Release Date: 11/05/2008

For the second consecutive year, an Indiana native took home first place in the Louisiana Waterfowl Conservation Stamp Competition sponsored by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF).

Anthony Padgett, 42, of Noblesville, Ind., beat out 17 other competitors and was recognized at the Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission's Nov. 6 meeting as the 2009 winner. Timothy Turenne from Minnesota came in second for the second year in a row, and third place went to 2005 winner Edward Suthoff of Montana. Last year, Jeff Klinefelter of Indiana won the contest for the second time.

Padgett's painting of a Chesapeake Bay retriever gazing into the distance as a pair of male and female mallards fly above wetlands in the background will be featured on the 2009 Louisiana Duck Stamp.

"When I found out my painting took first place I was very excited," said Padgett. "I had a number of goals this year and I've already accomplished two of them with this award and winning the 2008 Ducks Unlimited International Artist of the Year."

Padgett also won the 2007 Illinois Pheasants Forever Print of the Year. Turenne previously won the 2009 Minnesota Salmon and Trout Stamp, 2006 Maryland Black Bear Conservation Stamp, 2007 Minnesota Turkey Stamp and the 2008 Colorado Habitat Stamp competitions. Suthoff won the 1993 Mississippi duck stamp contest, was chosen the 2004 and 2005 Artist of the Year at the Louisiana Wildlife Festival and designed the poster for the 2004 world championship duck-calling contest.

"The quantity and quality of the paintings submitted this year was great to see. We had 18 competitors this year and all of their work was worthy of being on the next Louisiana duck stamp," said LDWF Waterfowl Program Manager Larry Reynolds. "But there can only be one winner per year, and Padgett's painting will represent Louisiana well as the state's next duck stamp."

LDWF initiated the "Retrievers Save Game" series five years ago when it featured a black Labrador, because all of the waterfowl species were used in the first 16 years of the competition.  The contest rules stipulate that the retriever must be prominent in the design, which must also include live waterfowl selected by the artist.

The Louisiana Waterfowl Conservation Stamp program was established in 1988 by the Louisiana Legislature to generate revenue for conservation and enhancement of state wetlands and other worthy programs that benefit Louisiana's ducks and geese.  This program has generated over $10 million for wetland conservation in Louisiana since 1989, with over $500,000 from last year's competition alone. 

The 2009 stamp, featuring Padgett's work, is expected to go on sale June 1, 2009.  The artist will retain the original artwork and will have reproduction rights to the image for prints and other commodities after LDWF has used the image to produce the stamps.

Judges for the competition included Joe Herring, a retired former LDWF secretary and wildlife biologist from Baton Rouge; Tony Bernard, the 2007 duck stamp competition winner from Lafayette who is commissioned to paint the official portrait of Gov. Jindal; Dr. Frank Rohwer, professor of wildlife ecology at LSU and scientific director for Delta Waterfowl of Baton Rouge; Jennifer Young, owns and operates Y-Farms in Zachary where she breeds and trains retrievers; and Armond Schwing, the current state DU chairman from New Iberia.

For more information, contact Larry Reynolds at or 225-765-0456. 2008-325