - $15 and Louisiana Duck - $5.50
2) Louisiana Sportsman's Paradise - $100
3) LA. Lifetime License that includes Hunting
4) Senior Hunt/Fish License - $5 (residents who turned 60 after June 1, 2000)

1) Non-resident Hunting Season - $150 AND Non=Resident LA Duck - $25
2) Non-resident Small Game/MigBird 1-day - $29
3) LA Lifetime License that includes Hunting
4) LA Native NR Hunt (5-day) - $15 and NR LA Native Duck - $5.50
5) Res/NR Military Hunt - $15 and Res/NR Military Duck - $5.50

Licenses and HIP Certification may be obtained from any license vendor location or by phone at 1-888-765-2602, or internet at

Syndicate content