Please click here  to register for classes
or view class and field day schedules.
Replacement Hunter & Bowhunter Education Card
If you have lost your hunter or bowhunter education certification card, you can print a temporary card and/or request a duplicate card to be sent by mail and print a temporary replacement card.
Why Hunter Education?
Hunter Education provides a foundation for safe and responsible hunting. Due to hunter education, hunting accidents have dropped significantly. Each year some 18,000 individuals graduate from a hunter education course in
Reduce hunting accidents
Improve the image of hunting through ethical and responsible conduct
Promote the shooting sports
What Is Taught In A Hunter Education Course?
Major subjects cover are:
Ethics and responsibility, wildlife management and conservation, understanding firearms and ammunition, safe firearms handling and personal safety in the outdoors. Students are also required to participate in a live fire exercise and successfully complete a written exam.
Who Is Required To Take The Hunter Education Course?
Act 149 of the 1984 Louisiana Legislature enacted a mandatory education requirement for anyone born on or after September 1, 1969. All hunters born on or after this date must successfully complete the course in order to hunt in the State of
- EXCEPT a person who has not completed a hunter education course may be issued a license with the restriction that they are accompanied by, and under the direct supervision of a person who was born before Sept. 1, 1969, and has a valid hunting license or who is 18 years of age or older and has proof of successful completion of a hunter education course approved by the LDWF.
- EXCEPT a person younger that 16 years of age may hunt without such certificate if they are accompanied by, and under the direct supervision, of a person who was born before Sept. 1, 1969, and has a valid hunting license or who is 18 years of age or older and has proof of successful completion of a hunter education course approved by the LDWF.
- "Direct Supervision" means that a person being supervised shall be within normal audible voice proximity and in direct line of sight of the supervising adult at all times while hunting.
- EXCEPT this requirement shall not apply to any active or veteran member of the United States armed services or any current POST-certified law enforcement officer who may be issued a hunter education exemption. Application for this exemption may be filed at the LDWF office in Baton Rouge (225-765-2932) or any regional field office.
Who Can Participate?
Anyone can participate in the basic student course, but only those persons 10 years of age or older are eligible for certification. Upon successful completion of the course, students receive a Louisiana Hunter Education Certification Card that is recognized by all states and provinces that require hunter education.
How Much Does The Course Cost?
There is no charge to attend a standard or field day hunter education course. There is a $15.00 fee to use the on-line version of the home study course.
How Do I Take A Hunter Education Course?
There are two ways to take a hunter education course:
CLASSROOM COURSE - This method requires a student to attend 10 hours of instructions provided by a certified hunter education instructor.
HOME STUDY - This method allows a student to take a hunter education course by studying the course material either on the internet or by CD-ROM at the students convenience. To complete the process students are required to attend a FIELD DAY taught by a certified instructor.
Who teaches hunter education courses?
Courses are taught by Hunter Education staff and volunteer instructors. The majority of courses are taught by volunteers recruited from schools, law enforcement agencies, sporting groups, and many other conservation-minded organizations.
Do I Need Bowhunter Education?
Bowhunter Education courses are offered through the LDWF. Although not mandatory in the State of Louisiana this course does provide a bowhunter with knowledge such as shot placement, shot selection, animal recovery and other important details that will make you a more competent bowhunter. In addition, some states do require bowhunter education before bowhunting in that state. Check regulations before you hunt.
Where are hunter education courses offered?
The LDWF web site provides a listing of both standard and home study courses. Follow the links show below.