Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents arrested a Pierre Part man on Oct. 17 in Assumption Parish for alleged hunting violations as well as criminal charges for being a felon in possession of a firearm.
Elray Domingue, 37, was stopped by agents to perform a license and limit check after being alerted to hunting in a wooded area near a subdivision. They allegedly discovered that he was in possession of three squirrels and a 12-gauge shotgun that was capable of holding more than three shotgun shells. He was also unable to produce a resident hunting license.
As the agents were escorting Domingue from the woods, he bolted and the agents gave chase. When they caught Domingue, he offered resistance before the agents could control and arrest him.
A subsequent search resulted in the discovery of a bottle with what appeared to be marijuana cigarettes on Domingue. A criminal history check revealed that Domingue had a previous felony conviction, which prohibits him from possessing a firearm.
Domingue was booked into the Assumption Parish Jail for possession of a firearm by a convicted felon, two counts of resisting arrest, possession of marijuana, criminal trespass, hunting with an unplugged gun and hunting without a resident hunting license. Domingues shotgun was seized and is being held for evidence. The squirrels were donated to charity. The container of suspected marijuana was seized and sent to the Louisiana State Police Crime Lab in Baton Rouge for chemical analysis.
The penalty for being a felon in possession of a firearm is between a 10-15 year jail sentence without the possibility of probation, parole or suspended sentence, and with a fine between $1,000-$5,000. The maximum penalties for resisting arrest are a fine $500 or six months in jail or both. The maximum penalties for possession of marijuana are a fine of $500 or six months in jail or both. The penalty for hunting with an unplugged shotgun is a fine between $250-$500 or up to 90 days in jail or both plus court costs. Hunting without a resident hunting license is a Class 1 offense and the fine is $50. The penalty for criminal trespass is a fine up to $500
Agents involved in this case were Sr. Agent Winston Michel and Agent Robert Turner.
EDITORS: For more information, contact Lt. Col. Keith LaCaze at 225-765-2469 or firstname.lastname@example.org .