Louisiana collects an excise tax on all saltwater shrimp harvested from state waters as well as all shrimp imported into the state. Taxes apply as follows:
- 15 cents per barrel of 210 pounds of head-on, unpeeled shrimp
- 15 cents per barrel of 125 pounds of headless, unpeeled shrimp
- 15 cents per barrel of 75 pounds of headless, peeled shrimp
The first wholesale/retail dealer who receives the shrimp must pay this tax. For imported shrimp brought to cold storage, the dealer storing, brokering, or distributing the shrimp must pay the tax.
Taxes are deposited in Louisiana’s Conservation Fund and support LDWF’s Law Enforcement Division and its operations.