Licenses

Primitive Firearm

Grouping: 
Hunting Fees
Fees
Resident: 
$10.50
Non-Resident: 
$26.00

Exceptions and Exemptions

Residents and non-residents younger than 16 years of age and residents who have reached 60 years of age prior to June 1, 2000 and have lived in the state for two years prior to application are not required to obtain the following licenses: basic and saltwater fishing, basic hunting, big game, bow, muzzleloader, LA duck, turkey stamp. PROOF OF AGE MUST BE CARRIED ON PERSON.

Texas Reciprocal

Louisiana seniors, 65 years of age and older, are not required to purchase a non-resident license to fish in all public waters in Texas. These anglers will be allowed to fish Texas water bodies with a Louisiana Senior fishing license but shall comply with Texas law.

Senior anglers are advised that anglers turning 60 before June 1, 2000 are also required to possess a Louisiana Senior fishing license when fishing in Texas, except in border waters. Louisiana residents from 17 to 64 years of age will still be required to purchase a non-resident fishing license when fishing in Texas, except when fishing in border waters.

In all border waters, except the Gulf of Mexico, Texas and Louisiana anglers possessing the necessary resident licenses, or those exempted from resident licenses for their state, are allowed to fish the border waters of Louisiana and Texas without purchasing non-resident licenses. Border waters include Caddo Lake, Toledo Bend Reservoir, the Sabine River and Sabine Lake.

Louisiana is also allowing Texas senior residents 65 years of age and older, to fish throughout Louisiana’s public waters if they possess any type valid Special Texas Resident licenses for seniors as issued by Texas Parks and Wildlife, any type of water, saltwater or freshwater. Even Texas residents born before September 1, 1930 must possess the Texas Special Resident Fishing license when fishing in Louisiana, except in border waters.

Military

Any person who possesses a military identification card that signifies that he is currently on active military duty with any one of the armed forces of the United States, including the National Guard, or the spouse or dependent of such person, may purchase a license for hunting or recreational fishing in Louisiana for the same fee as that required of Louisiana residents for that same license. These licenses are available at license vendor locations. ACT 306 of 2007 Regular Legislative Session provides for a credit against individual income tax liability paid by military for obtaining a Louisiana noncommercial hunting or fishing license for themselves or their spouses and dependents.

Licensee must present a Military Identification Card at the time of purchase AND have military ID or dependent card, and appropriate license(s) in his possession at all times when engaging in hunting or fishing activities.

Active Military licenses are valid only during that time when the licensee is on active duty in the armed forces of the United States.

Resident Non-Active Louisiana National Guard members may purchase a license for $50.00 to fish and hunt in Louisiana by submitting a completed “Resident Non-Active Louisiana National Guard Hunt/Fish” license application along with the fee and a copy of their Louisiana Driver’s License, Military Identification Card and original letter from their commanding officer verifying that they are in “good standing” with the LA. National Guard. These licenses are available through our Baton Rouge office only. The application form can be obtained by calling 225-765-2887. This license is in lieu of basic and saltwater fishing, basic hunting, big game, bow, muzzleloader, LA duck, turkey stamp, and WMA hunting permit.

Disability Licenses

Resident veterans having a permanent service-connected disability classification of 50 percent or more and residents who are blind, paraplegic or multiple amputee shall upon identification and proof of disability satisfactory to the department, be issued recreational fishing and hunting licenses at no cost. This license is in lieu of basic and saltwater fishing, basic hunting, big game, bow, muzzleloader, LA duck, turkey stamp and WMA Hunting permit. Forms are available at www.wlf.louisiana.gov/licenses or by contacting Sports License at (225) 765-2887 for required forms.

A resident applicant who is totally and permanently disabled and receiving federal social security disability benefits must submit a current award letter from Social Security and a valid Louisiana Driver’s License. A resident who receives disability retirement income from a retirement system whose members are exempt from social security pursuant to the Railroad Retirement Insurance Act (Act 45 U.S.C. 231) or because they are employees of the state or a political subdivision of the state that has not voluntarily agreed to participate in federal social security under 42 U.S.C. 418, may purchase the following licenses at reduced rates as follows: basic recreational fishing -$2.50; saltwater fishing -$2.50; basic hunting, including WMA Hunting permit - $5.00; big game - $5.00 and bow - $5.00 and disabled primitive firearm $5.00 (new). To qualify for this license, apply by mail or in person to LDWF Baton Rouge office.  Once approved, the license can be obtained annually from any license vendor location.

This exemption does not apply to Supplemental Security Income (SSI) benefits. Contact Sports License at (225) 765-2887 for additional information.

A resident who is required to use one or more artificial limbs or permanent braces for mobility or a single amputee, upon identification and proof of disability satisfactory to the Department, is eligible for fishing and saltwater licenses at no cost. Licenses are available through the Department’s office in
Baton Rouge, only.

Mobility impaired persons

Mobility impaired persons, as defined in R.S. 47:463.4(E), that are bona fide residents of Louisiana and over 60 years of age may use one legal slat trap and/or one hoop net not greater than eighteen feet by eight feet for the purpose of catching catfish for home consumption. There shall be no gear fee or license charge and all persons must be in possession of valid identification.

Recreational Fishing Licenses

Recreational fishing and hunting licenses may be purchased online or by telephone using Visa or MasterCard. Call toll free 1-888-765-2602. An authorization number for immediate use will be provided and licenses will be mailed to the licensee.
A SERVICE FEE IS CHARGED.

Persons taking fish, whether recreationally or commercially, and persons involved in the fish industry, including wholesale/retail dealers and transporters, and vessels involved in the fish industry must be licensed.

All recreational licenses are valid from the date of purchase and expire on June 30 each year. In addition to other bona fide residency requirements, a Louisiana Driver's License or Louisiana ID Card issued by the Department of Public Safety is required to purchase resident recreational hunting and fishing licenses.

Title 56, Section 302.1.C.(1) requires that all recreational anglers fishing south of the "saltwater line" for saltwater species have in their possession a Louisiana saltwater angler's license IN ADDITION TO a basic Louisiana fishing license EXCEPT those persons otherwise exempted. All regulations apply regardless of where the fish is taken.

A recreational fisherman must purchase and have in possession a valid basic recreational fishing license to possess fish in Louisiana waters or to use the following:

  1. Bow and arrow
  2. A barbed or barbless spear
  3. Frog gig/catcher
  4. Scuba Gear
  5. Hook & line (trot line)
  6. Cast net with a radius not to exceed 8 ft. 6 in.
  7. Rod and reel

Persons who obtain resident licenses when not complying with the bona fide residency requirements as stated in the definition section will be subject to criminal and/or civil sanctions.

Resident Recreational Fishing Fees
   
Hook and Line (cane pole)  $2.50  
Basic Fishing  $9.50  
Saltwater License (Basic Fishing required)  $5.50  
Senior Fish/Hunt 1 $5.00  
Charter Passenger License (3-day) 2 $10.00  
LA Sportsman's Paradise License $100.00  
LA Disabled Basic Fishing 4 $2.50  
LA Disabled Saltwater 4 $2.50  
Recreational Offshore Landing Permit Free  
Non-Resident (NR) Recreational Fishing Fees
   
Basic Fishing Season  $60.00  
Basic Fish Trip - 1 day  $5.00  
Saltwater Season  $30.00  
Saltwater Trip - 1 day 5 $17.50  
Charter Passenger (3-day) 2 $10.00  
Charter Skiff (3-day) 6 $30.00  
Military Recreational Fishing Fees
   
Resident/NR Military Basic Fishing  $9.50  
Resident/NR Military Saltwater  $5.50  
Resident Non-Active LA National Guard Fish/Hunt  $50.00  
     
Recreational Fishing Gear Fees
Res. 
NR 
Crab Traps (limit 10)  $15 $60
Slat Traps (limit 5)  $20 $80
Trawls - up to 16 feet  $25 $100
Trawls - 16 feet to 25 feet  $80 $320
Oyster Tong (per tong)  $5 $20
Crawfish Traps (limit 35)  $15 $60
Pipes/Drums (limit 5)  $10 $40
Cans/Buckets (limit 5)  $10 $40
Wire Nets (limit 5) 7 $20 $80
Hoop Nets (limit 5) 7 $20 $80
Lifetime License Fees
   
Lifetime Fishing - age 5-13  $200  
Lifetime Fishing - age 14 and up  $300  
Lifetime Hunt/Fish - age 0-4  $200  
Lifetime Hunt/Fish - age 5-13  $300  
Lifetime Hunt/Fish - age 14 and up  $500  
NR Lifetime Hunt/Fish  $3,000  
Lifetime Resident Senior Hunt/Fish (60 or older)  $50  
Lifetime Fishing Gear  10 times annual fee per gear type   

 

1 Senior Fish/Hunt License: Any resident who turned 60 years of age on or after June 1, 2000 must obtain a senior fishing/hunting license to hunt or fish. This license is in lieu of basic and saltwater fishing, basic hunting, big game, bow, primitive firearms, LA duck license, turkey stamp and WMA hunting permit. It does not include special gear such as trawls, crab traps, crawfish traps, hoop nets, etc. 
2 Persons who fish from a charter vessel in saltwater areas of the state, with a licensed guide on board at all times, may possess a Charter Passenger License at a cost of $10.00 that is valid for 3 consecutive days. 
3 Sportsman’s Paradise License: Includes Basic and Saltwater Fishing, Basic and Big Game Hunting, Bow, Primitive Firearms, Turkey, LA Duck and WMA Hunting Permit, and all recreational gear licenses (EXCEPT recreational trawls greater than 16 feet in length). 
4 LA Disabled Fishing and Saltwater: See page 6. 
5 All inclusive. No other license required. 
6 Non-residents fishing under the direction of a charter operation in a licensed charter skiff in saltwater areas of the state may possess a non-resident charter skiff 3-day license at a cost of $30.00 and shall be valid for three consecutive days. 

Fishing Licenses

Recreational fishing and hunting licenses may be purchased online or by telephone using Visa or MasterCard. Call toll free 1-888-765-2602. An authorization number for immediate use will be provided and licenses will be mailed to the licensee.
A SERVICE FEE IS CHARGED.

Persons taking fish, whether recreationally or commercially, and persons involved in the fish industry, including wholesale/retail dealers and transporters, and vessels involved in the fish industry must be licensed.

All recreational licenses are valid from the date of purchase and expire on June 30 each year. In addition to other bona fide residency requirements, a Louisiana Driver's License or Louisiana ID Card issued by the Department of Public Safety is required to purchase resident recreational hunting and fishing licenses.

Title 56, Section 302.1.C.(1) requires that all recreational anglers fishing south of the "saltwater line" for saltwater species have in their possession a Louisiana saltwater angler's license IN ADDITION TO a basic Louisiana fishing license EXCEPT those persons otherwise exempted. All regulations apply regardless of where the fish is taken.

A recreational fisherman must purchase and have in possession a valid basic recreational fishing license to possess fish in Louisiana waters or to use the following:

  1. Bow and arrow
  2. A barbed or barbless spear
  3. Frog gig/catcher
  4. Scuba Gear
  5. Hook & line (trot line)
  6. Cast net with a radius not to exceed 8 ft. 6 in.
  7. Rod and reel

Persons who obtain resident licenses when not complying with the bona fide residency requirements as stated in the definition section will be subject to criminal and/or civil sanctions.

Bona Fide Resident:

Bona Fide Resident:
1. Any person who has resided in this state continuously during the 12 months immediately prior to the date on which he applies for any license and who has manifested his intent to remain in this state by establishing Louisiana as his legal domicile, as demonstrated by compliance with all of the following, as applicable:

  • If registered to vote, he is registered to vote in Louisiana
  • If licensed to drive a motor vehicle, he is in possession of a valid Louisiana drivers license, or, if over the age of fifteen years and not licensed to drive, he is in possession of a special identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety and Corrections
  • If owning a motor vehicle located within Louisiana, he is in possession of a valid Louisiana registration for that vehicle
  • If earning an income, he has filed a Louisiana state income tax return and has complied with state income tax laws and regulations.

 

2.  Any person, corporation or other legal entity which possesses a resident license from any state or country other than Louisiana shall not qualify for a resident hunting license in Louisiana.
 

RESIDENT RECREATIONAL LICENSE FEES

LICENSE FEE
Hook & Line (cane pole)

$ 2.50

Basic Fishing

$ 9.50

Saltwater License (Basic Fishing Required)

$ 5.50

*Senior Fish/Hunt

$ 5.00

***Charter Passenger License (3 day)

$ 10.00

La. Sportsman's Paradise License (Includes basic and saltwater fishing; basic and big game hunting; bow, primitive weapon, turkey and La. waterfowl license; WMA hunting permit, and all recreational gear licenses EXCEPT recreational trawls greater than 16 feet in length.)

$100.00

**La. Disabled Fishing

$ 2.50

**La. Disabled Saltwater

$ 2.50

Recreational Offshore Landing Permit

Free

*Senior Fish/Hunt License: Any resident who turned sixty (60) years of age on or after June 1, 2000 must obtain a senior fishing/hunting license to hunt or fish. This license does not include special gear such as trawls, crab traps, crawfish traps, hoop nets, etc.

**LA Disabled Fishing and Saltwater applicants must present a copy of their driver's license and a recent award letter from the Office of Social Security to be considered. Available at Baton Rouge only.

***Persons who fish from a charter vessel in saltwater areas of the state, with a licensed guide on board at all times, may possess a Charter Passenger License at a cost of $10.00 that is valid for three consecutive days. Charter guide license number or mothership license must be provided when purchasing charter passenger licenses.

NON-RESIDENT RECREATIONAL LICENSE FEES

LICENSE FEE
Non-Resident Basic Fish Season

$60.00

Non-Resident Basic Fish Trip (1 day)

$ 5.00

Non-Resident Saltwater Season (Basic Fishing Required)

$30.00

Non-Resident Saltwater Trip (1-day)

$17.50

* Charter Passenger (3 day)

$ 10.00

** Non-Resident Charter Skiff (3-day)

$30.00

Recreational Offshore Landing Permit

Free

*Persons who fish from a charter vessel in saltwater areas of the state, with a licensed guide on board at all times, may possess a Charter Passenger License at a cost of $10.00 that is valid for three consecutive days.

**Non-residents fishing under the direction of a charter operation in a licensed charter skiff in saltwater areas of the state may possess a non-resident charter skiff three-day license at a cost of $30.00 and shall be valid for three consecutive days.

MILITARY LICENSE FEES

 

LICENSE FEE
Res/Non-Resident Active Military Fishing

$ 9.50

Res/Non-Resident Active Military Saltwater

$ 5.50

 

 

 

 

RECREATIONAL GEAR LICENSES

Recreational anglers ages 16 and over using any of the recreational gear listed below must, in addition to their basic fishing license, purchase the applicable gear license. If fishing in saltwater areas of the state, a saltwater fishing license is also required. Lifetime fishing license holders must also purchase a gear license to use recreational gear.

LICENSE RESIDENT NON-RESIDENT
Crab Traps (limit 10 traps)
(fished singly or on trot line)

$15

$60

Slat Traps (limit 5 traps)

$20

$80

Trawls (up to 16 feet)

$25

$100

**Trawls (over 16 feet, up to 25 feet)

$80

$320

Oyster Tong (per tong)

$5

$20

Crawfish Traps (limit 35 traps)

$15

$60

Pipes/Drums (limit 5)

$10

$40

Cans/Buckets (limit 5)

$10

$40

*Wire Nets (limit 5)

$20

$80

*Hoop Nets (limit 5)

$20

$80

Recreational wire and hoop nets shall be used only in the geographical areas of the state designated as freshwater see page 13 of the fishing regulations click here.
**Not included in Sportsman's Paradise license.

LIFETIME LICENSES

Lifetime Licenses cover basic fishing, saltwater fishing, basic hunting, big game hunting, bow hunting and muzzleloader hunting licenses, state Waterfowl and Turkey stamps, and the WMA hunting permit.

LICENSE FEE
Lifetime Fishing (14 & older)

$ 300

Lifetime Fishing (5 - 13)

$ 200

Lifetime Hunt/Fish (14 & older)

$ 500

Lifetime Hunt/Fish (5 - 13)

$ 300

Lifetime Hunt/Fish (0 - 4)

$ 200

Non-Resident Lifetime Hunt/Fish

$3,000

Lifetime Fishing Gear

10 times annual fee per gear type

Lifetime Resident Senior (60 +)

$ 50

Lifetime Licenses are available from the Baton Rouge office only.  Allow three weeks processing time. Applicants are required to have lived in Louisiana for the immediate 12 months prior to making application to qualify for resident rates. Mandatory documents required with completed application are a valid Louisiana driver's license issued a minimum of 12 months AND ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: (1) Louisiana voter's registration card, (2) Louisiana vehicle registration and (3) two previous years state tax filing, stamped by Department of Revenue & Taxation.

Student License Application

Commercial or Recreational: 
Recreational

Lifetime License Application

Commercial or Recreational: 
Recreational

Disabled Veteran Application

Hunting or Fishing: 
Hunting
Commercial or Recreational: 
Recreational

Duplicate Lifetime Licenses

Commercial or Recreational: 
Recreational
Syndicate content