This Section within the Enforcement Division specializes in boating crash incidents, marine events, and marine theft.
1. Boating Crash Incidents
An operator involved in a boating crash, collision or other casualty must stop his or her vessel immediately at the scene of the incident. The operator must also render assistance to injured persons or attempt to minimize any danger caused by the incident unless doing so would create serious danger to his own vessel, crew, and passengers.
The operator must give his or her name, address, and the identifying number of his or her vessel in writing to anyone injured from the incident and to the owner of any damaged property.
The operator of a vessel involved in a collision, crash, or other casualty involving a recreational vessel and resulting in death or injury to a person, disappearance of a person from a vessel, property damage in excess of five hundred dollars ($500), or complete loss of a vessel must give notice of the incident immediately, by the most prompt means of communication, to the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Law Enforcement Division (LDWF/LED), the nearest law enforcement agency, or to state police. The number to report an incident to LDWF/LED is 1-800-442-2511.
The driver of any vessel involved in a collision, crash, or other casualty as described previously must forward a department-approved incident report form to LDWF/LED, within five days after the incident.
Reports must be submitted to the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, Boating Safety & Waterway Enforcement, P.O. Box 98000, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70898-9000.
Reports in other cases must be submitted within 5 days.
2. MARINE EVENTS
Any time there is any marine event on any state-controlled waterway the sponsor of the event must submit an application at least thirty days prior to the event to the Boating Law Administrator for approval. Click here for the marine event permit form . There is no fee for this service. All applications should be sent to Marine Investigations, ATTENTION: Marine Events, P.O. Box 98000, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70898-9000.
3. MARINE THEFT
STEPS FOR REPORTING A MARINE THEFT:
- Local and state police with correct information, registration number, hull ID number, or serial number of motor
- Notify your registration authority
- Notify Harbormaster
- Notify your insurance company
- Contact other marinas and dealers
For more information, please email questions to Sergeant Clay Marques at firstname.lastname@example.org .