SBDP/2013 Licensed#:

M.O/CASHIER CHECK#:

SPECIAL BAIT DEALER’S PERMIT APPLICATION
Title 76:329
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
Licensing Section
P. O. Box 14796
Baton Rouge, LA 70898
225-765-2898

NAME OF BUSINESS:

OWNER OF BUSINESS: FEDERAL TAX ID #:
MAILING ADDRESS:

PHYSICAL ADDRESS:

DAYTIME PHONE: VESSEL REGISTRATION #:

List Name(s) of Commercial Fisherman/Boat Captain(s) and Their Commercial Fisherman’s License Number:

FEES: $1000 bond and $110 permit fee (money order or cashier’s check only).

Certification/Disclaimer

I am a bona fide Bait Dealer and I_understand the rules and provisions of the Special Bait Dealers Permit. I am prepared
to meet the terms of the permit, and if I violate any of the terms of the permit, the permit will be revoked and my $1,000 bond will
be forfeited.

I understand that by applying for and accepting a permit issued by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
(LDWF), I am being allowed to engage in an activity which would otherwise be prohibited by law. I understand that the permit is
not a license and confers no property right upon me. I agree to abide by all State and Federal fish and wildlife laws and
regulations, and by all other terms and conditions of this permit. I understand that the permit for which I am applying may be
suspended, canceled or revoked at any time by the LDWEF. I agree to immediately surrender the permit issued to me upon demand
made upon me by any authorized employee of the LDWEF. I understand and agree that any permit issued to me by the LDWF is in
the nature of a privilege which is being voluntarily extended to me by the Department and the failure on my part to cooperate fully
and completely with the Department or its employees can result in the loss of the privilege conferred and the denial of future
requests for permits. By accepting this permit, I evidence my agreement to be bound by all conditions and stipulations set forth

herein.

I, (we) declare under the penalties in the Louisiana statues that to be the best of my knowledge and belief that
all matters stated herein are true and correct. Any misrepresentation of facts supplied to this office for the
purpose of obtaining a permit will subject the applicant to criminal charges as provided by law.

Signature: Date:




§329. Special Bait Dealer's Permit

A. Policy. The special bait dealer's permit is
intended solely for the benefit of the recreational
fishing public which desires to use live shrimp and
live croaker as bait during the closed shrimp seasons.
Its purpose is to allow the uninterrupted operation of
those commercial establishments which sell live bait
shrimp and live croaker to the fishing public during
the closed shrimp seasons. The permit is not intended
for the direct use of recreational fishermen, charter
boats, commercial fishermen who sell dead shrimp or
croaker, or for any other entity which may wish to
catch shrimp or croaker for their own use during the
closed shrimp seasons.

B. Application

1. Applicants wishing to sell live shrimp or
live croaker harvested from Louisiana waters during
closed shrimp season must apply for a special bait
dealer permit from the department for a fee of
$110.00.

2. The special bait dealer’s permit shall be
valid for one year beginning January 1 and ending
December 31 of that same calendar year. The permit
may be purchased at any time during the year for the
current permit year and beginning November 15 for
the immediately following permit year.

3. Applications will be accepted only from the
owner of an onshore business which sells or plans to
sell live shrimp or live croaker to recreational
fisherman.

4. Applicant shall be responsible for acquiring
and possessing all proper licenses including the
wholesale/retail seafood dealers license.

5. Any person convicted of any class three or
greater wildlife or fisheries violation within the
previous three years prior to the date of application
shall not qualify to obtain a special bait dealer’s
permit or be onboard any vessel engaged in permitted
activities.

6. Applicant must post a $1,000 cash bond
before the permit is issued. This bond will be
forfeited if the permittee, his employee, or his
contractor violates any provision of the rules and
regulations concerning the special bait dealer's permit
or if the permittee, his employee, or his contractor
violates any commercial fishing law or regulation
while operating under the permit.

7. All new applications shall require an
inspection by the department of their onshore facility
and vessel prior to permit being issued. Subsequent
inspections may be required at renewal. Inspection

requirements shall verify applicant is operating a
commercial establishment which sells live shrimp or
live croakers to the fishing public for use as bait and
shall include:

a. onshore facility able to maintain live
shrimp or live croakers;

b. onshore facilities and vessel tanks must
have provisions for aeration and/or circulation of the
water in which live shrimp or live croakers are held,

c. onshore facility holding tanks must have a
minimal combined capacity of 300 gallons. Tanks
having less than 30 gallon capacity will not be
included in combined on shore facility capacity;

d. vessel tanks must be carried on or built
into the vessel and have a minimum of one
compartment or tank with a minimum capacity of 30
gallons;

e. notice to the public must be posted that
live bait is available.

8. Only the vessel and those commercial
fishermen specified at the time of application shall
operate under the permit. Amendments to vessel or
commercial fishermen listed under the permit must
be submitted to the department and approved before
the new vessel or commercial fisherman can operate
under the permit. The permit is not transferable to
any other person or vessel. The entire original permit
must be carried on the vessel while in operation.

C. Operations

1. The entire original permit must be in the
possession of the commercial fisherman while
operating under the conditions of the permit. Only the
vessel and those commercial fisherman specified at
the time of application shall operate under the permit.
No other vessel or commercial fisherman shall be
used under this permit.

2. Live wells, aeration tanks, and other vessel
facilities to maintain live shrimp or croaker must be
carried on or built into this vessel while operating
under the conditions of the permit.

3. No person shall transfer any shrimp or
croaker taken under a permit from one vessel to
another unless both vessels are permitted under the
same wholesale/retail seafood dealer, and the captain
of the harvesting vessel has signed a trip ticket for the
harvested bait, and the bait is then transported
directly to the wholesale/retail seafood dealer under
which both vessels are operating; upon receiving the
harvested bait the dealer shall complete the trip
ticket.



4. While operating under the conditions of the
permit, no shrimp or croaker may be sold from the
vessel to anyone other than the licensed
wholesale/retail seafood dealer listed on the permit
during the closed shrimp seasons.

5. Signs which identify the vessel as working
under the special bait dealer's permit shall be posted
on the vessel. These signs shall be visible from either
side of the vessel and from the air; the word "BAIT"
and the permit number shall be placed on these signs
in letters at least 12 inches high.

6. No more than two gallons of dead shrimp or
croaker or combination thereof may be aboard the
vessel while it is operating under the permit. All dead
shrimp or croaker or combination thereof in excess of
two gallons must be immediately returned to the
water. Shrimp or croaker dying in onshore holding
facilities may be sold for bait use only.

7. Permitted gear is limited to one trawl not to
exceed 25 feet along the cork line 33 feet along the
lead line or two skimmer nets having an individual
net frame size not more than 16 feet measured
horizontally or 12 feet measured vertically or 20 feet
measured diagonally. These are the only commercial
fishing gears which can be used or carried aboard the
permitted vessel while the vessel is operating under
the permit; no other commercial fishing gear other
than unserviceable crab traps as described in R.S.
56:322(G) may be on the vessel when it is being used
under the permit.

8. Bait shrimp or croaker may be taken only
from official sunrise to official sunset; however, the
department at its discretion, may designate the areas
and hours of night time operations under the permit
provided permitted vessels are equipped with a
working vessel monitoring system as described in
LAC 76:VIL.371.

9. Each time the permit is used the permittee
must notify the department by contacting the
Communications Section on the designated toll free
telephone number provided on the permit and
recording the confirmation number received. Before
the vessel departs the dock under the permit, the
department must be advised of the time of departure
and the sub-basin code corresponding to the
department’s trip ticket sub-basin map in which
trawling or skimming will take place; immediately
after the permitted vessel returns to the dock the
department must be notified of the time of return by
contacting the Communications Section on the
designated toll free telephone number provided on
the permit.

10. The permittee shall maintain an up-to-date
record of the activities conducted under the permit on
forms provided by the department for that purpose.
These records shall be kept onboard the vessel and
made available for inspection by agents of the
department upon request by said agents at any time
and shall include the permittee’s name and permit
number, date, departure time, fishing location, gear
used, confirmation number, return time, and number
of live shrimp or live croaker harvested. All
applicable record information shall be completed
before fishing operations begin. In addition, any
agent of the department shall be allowed to make an
onsite inspection of any facilities operating under the
permit, at any time. Nothing herein this Section shall
exempt the permittee from trip ticket reporting
requirements as provided for in R.S. 56:306.4.

D. Penalties

1. No person shall violate any provision of this
Section. Violations of any provision of this Section
shall constitute a class 4 violation as defined in R.S.
56:34.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
LAR.S. 56:326.3 and 56:497(C).

HISTORICALNOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries, and Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission, LR 3:210 (April, 1977), amended LR 15:867
(October, 1989), LR 19:215 (February, 1993), LR 23:86
(January, 1997), LR 33:864 (May 2007), LR 36:77
(January 2010), LR 38:3250 (December 2012).



§371.  Vessel Monitoring System (VMS)
Requirements

A. The following provision regarding VMS shall
be applicable to all provisions of law requiring the
use of VMS except where required by R.S. 56:433.1
and LAC 76:VIL.525.

1. The vessel must have onboard a fully
operational and approved VMS Device. Approved
devices are those devices approved by NOAA
Fisheries Service or the secretary of the Louisiana
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) for
fisheries in the Gulf of Mexico Reef Fish fishery and
which meet the minimum performance criteria
specified in Paragraph 2 of this Subsection. In the
event that a VMS device is removed from the list of
approved devices, vessel owners who installed an
approved VMS prior to approval of any revised list
will be considered in compliance with requirements
of this Paragraph, unless otherwise notified by the
LDWE.

2.  Minimum VMS Performance Criteria. Basic
required features of the VMS are as follows.

a. The VMS shall be satellite-based and
tamper proof, i.e., shall not permit the input of false
positions; furthermore, satellite selection must be
automatic to provide an optimal fix and shall not be
capable of being manually overridden.

b. The VMS shall be fully automatic and
operational at all times, regardless of weather and
environmental conditions.

c. The VMS shall be fully operable and
capable of tracking the vessel in all of Louisiana
coastal waters and throughout the Gulf of Mexico.

d.  The VMS shall be capable of transmitting
and  storing information including  vessel
identification, date, time and latitude/longitude.

e. The VMS unit shall make all required
transmissions to a designated and approved VMS
vendor who shall be responsible for monitoring the
vessel and reporting information to the LDWF.

f.  The VMS shall provide accurate position
transmissions every half-hour, except for those
vessels operating solely under the out-of-state
landing permit mentioned in Paragraph 3 that require
accurate position transmissions every hour, every day
of the year, during required monitoring period. In
addition, the VMS shall allow polling of individual
vessels or any set of vessels at any time and permit
those monitoring the vessel to receive position
reports in real time. For the purposes of this
specification, real time shall constitute data that

reflect a delay of 15 minutes or less between the
displayed information and the vessel’s actual
position.

g. The VMS vendor shall be capable of
transmitting position data to a LDWF designated
computer system via a modem at a minimum speed
of 9600 baud. Transmission shall be in a file format
acceptable to the LDWF. Such transmission must be
made at any time upon demand of the LDWF.

h. The VMS vendor shall be capable of
archiving vessel position histories for a minimum of
three months, as transmitted by the VMS unit, and
provide transmissions to the LDWF of specified
portions of archived data in response to LDWF
requests in a variety of media (tape, compact disc,
etc.) as specified by the LDWF.

3. Operating Requirements. Except as provided
in Paragraph 4 (power down exemption) of this
Subsection, or unless otherwise required by law, all
required VMS units must transmit a signal indicating
the vessel’s accurate position at least every half hour,
24 hours a day, throughout the year. However, those
vessels operating solely under the out-of-state
landing permit shall transmit a signal indicating the
vessel’s accurate position at least every hour, 24
hours a day throughout the year.

4. Power Down Exemption. Any vessel
required to have on board a fully operational VMS
unit at all times, as specified in Paragraph 3 of this
Subsection, is exempt from this requirement
provided:

a. the vessel will be continuously out of the
water for more than 72 consecutive hours; and

b. a valid letter of exemption obtained
pursuant to Subparagraph 5.a of the Subsection has
been issued to the vessel and is on board the vessel is
in compliance with all conditions and requirements of
said letter.

5. Letter of Exemption

a. Application. A vessel owner may apply
for a letter of exemption from the operating
requirements specified in Paragraph 3 of this
Subsection for his/her vessel by sending a written
request to the LDWF and providing the following:
Sufficient information to determine that the vessel
will be out of the water for more than 72 continuous
hours; the location of the vessel during the time an
exemption is sought; and the exact time period for
which an exemption is needed (i.e., the time the VMS
will be turned off and turned on again).



b. Issuance. Upon receipt of an application,
the LDWF may issue a letter of exemption to the
vessel if it is determined that the vessel owner
provided sufficient information as required under
Subparagraph 5.a of this Subsection and that the
issuance of the letter of exemption will not jeopardize
accurate monitoring of the vessel's position. Upon
written request, the LDWF may change the time
period for which the exemption was granted.

6. Presumption. If a VMS unit fails to transmit
the required signal of a vessel's position, the vessel
shall be deemed to have incurred a VMS violation,
for as long as the unit fails to transmit a signal, unless
a preponderance of evidence shows that the failure to
transmit was due to an unavoidable malfunction, or
disruption of the transmission that occurred while the
vessel was declared out of the fishery, as applicable,
or was not at sea.

7. Replacement. Should a VMS unit require
replacement, a vessel owner must submit
documentation to the LDWF Law Enforcement
Division Headquarters VMS coordinator, within 3
days of installation and prior to the vessel's next trip,
verifying that the new VMS unit is an operational,
approved system as described in this Section.

8. Access. All vessel owners shall allow the
LDWF, and their authorized wildlife enforcement
agents or designees access to the vessel's VMS unit
and data, if applicable, and location data obtained
from its VMS unit, if required, at the time of or after
its transmission to the vendor or receiver, as the case
may be.

9. Tampering. Tampering with a VMS, a VMS
unit, or a VMS signal, is prohibited. Tampering
includes any activity that is likely to affect the unit's
ability to operate properly, signal, or accuracy
compute the vessel's position fix.

10. Violation. Failure to abide by any regulation
set forth regarding the use or operation of VMS, or
failure to have VMS when required shall be a
violation of the Louisiana Revised Statutes which
mandates VMS and requirements of probation where
applicable. All fish taken or possessed by a person in
violation of these rules, and who is identified on his
commercial license or permit as required to be VMS
monitored, shall be deemed illegally taken and
possessed. The provisions of this Section do not
exempt any person from any other laws, rules,
regulation, and license requirements for this or other
jurisdictions. Violations of this Section shall
constitute a violation of the Section of law requiring
the use of VMS.

11. All costs and monthly fees associated with
the installation, operation and monitoring of any
VMS system in accordance with these rules shall be
the responsibility of the person required to be
monitored and shall be paid by him directly to the
approved VMS supplier and monitoring facilitator.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with
R.S. 56:424, R.S. 56:424.1, R.S. 56:495.1, R.S. 56:497.1,
and R.S. 56:433.1.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department
of Wildlife and Fisheries, Wildlife and Fisheries
Commission, LR 34:888 (May 2008), amended LR
38:1997 (August 2012).
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