Disability Licenses

Certain disabled Louisiana residents may obtain recreational fishing and hunting licenses free of charge or at reduced rates. Disability license applicants must present a copy of their valid Louisiana driver's license or identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles and appropriate proof of disability along with their license application.

Unless otherwise noted, submit applications for disability licenses in person at LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge or by mail to:

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Attn: Sport License
P.O. Box 98000
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70898-9000

Application forms are available below. Call 225-765-2887 for more information.

Resident Disabled Veterans Hunting and Fishing License
  • For resident veterans who have a permanent service-connected disability classification of 50 percent or more
  • Free
  • Includes Basic and Saltwater fishing licenses; Basic, Big Game, Bow, and Primitive Firearm hunting licenses; Louisiana Duck and Turkey stamps; and the WMA Hunting Permit
  • Does not include Federal Duck Stamp
  • application/pdf iconDisabled Veterans Hunting and Fishing License Application
Resident Disabled Sportsman License
  • For residents who are blind, paraplegic or multiple amputee and residents required to use one or more artificial limbs or permanent braces for mobility or who are a single amputee
  • Free
  • Includes Basic and Saltwater fishing licenses; Basic, Big Game, Bow, and Primitive Firearm hunting licenses; Louisiana Duck and Turkey stamps; and the WMA Hunting Permit
  • application/pdf iconResident Disabled Sportsman License Application
Resident Disabled Hunting and Fishing License
  • For residents who are totally and permanently disabled and receiving federal social security disability benefits or disability retirement income from a retirement system whose members are exempt from social security pursuant to the Railroad Retirement Insurance Act or employees of the state or a political subdivision of the state that has not voluntarily agreed to participate in federal social security
  • Reduced rates for the following licenses:

License Type

Fee

Basic Recreational Fishing

$2.50

Saltwater Fishing

$2.50

Basic Hunting (excludes deer and turkey; includes WMA Hunting Permit)

$5

Big Game

$5

Bow

$5

Primitive Firearm

$5

  • Must also submit a letter from the federal Social Security Administration or retirement system granting disability benefits, along with proper identification
  • Initially apply by mail or in person at LDWF Headquarters in Baton Rouge. Once approved, you may obtain this license from any license vendor location.
  • This exemption does not apply to Supplemental Security Income benefits.
  • application/pdf iconResident Disabled Hunting and Fishing License Application
Developmentally Disabled Licenses

Residents who are considered developmentally disabled may obtain special disability hunting and/or fishing licenses for free. The fishing license includes Basic and Saltwater fishing licenses. The hunting license covers Basic, Big Game, Bow, Primitive Firearm hunting licenses; Louisiana Duck and Turkey stamps; and the WMA Hunting Permit. Anyone fishing with a special disability fishing license must be accompanied by a validly licensed fisherman; anyone hunting with a special disability hunting license must be accompanied by a validly licensed hunter.

 

To qualify for a developmentally disabled license, the applicant must meet all other legal requirements to obtain a fishing and/or hunting license and submit proof of residing in Louisiana consecutively for the immediate 12 months prior to applying for a license (e.g. resident driver's license of guardian or care giver, voter registration card, vehicle registration, certification by guardian or care giver, etc.), in addition to the license application and other required documents listed above.

 

 

Physically Challenged Hunter Permit

Some physically challenged individuals may qualify for a free Physically Challenged Hunter Permit. This permit allows the permitted individual to participate in special WMA hunts and special deer seasons, to access WMAs via specially designated ATV trails, to hunt from vehicles, in accordance with state and parish laws, and to be accompanied by no more than two helpers who assist in accessing hunting areas or stands and retrieving harvested game. The permitted individual must have all other applicable licenses and must carry these licenses, the permit, and one other form of photo identification at all times while hunting or transporting game under the permit. Contact your regional office or see the permit application (linked below) for additional details.

 

application/pdf iconPhysically Challenged Hunter Permit Application

 

Submit an application for a Physically Challenged Hunter Permit by mail to:

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
GCP Ecoregion (PCHP)
42371 Phyllis Ann Drive
Hammond, Louisiana 70403

Mobility Impaired Individuals

Residents who are considered mobility-impaired and over age 60 may use one legal slat trap and/or one hoop net not greater than 18 feet by 8 feet, without a license in any waters of the state, except where specific gear is restricted, only for the purpose of catching catfish for home consumption. They must possess valid identification while using these gears.