BOAT REGISTRATION INCREASE TO BEGIN IN 2019

Release Date: 12/18/2018

The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Licensing Section advises all Louisiana boat owners that beginning January 1, 2019, motorboat registration will increase by $9 for each boating length category.  Motorboat registration is valid for a three-year period. 

Below is a table showing the fee increases by boat length.

 

Length

Old Fee

New Fee

Length

Old Fee

New Fee

14’ or less

$23

$32

27’ 1” - 28’ 0”

$53

$62

14’ 1” - 17’ 11”

$28

$37

28’ 1” - 29’ 0”

$55

$64

18’

$33

$42

29'1"-30'0"

$57

$66

18’ 1” - 19’ 0”

$35

$44

30’ 1” - 31’ 0”

$59

$68

19’ 1” - 20’ 0” 

$37

$46

31’ 1” - 32’ 0”

$61

$70

20’ 1” - 21’ 0”

$39

$48

32’ 1” - 33’ 0”

$63

$72

21’ 1” - 22’ 0”

$41

$50

33’ 1” - 34’ 0”

$65

$74

22’ 1” - 23' 0”

$43

$52

34’ 1” - 35’ 0”

$67

$76

23’ 1” - 24’ 0”

$45

$54

35’ 1” - 36’ 0”

$69

$78

24’ 1” - 25’ 0”

$47

$56

36’ 1” - 37’ 0”

$71

$80

25’ 1” - 26’ 0”

$49

$58

37’ 1” - 38’ 0”

$73

$82

26’ 1” - 27’ 0”

$51

$60

For each foot greater than 38’

Add $2 per foot

Add $2 per foot

 

The additional fees are a result of Act 698 of the 2018 Regular Legislative Session and will be dedicated to LDWF’s Aquatic Plant Control Fund and will be used to fight aquatic plants and invasive aquatic species across the state.

For additional information, please contact LDWF’s Licensing Section at 225-765-2898 or visit our website at www.wlf.la.gov.