Commercial Licenses

Renew your license

How do I purchase a commercial license?

You can purchase new commercial licenses at LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge during normal business hours, 8 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. New applicants must apply in person.
 

You must provide proof of residency for your domiciliary state. If you’re applying for a license in a business name, you must provide documentation of valid federal tax ID number assigned to your business name and authorized signature OR an occupational license.
 

For more information, please call 225-765-2898.

When do licenses expire? How do I renew my license?

Commercial licenses expire December 31 each year, unless otherwise noted. You can renew your license in person or online.

How do I qualify for resident license rates?

To purchase a license at the resident rate, you must meet the bona fide residency requirements defined below and present one of the following valid forms of identification:

  • Louisiana driver’s license (valid for 12 months or more)
  • Louisiana identification card (issued by the Louisiana Department of Public Safety)

If you obtain a resident license but do not comply with the bona fide residency requirements as stated below, you will be subject to criminal and/or civil sanctions.

 

Bona Fide Residency Requirements:
You’re a bona fide resident if you’ve resided in the state of Louisiana continuously during the 12 months immediately prior to the date you apply for any license and if you’ve established Louisiana as your legal domicile. You must demonstrate compliance with all of the following, as applicable:

  • If you’re registered to vote, you’re registered to vote in Louisiana
  • If you’re licensed to drive a motor vehicle, you have a valid Louisiana driver’s license
  • If you own a motor vehicle located within Louisiana, you have a valid Louisiana registration for that vehicle
  • If you earn an income, you have filed a Louisiana state income tax return and have complied with state income tax law and regulations.

With respect to a corporation or other legal entity, a resident is incorporated or otherwise organized under and subject to the laws of Louisiana, is domiciled in Louisiana, and has a permanent physical location of business in Louisiana where records are held.

 

Any person, corporation, or other legal entity that possesses a resident license from any other state or country shall not qualify for a resident license in Louisiana.

Commercial Fishing Licenses

To take or possess shrimp, crab, oysters, or finfish in Louisiana waters or gather reptiles and/or amphibians for commercial purposes, you must have one or more of the following licenses issued by LDWF. Application forms are available below:

application/pdf iconCommercial License Application

 

You also must have additional licenses and permits to harvest some species, use certain gears, and/or operate in federal waters. See the following pages for more details:

If you:

You must have a/an:

Fees and notes:

Operate a commercial fishing vessel

Commercial Fisherman License OR Senior Commercial Fisherman License (if a resident age 70 or older)

$55 resident, $460 nonresident; senior: $20 resident (includes all gear licenses except annual shrimp gear fee). License is personal and not transferable. It allows you to transport and sell your catch to any licensed wholesale/retail seafood dealer in Louisiana. If you transport your catch out of state, sell to a retail seafood dealer, restaurant, or retail grocer, or purchase fish for resale, you must become a licensed Wholesale/Retail Seafood Dealer. You must have a Fresh Products License to transport and sell your catch to a consumer within in the state. See below.

Are an apprentice to a licensed and permitted commercial fisherman taking saltwater fish

Apprentice License

$27.50 resident, $230 nonresident; must meet qualifying income criteria and be an apprentice for at least 2 years onboard a commercial saltwater fishing vessel; after 2 years, may apply for a regular commercial fisherman’s license or permit for spotted seatrout, rod and reel, mullet, or other restricted species

Gather reptiles and amphibians for sale

Reptile and Amphibian Collector License

$25 resident/$10 resident under age 16, $200 nonresident

Have a vessel fishing commercially in the saltwater areas of Louisiana

Vessel License

$15 resident, $60 nonresident; this license is specific to the individual’s vessel and must be in the vessel owner’s name.

Produce fish in privately owned waters or ponds and transport and sell such fish

Domesticated Aquatic Organism License

$15 resident, $400 nonresident

Sell your catch to anyone who doesn’t have a Wholesale/Retail Seafood Dealer License (besides consumers) or transport your catch out of state

Wholesale/Retail Seafood Dealer License

$250 resident, $1,105 nonresident

Sell your catch directly to consumers within Louisiana

Fresh Products License

$20 resident, $120 nonresident. Your spouse may purchase a Fresh Products-Spouse License for $5 to sell directly to consumers.

 

You must also have a license for each piece of gear you’re using, unless otherwise noted. Gear licenses are temporarily transferable between licensed commercial fishermen of the same residency status. Nonresidents may not purchase licenses for gear that is prohibited in their home state. See the following pages for more details:

License Type

Resident Fee

Nonresident Fee

Bow and Arrow

$25

$100

Butterfly Net (per net)

$25

$100

Cans, Buckets, Pipes, Drums (any legal number)

$25

$100

Cast Net

$25

$100

Crab Drop Net

$25

$100

Crab Trap (any legal number)

$50

$200

Crawfish Trap (any legal number)

$25

$100

Dip Net

$25

$100

Eel Pot (any legal number)

$25

$100

Flounder Gig (per gig)

$25

$100

Freshwater Fish Seine (any legal number)

$25

$100

Freshwater Gill Net (any legal number)

$25

$100

Freshwater Shrimp Net

$25

N/A

Freshwater Trammel Net (any legal number)

$25

$100

Garfish Gig (per gig)

$25

$100

Hoop Net (any legal number)

$25

$100

Minnow Trap (any legal number)

$25

$100

Mullet Strike Net (per net)

$250

$1,000

Oyster Scraper (per scraper)

$25

$200

Oyster Tong (per tong)

$30

$240

Pompano Strike Net (per net)

$250

$1,000

Purse/Menhaden Seine (per seine)

$505

$2,020

Rod and Reel (saltwater; any legal number)

$250

$1,000

Set Line (trot, bush, etc.; any legal number)

$25

$100

Shad Gill Net (Lac Des Allemands, Lake Palourde, Lake Verret)

$25

$100

Shad Seine (freshwater)

$25

$100

Shrimp Gear Fee (one-time annually)

$10

$40

Shrimp Trawl (per trawl)

$25

$100

Skimmer Net (per net)

$25

$100

Spear Gun (per spear gun)

$25

$100

Slat Trap (any legal number)

$25

$100

Wire Net (any legal number)

$25

$100

 

Fish, Reptile, and Amphibian Dealer, Retailer, and Processor Licenses

To purchase, resell, or process seafood products, bait, reptiles or amphibians in Louisiana, you must have one of the following licenses issued by LDWF, unless otherwise noted. Application forms are available below:

 

application/pdf iconCommercial License Application

application/pdf iconDuplicate Commercial License Application

 

You also must have additional licenses and/or permits to buy, sell, or process some species. See the following pages for more details:

If you:

You must have a/an:

Fees and notes:

Buy, acquire, or handle seafood products or bait from licensed commercial fishermen or wholesale/retail seafood dealers from in or out of the state for sale or resale

Wholesale/Retail Seafood Dealer Business License OR Wholesale/Retail Seafood Dealer Vehicle License if selling from a vehicle

$250 resident, $1,105 nonresident. You may buy from licensed commercial fishermen and licensed wholesale/retail dealers in Louisiana and from out of state. When buying seafood products for which a permit is required (mullet, reef fish, spotted seatrout, shark, tuna, etc.), you may only buy from commercial fishermen who have the required permit. There are no restrictions on whom you may sell to. You are also licensed to transport fish.

Buy, acquire, or handle seafood products from a licensed Louisiana wholesale/retail seafood dealer for sale to consumers for personal or household use

Retail Seafood Dealer Business License OR Retail Seafood Dealer Vehicle License if selling from a vehicle

$105 resident, $405 nonresident. You may only buy from licensed wholesale/retail dealers in Louisiana and only sell directly to consumers for personal or household use. You may ship seafood products within and out of Louisiana to consumers for personal or household use. To buy from out of state, you must have a Wholesale/Retail Seafood Dealer License (see above). Restaurants and grocers are exempt from these license requirements if they only sell seafood products fully prepared for immediate consumption.

Buy, acquire, or handle for resale or sell any native reptiles or amphibians, including those reared in captivity

Reptile and Amphibian Wholesale/Retail Dealer License

$105 resident, $405 nonresident. Nonresidents may instead purchase a Three-Day Reptile and Amphibian Wholesale/Retail Dealer’s License ($75; valid for three consecutive days). Licensed wholesale/retail seafood dealers are exempt from this license.

Buy unprocessed alligator parts (other than hides), manufacture nonedible alligator parts into a finished product, or purchase unprocessed alligator meat or process alligator meat for wholesale or retail sale

Alligator Parts Dealer

$50; expires June 30

Buy finished products made from alligator parts (other than hides) for retail sale

Alligator Parts Retailer

$5; expires June 30

Fish, Reptile, and Amphibian Transporting/Shipping Licenses

To operate any commercial transport vehicle and load, unload, or transport fish or reptiles and amphibians, you must have one of the following LDWF-issued licenses. Common carriers are exempt from these license requirements. In addition, transport license requirements do not apply to processed fish or fish products (drying to a point of dehydration, canning, salting, breading, and cooking for immediate consumption).

 

Application forms are available below:

application/pdf iconCommercial License Application

application/pdf iconDuplicate Commercial License Application

 

If you:

You must have a/an:

Fees and notes:

Are a licensed wholesale/retail seafood dealer delivering seafood

Wholesale/Retail Seafood Transport License

$30 per vehicle (residents and nonresidents); can only be purchased by a licensed Louisiana commercial fisherman or wholesale/retail seafood dealer; issued in the purchaser’s name. If you’re transporting fish under a transport license, you may not buy or sell and fish (unless working under a transport license purchased in connection with a wholesale/retail seafood dealer license and buying fish for and transporting such fish to the dealer to whom the license was issued). A dealer may purchase any number of transport licenses; transport licenses are freely transferable between vehicles, but the licensee remains responsible for all activities conducted under that license.

Are a licensed retail seafood dealer picking up seafood from a wholesale/retail dealer and transporting it to your business

Retail Seafood Transport License

Are transporting a commercial fisherman’s catch to a wholesale/retail dealer for sale

Commercial Fisherman Seafood Transport License

Ship seafood out of state

Wholesale/Retail Seafood Dealer License OR Seafood Transport License purchased with the dealer license

• Dealer License: $250 resident; $1,105 nonresident
• Seafood Transport License: $30 for residents and nonresidents

Operate commercial transport vehicles and load, unload, or transport reptiles or amphibians

Reptile and Amphibian Collector License, Reptile and Amphibian Wholesale/Retail Dealer License, OR Reptile and Amphibian Transport License

• Collector License: $25 resident/$10 resident under age 16, $200 nonresident
• Dealer License: $105 resident, $405 nonresident. Nonresidents may instead purchase a Three-Day Reptile and Amphibian Wholesale/Retail Dealer’s License ($75; valid for three consecutive days).
• Transport License: $30/vehicle resident, $120/vehicle nonresident; transferable between vehicles. Only licensed reptile and amphibian collectors or wholesale/retail dealers may purchase. Transport licenseholders may not buy/sell reptiles or amphibians unless buying on behalf of the dealer to whom the transport license was issued and transporting the purchase back to them.

 

Trapping Licenses

You must have a current Trapping License to set or run traps of any type to catch furbearers* during the open trapping season OR to sell pelts or carcasses of furbearers. This includes bobcat, raccoon, and/or opossum hunters selling pelts and/or meat. You must have your license in your possession while trapping or selling pelts or carcasses.

License Type

Fee

Resident Trapping (under age 15)

$5

Resident Trapping (age 15 or older)

$25

Nonresident Trapping

$200

*Furbearers are beaver, bobcat, coyote, gray fox, mink, muskrat, nutria, opossum, river otter, red fox, raccoon and skunk.

Fur Buyer and Dealer Licenses

You must have a current Fur Buyer License to buy whole nongame quadrupeds* for pelting; carcasses of furbearing* animals; or raw furs or skins from fur trappers, alligator hunters, alligator farmers, fur buyers or fur dealers and sell them within the state. You must have your license in your possession while conducting business. Fur Buyer Licenses expire June 30.

License Type

Resident Fee

Nonresident Fee

Fur Buyer

$25

$100

 

You must have a current Fur Dealer License to buy whole nongame quadrupeds* for pelting; carcasses of furbearing* animals; or raw furs or skins from fur trappers, alligator hunters, alligator farmers, fur buyers or fur dealers and ship or export these furs or skins from the state. You must have your license in your possession while conducting business. Fur Dealer Licenses expire June 30. 

License Type

Resident Fee

Nonresident Fee

Fur Dealer

$150 ($500 deposit required)

$300 ($1,000 deposit required)

*Furbearers are beaver, bobcat, coyote, gray fox, mink, muskrat, nutria, opossum, river otter, red fox, raccoon and skunk. Nongame quadrupeds are alligators, beavers, bobcats, coyotes, gray foxes, minks, muskrats, nutrias, opossums, otters, raccoons, red foxes, skunks, and other wild quadrupeds valuable for their furs or skins.

Hunting Preserve and Game Breeder Licenses

If you:

You must have a/an:

Fees and notes:

Own and operate a hunting preserve

Commercial Hunting Preserve License

$200; pen-raised birds only; expires June 30; only available from LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge

To raise and sell wild game birds and/or quadrupeds

Game Breeder License

$25; also $50 inspection fee to raise deer and birds of prey; expires December 31; only available from LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge; contact Melissa Collins (mcollins@wlf.la.gov or 225-763-8584) for details

Nongame Quadruped Exhibitor and Breeder Licenses

If you:

You must have a/an:

Fees and notes:

To raise and/or exhibit nongame quadrupeds* (licenses will not be issued for pets or the pet trade)

Nongame Quadruped Exhibitor License

$10; expires December 31; see regulationsapplication/pdf icon for details

To raise, exhibit, and sell nongame quadrupeds* on alligator or fur farms

Nongame Quadruped Breeder License

$25; expires December 31; see regulations for details

*Nongame quadrupeds are alligators, beavers, bobcats, coyotes, gray foxes, minks, muskrats, nutrias, opossums, otters, raccoons, red foxes, skunks, and other wild quadrupeds valuable for their furs or skins.