(April 10, 2014) The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries announced today that it will modify the Louisiana weekend-only red snapper season to include weekdays beginning on Monday, April 14, 2014, at 12:01 a.m. until further notice.
The “Louisiana-only” season
The bag and possession limit for the state season is two fish per person at a 16-inch minimum total length.
The Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Commission gave LDWF Secretary Robert Barham the authority to modify red snapper recreational seasons and daily harvest limits in 2013.
“After reviewing what our biologists expect Louisiana’s recreational red snapper landings to be this year, and the recent action taken by the Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council to have a very short federal season, I have decided to support our anglers and the associated fishing industry by opening state waters 365 days until further notice,” stated Secretary Barham. “The Gulf Council’s action is clear evidence that their process is broken and they give no consideration to the needs of individual states. For two years, I have been trying to persuade the Gulf Council to move forward with regional management, allowing the states flexibility in management by empowering our anglers and fishing industry to decide how they want red snapper managed. That hasn’t happened.”
The Louisiana Gulfward Boundary
In June 2012, the Commission took action to extend Louisiana state waters from three miles offshore to three marine leagues, or approximately 9 nautical miles.
LDWF officials encourage fishermen to use caution and their own personal judgment when fishing beyond the three-mile boundary that is currently recognized as federal waters, as federal agents will most likely continue to enforce federal law. Until the U.S. Congress confirms Louisiana’s action, the battle will continue over Louisiana’s state water boundary.
Recreational Offshore Landing Permit
The Department reminds anglers that a Recreational Offshore Landing Permit is required in order to possess certain species, including red snapper. Anglers may obtain or renew the permit, free of charge at http://rolp.wlf.la.gov . Anglers may renew their permits up to 30 days prior to expiration.
The permit is required for any angler possessing tuna, billfish, swordfish, amberjack, grouper, snapper, hind, wahoo, cobia and dolphin, except those fishing on a paid-for-hire trip where the captain holds a permit.
Updating Your Contact Information
As the Department continues to move forward with the Louisiana Recreational Creel Survey (LA Creel), a new survey that provides real-time data collection and the best data available to fishery managers, we encourage anglers to verify and update their license information in our database. Simple instructions are available at http://www.wlf.louisiana.gov/news/37374 .
The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries is charged with managing and protecting Louisiana’s abundant natural resources. For more information, visit us at www.wlf.louisiana.gov , on Facebook at www.facebook.com/ldwffb  or follow us on Twitter @LDWF.
For press inquires, contact Ashley Wethey at firstname.lastname@example.org  or (504) 286-8733.