LDWF Agents Make Six Illegal Turkey Hunting Cases During Weekend

Release Date: 04/16/2013

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement Division agents made six illegal turkey hunting cases during the April 12-14 weekend.

On April 12, agents cited Michael A. Kowalski, 34, of Katy, Texas, in Webster Parish for obtaining a license by fraud, hunting turkey without non-resident basic and big game licenses, and hunting turkey without a non-resident turkey stamp.

Agents cited Stephen K. Breaux, 37, of Houma, in East Feliciana Parish on April 13 for hunting turkey over a baited area, with an electronic device and failing to comply with turkey tagging regulations.  Agents seized the electronic call.

Alton D. Cook, 44, of Denham Springs, and Shane M. Johnston, 19, of Walker, were cited in East Feliciana Parish on April 13 for hunting turkey over a baited area, possession of an illegally taken turkey and criminal trespassing.  Agents also cited Johnson for failing to comply with turkey tagging regulations.  Agents seized the shotgun Cook and Johnston used and the illegally harvested turkey.

On April 13, agents cited Ashtin J. Willis, 21 of Grosse Tete, for taking over the limit of turkeys with two gobblers in the same day and possession of an illegally taken turkey on the Sherburne Wildlife Management Area in Iberville Parish.

Agents cited Ryan E. Dowden, 22, of Deridder, for possessing a loaded gun in a vehicle and possession of a rifle during turkey season while on the Peason WMA on April 14.

According to the 2013 Turkey Regulations pamphlet, no person shall hunt or take turkeys by the aid of baiting or on or over a baited area.  Hunters are not allowed to place, expose, deposit or scatter corn, wheat or other grain, salt or other feed to lure turkeys to their hunting area.  Also, turkey hunters are required to possess basic hunting and big game licenses, Louisiana wild turkey permit and turkey tags.

Possession of an illegally taken turkey carries a $400 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Hunting turkeys over a baited area, taking over the legal limit, possession of rifle during turkey season, obtaining a license by fraud and hunting with an electronic device each brings a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail for each offense.  Criminal trespassing carries a $100 to $500 fine and up to 30 days in jail.

Failing to comply with turkey tagging regulations and hunting without non-resident basic hunting and big game licenses each carries a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail for each offense.  Failing to possess a turkey stamp brings a $50 fine and up to 15 days in jail.

LDWF agents involved in these cases are Lt. Will Roberts, Senior Agent Garrett Kimble, Senior Agent Carl Armstrong, Senior Agent Clay Marques, Senior Agent Bryant Coburn, Lt. Kenny Balkom, Lt. Curt Belton and Senior Agent Thomas J. Ashley.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or aeinck@wlf.la.gov.