Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents cited a Belle Chase man for allegedly driving or operating a vessel while intoxicated (DWI) on Aug. 27.
Agents performed a boating safety inspection of a personal watercraft (PWC) being operated by Kevin Hoots, 40, in the Intracoastal Waterway near Lafitte. During the inspection, agents detected an odor of an alcoholic beverage on Hoots' breath.
During the standard field sobriety test, agents determined Hoots was impaired. Hoots also registered a blood alcohol content over the legal limit of .08 after agreeing to take a Breathalyzer test. Agents booked Hoots into the Gretna Correctional Facility for a first offense DWI.
First offense DWI brings a fine between $300 and $1,000, up to six months in jail or both.
Alcohol can impair a boater’s judgment, balance, vision and reaction time. It can increase fatigue and susceptibility to the effects of cold-water immersion. Sun, wind, noise, vibration and motion intensify the side effects of alcohol, drugs and some prescription medications.
In Louisiana, a DWI on the water carries the same penalties and fines as on the road and includes jail time, fines and loss of driving and boating operator privileges. Also, each offense of operating a vehicle or vessel while intoxicated counts toward the total number of DWI crimes whether they happened on the water or road.
Agents participating in the case were Senior Agent Doug Danna and Agent Jared Taylor.
For more information, contact Adam Einck at firstname.lastname@example.org .