Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement Division agents cited 11 people for alleged turkey hunting violations during the opening weekend of the 2014 turkey hunting season.
The 11 cases were made in West Feliciana, Jackson, Vernon, Natchitoches and Tangipahoa parishes on March 22 and 23.
Agents cited Jim Bailey, 73, Mathew Lenard, 37, Jimmy Lenard, 67, and Harvey Stover, 56, all of West Monroe, for hunting turkeys over a baited area on March 22 in Jackson Parish.
Also on March 22, agents cited Mark Granger, 54, of Hackberry, for failing to comply with turkey tagging regulations in Vernon Parish.
Agents cited Brock Herring, 29, of Camden, Ark., for hunting turkeys with an unplugged gun on March 22 in Claiborne Parish.
Agents cited Jerry Green, 44, of Slagle, for hunting turkeys over a baited area and not possessing turkey tags on March 22 in Vernon Parish.
In West Feliciana Parish, agents cited Frank Gonzales, 58, of St. Francisville, for hunting turkeys over a baited area on March 22.
On March 23, agents cited Baylor Blanchard, 21, of Amite, Russel Thompson, III, 32, of Amite, and John Bel, 20, of Arcolo, for hunting turkeys over a baited area in Tangipahoa Parish. Agents also cited Bel for hunting without a basic hunting license, without a big game license, without a turkey stamp and failing to comply with turkey tag requirements.
According to the 2014 Turkey Regulations pamphlet, no person shall hunt or take turkeys by the aid of baiting or on or over a baited area. Hunters are not allowed to place, expose, deposit or scatter corn, wheat or other grain, salt or other feed to lure turkeys to their hunting area.
Also, turkey hunters are required to possess Louisiana basic hunting and big game licenses, Louisiana wild turkey permit and turkey tags. In addition, shotguns capable of holding over three shells must be plugged with a one piece filler.
Hunting turkeys over a baited area and hunting without an unplugged gun each bring a $250 to $500 fine and up to 90 days in jail for each offense. Failing to comply with turkey tagging regulations carries a $100 to $350 fine and up to 60 days in jail. Not possessing a basic hunting license, big game license and turkey stamp brings a $50 fine and up to 15 days in jail for each offense.
Agents participating in the cases are Lt. Kenneth Balkom, Senior Agent Bryant Coburn, Sgt. Wesley Duck, Senior Agent Kurt Hatten, Senior Agent Russell Brack, Sgt. Billy Shoemaker, Senior Agent Andy Mitchell, Sgt. Eric Droddy, Senior Agent Scotty Delaney, Lt. Will Roberts, Sgt. Guy Adams, Sgt. Carl Armstrong, Sgt. Toby Miller, Senior Agent Brody Roberts and Senior Agent Lee Davis.
For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or firstname.lastname@example.org .