The quantity of oysters for sale must be accurately labeled by volume, weight, or count (e.g.. 1 sack, 35 pounds, or 120 count) in the ‘Quantity’ field on the harvest tag. If labeled as a ‘sack’ they must meet the volumetric requirement of 1.5 bushels.
If oysters are removed from the shell, they must be clearly labeled by volume or weight and no more than fifteen percent of the stated net weight can be free liquid.
All oysters must be market size and wholesome.
If you are packaging, labeling, or distributing shucked oysters, you must follow the guidelines required by the National Shellfish Sanitation Program and the National Institute of Standards and Technology. .
Half shell oysters may only be sold by weight (excluding weight of shell) or by count.
The state health officer must approve shucked oyster containers. When packing shucked oysters in Louisiana, you must mark the containers with your certified number preceded by the letters ‘LA’ and also indicate the packing date with a code or the actual date.
For more information, a video presentation on the proper labeling of oyster sack volume is available HERE.
Tags / Dealer Reporting
If you are a dealer, you must keep the harvester’s tag affixed to each container of shellstock until the container is shipped or emptied for washing, grading, or packing. Retain all tags for at least 90 days.
There is a zero tolerance policy for untagged oyster containers or sacks—any untagged or improperly tagged container or sack will be considered to have been taken from polluted waters and deemed a health hazard.
Containers of shucked oysters must be dated and have the name and address of the original processor, shucker-packer or repacker, and the Louisiana certification number.
You must keep oysters in the container in which they were received until they are used, unless displaying them for retail sale. You may not mix oysters from different lots.
Both the harvester and the first certified dealer must complete the Harvester-Dealer Time / Temperature Log Sheet to document compliance with time to refrigeration requirements. The log sheet must be maintained for one year. Log sheets for the previous 15 days must be kept aboard harvest vessel.
Oyster Harvest Tags
If you are fishing white tag oysters (intended for raw, half-shell consumption) during March to November, you MAY NOT also possess oysters intended for shucking, post-harvest processing, relay, or bedding until all white tag (half-shell) oysters are offloaded (unless you follow refrigeration and time-temperature requirements for white tag (half-shell) oysters for all product on board).
If you are taking oysters from Louisiana state waters for sale, you must tag all of them with official oyster harvest tags purchased from LDWF. These tags are used to identify sacks and any other types of containers used to hold oysters while in their shells. If oysters are sacked or put into containers on the vessel, you must tag them appropriately prior to removing them from the vessel. Otherwise, you must tag oysters that are yet to be sacked or containerized immediately upon arrival at the dock prior to shipment