Two Metairie Men and a Juvenile Charged with Alligator Violations

Release Date: 07/15/2011

 

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement Division agents cited two Louisiana men and a juvenile for alleged alligator violations in St. John Parish on July 13.

Agents cited Justin J. Pichon, 19, Jeffrey T. Hodgson, 19, and a juvenile, all of Metairie, for taking an alligator during a closed season and without alligator licenses.

Agents observed the two men and the juvenile on Shell Bank Bayou north of LaPlace load a gray looking tote into the back of their truck.  Agents then stopped the truck on Hwy. 51 where they found blood and chicken parts in the back of the truck.  The three subjects then admitted to the agents that they shot a 6-foot alligator after catching it on a hook and line and putting it in the gray tote.

The season for alligators varies, but normally runs the month of September.  In order to take alligators legally, an LDWF alligator license must be obtained with the LDWF issued alligator tags for a specified area.

Taking an alligator during a closed season brings a $400 to $950 fine, up to 120 days in jail, or both plus court costs.  Hunting an alligator without a license brings a $250 to $500 fine, up to 90 days in jail, or both plus court costs.  The three subjects also face a civil restitution charge for the value of the alligator up to $375.80.

Agents seized the alligator, boat and truck used in connection with the violations.  Agents involved in the case were Sgt. Davis Madere and Senior Agent William Boyd.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at aeinck@wlf.la.gov.