Sample-Test

LDWF Agents Issue Multiple Dove Baiting Citations During Opening Weekend of Dove Season

Release Date: 09/06/2018

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents wrote 39 citations to 29 subjects for alleged dove baiting related cases during the opening weekend of the dove season, Sept. 1-3.

In Franklin Parish, agents issued eight citations for hunting doves over a baited area and six citations for aiding and abetting others in hunting doves over a baited area.

Agents issued five citations for hunting doves over a baited area and one citation for aiding and abetting others in hunting doves over a baited area in Rapides Parish.

Agents also issued five citations for hunting doves over a baited area, two placement of bait citations and two aiding and abetting others in hunting doves over a baited area in St. Helena Parish.

In West Feliciana Pariah, agents wrote four hunting doves over a baited area citations and one placement of bait citation.

In Avoyelles Parish, agents issued two citations for hunting doves over a baited area and one citation for aiding and abetting other in hunting doves over a baited area.

Lastly, agents issued two citations for hunting doves over a baited area in Evangeline Parish.

All migratory game bird baiting cases are filed with the U.S. Attorney’s Office for prosecution in Federal Court.

Agents Cite Two Men for Alligator Violations

Release Date: 08/23/2018

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited two men for alleged alligator violations on Aug. 19 in St. Martin Parish.

Agents cited Jeremy E. Kibble, 26, of Lafayette, and Daniel D. Norton, 31, of New Iberia, for taking an alligator without a license, taking an alligator during a closed season and intentional concealment of wildlife.

Agents on patrol near Catahoula observed two trucks parked off of Henderson Levee Road with Kibble and Norton nearby.  When agents approached the men they saw Kibble go to the woods to discard something.  Agents went to the woods and found a freshly cleaned alligator.

During questioning, Norton admitted to shooting the alligator after Kibble caught the alligator.  Both men were cleaning the alligator as agents arrived on the scene.

Intentional concealment of wildlife carries a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Taking an alligator during a closed season brings a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Taking an alligator without a license carries a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail.

Hamburg Man Arrested in Avoyelles Parish

Release Date: 12/17/2017

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries agents arrested an Avoyelles Parish man for alleged deer violations and possessing a firearm by a convicted felon on Dec. 5.

Agents arrested Marvin P Smith, 48, of Hamburg, for possession of illegally taken deer, taking deer with an illegal weapon, possession of a firearm by a convicted felon, hunting deer using illegal methods, hunting without resident basic and big game hunting licenses, and failing to comply with deer tagging requirements.

Agents received information about an antlered deer that was allegedly killed by Smith, who is a convicted felon, during the month of October.  On Dec. 5 agents made contact with Smith at his residence and questioned him about the deer.

During questioning, Smith admitted to killing the antlered deer with a 12-gauge shotgun loaded with fine shot while squirrel hunting on Bayou des Glaises.  Smith did not possess the required hunting licenses, shot the deer with a shotgun during archery only deer season, failed to possess deer tags, and did not use buck shot.

Agents seized the antlered deer head along with the 12-gauge shotgun and booked Smith into the Avoyelles Parish Jail.

Illegal possession of a firearm by a convicted felon carries a $1,000 to $5,000 fine and 10 to 20 years of jail.

Possession of an illegally taken deer carries a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Taking deer using illegal methods carries a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail.  Failing to comply with deer tagging regulations and hunting with an illegal weapon each carries a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail.

Smith could also face civil restitution totaling $2,033 for the replacement value of the illegally taken deer.

Gueydan Man Arrested for Possession of Drugs and Firearm

Release Date: 01/31/2017

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) agents arrested a Gueydan man for alleged drug and safe boating charges on Jan. 28 in Vermilion Parish.

Agents arrested Brien K. Klumpp, 31, for possession of methamphetamines, drug paraphernalia, and a firearm while in possession of illegal drugs.  He was also cited for safe boating infraction such as failing to comply with personal flotation device (PFD) and engine kill switch requirements, improper boat numbers and fire extinguisher.

Agents were on patrol in Vermilion Parish when they observed a vessel travelling at night without the required running lights.  Agents stopped the vessel and conducted a boating safety check.

During the inspection agents found Klumpp in possession of methamphetamines, drug paraphernalia and a loaded .22 caliber pistol.  Agents placed Klumpp under arrest and transported him to the Vermilion Parish Correctional Facility.

Klumpp also admitted to stealing a weed trimmer that was found in the vessel.  Agents turned the theft investigation turned over to the Vermilion Parish Sheriff’s Office.

Possession of methamphetamine carries up to a $5,000 fine and five years in jail.  Possession of drug paraphernalia brings up to a $500 fine and six months in jail.  Possession of a firearm while in possession of illegal drugs carries up to a $10,000 fine and five to 10 years of prison.

The boating safety violations each carry a $50 fine and up to 15 days in jail.

Agents working the case are Lt. Beau Robertson, Senior Agent Derek Logan and Senior Agent Nathan Vanya.

Four Men Cited for Oyster Violations

Release Date: 06/24/2016

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries enforcement agents cited four men for alleged oyster violations on June 22 in Lafourche Parish.

Agents cited Ernesto Frederick-Valentin, 45, Carlos Treminio, 31, Marshal Palacios, 35, all of New Orleans, and Casey Billiot, 24, of Houma, for unlawfully taking oysters off a private lease and from an unapproved area.  Agents also cited the Frederick-Valentin for not possessing a commercial gear license for the dredge at the time of the stop.
Agents received an anonymous tip about four people taking oysters off of a private lease without permission in Bay Marlene.  Upon arriving on the scene agents discovered the area was also located inside a polluted area for taking oysters.  Agents then made contact with the four subjects and found them actively dredging for oysters in the area.

Agents seized nine sacks of oysters and returned them to the water.  They also seized the vessel and dredge on a department seizure order.

Taking oysters off a private lease and taking oysters from an unapproved area each carries a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail for each offense.  Taking commercial fish without a commercial gear license carries a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail.

The men could also have their oyster harvester licenses revoked by the department for up to one year.  The violators could also be sentenced to perform 40 hours of community service and only be allowed to harvest oysters from a vessel with a vessel monitoring device for up to one year.

Agents involved in the case are Senior Agent Dean Aucoin and Senior Agent Michael Williams.

Louisiana Safe Boating Week Set For May 21-27

Release Date: 05/20/2016

The state of Louisiana has issued a proclamation that recognizes May 21-27 as “Safe Boating Week” in Louisiana, which signifies the beginning of the spring and summer boating season.

The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) will again be reminding all boaters to be safe, responsible and knowledgeable while on the water during this safe boating week.  Safe Boating Week is a time for all boaters to inspect their vessels to ensure that all required safety equipment is on board and that vessels are in good working condition.

LDWF Enforcement Division agents will be out in full force as always during the week to perform boating safety checks and driving or operating a vessel while intoxicated (DWI) patrols.

Each vessel should have enough personal flotation devices (PFD) on board for all occupants and a sober operator.  LDWF regulations also state that anyone 16 years of age and younger must wear a PFD while underway in vessels less than 26 foot long.  For more boating and PFD regulations, please visit www.wlf.louisiana.gov/boating.

Alcohol use is one of the leading causes of boating crash incidents and fatalities on the water.  Alcohol consumption impairs a boater's judgment, balance, vision and reaction time.  The penalties for DWI on the water are the same as on the road.  Anyone cited for a DWI on the water or on the road will lose his or her driver's license and boating privileges for the specified time ordered by the judge in the case.

LDWF also wants to remind anybody born after Jan. 1, 1984 that they are required to successfully complete a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) boating education course to operate a motorboat over 10 horsepower.  LDWF offers these classes free of charge statewide.  For a list of courses, please visit www.wlf.louisiana.gov/boating/courses.

In 2015 Louisiana reported 22 boating fatalities.  In 2013 and 2014 Louisiana reported 15 and 18 fatalities, which were the lowest and second lowest boating fatalities ever recorded for Louisiana.  So far in 2016 Louisiana has reported six fatalities.

Ponchatoula Man Arrested for Fourth DWI

Release Date: 09/08/2015

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents arrested a Ponchatoula man for alleged operating or driving a vessel while intoxicated (DWI) fourth offense on Sept. 5 in Tangipahoa Parish.

Agents arrested Matthew B. Saltzman, 42, for fourth offense DWI, flight from an officer, simple escape, resisting arrest, possession of a firearm by a convicted felon, operating a watercraft under a suspended license and three boating safety violations.

Agents were on patrol in South Pass located in Manchac around 10 p.m. on Sept. 5 when a vessel with no running lights passed them.

Agents were able to stop the vessel and since they suspected all four on board to be impaired towed the vessel about 400 yards to a fuel dock to perform field sobriety test on Saltzman.  After the field sobriety test, Saltzman jumped into the water and escaped arrest.

On Sept. 6 agents received information that Saltzman may be at a camp on South Pass.  The owner of the camp, who is Saltzman’s uncle, went inside and found Saltzman in his bathroom with a rifle.  Family members were able to talk Saltzman into surrendering unarmed.  Agents detained Saltzman at that time and turned him into the Tangipahoa Parish Prison.

Fourth offense DWI brings up to a $5,000 fine and 10 to 30 years in jail.  Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon carries a $1,000 to $5,000 fine and 10 to 20 years in jail.  Flight from an officer carries a $150 to $500 fine and up to six months in jail.  Simple escape brings six months to one year in jail.  Resisting arrest and operating a vessel with a suspended license each carries up to a $500 fine and six months in jail.  The three boating safety violations each bring up to a $50 fine and 15 days in jail.

Agents participating in the case are Capt. Len Yokum, and Senior Agents Brody Roberts and Doug Danna.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or aeinck@wlf.la.gov.

sample

This is a sample test. Please let me know if you receive this.

Syndicate content