Boating

Region 7 Boating Course

Date: 
Saturday, September 26, 2015
Address: 

Cabellas
2200 W Cabela's Pkwy
Gonzales, LA 70737

City: 
Gonzales
Notes: 

9:00 a.m- 5:30 p.m. Call (225) 765-2999 to pre-register.

Boating Class Region 4

Date: 
Monday, November 9, 2015 - Tuesday, November 10, 2015
Address: 

1132 Sherburne Road Lottie, LA
70756, Sherburne, LA 70756

City: 
Krotz Springs
Notes: 

5:00 p.m- 9:00 p.m

Boating Class Region 4

Date: 
Saturday, October 17, 2015
Address: 

1132 Sherburne Road Lottie, LA
70756, Sherburne, LA 70756

City: 
Krotz Springs
Notes: 

8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Boating Class Region 4

Date: 
Saturday, September 19, 2015
Address: 

1132 Sherburne Road Lottie, LA
70756, Sherburne, LA 70756

City: 
Krotz Springs
Notes: 

8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Boating Class Region 4

Date: 
Saturday, August 22, 2015
Address: 

1132 Sherburne Road Lottie, La
70756, Sherburne, La 70756

City: 
Krotz Springs
Notes: 

5:00 p.m- 9:00 p.m

Boating Class Region 4

Date: 
Saturday, July 11, 2015
Address: 

1132 Sherburne Road Lottie, La
70756, Sherburne, La 70756

City: 
Krotz Springs
Notes: 

8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

LDWF Cites Two Men for Operating Vessel with Suspended Driver’s License

Release Date: 12/31/2014

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries Enforcement Division agents made two alleged operating a vessel with a suspended driving license during the past month in Jefferson and Orleans Parish.

On Dec. 7 at 8:50 p.m. in Bayou Segnette agents cited Derrick J. Margiotta, 25, of Westwego for operating a vessel with a suspended driving license, no running lights, no possession of a mandatory boating safety education card, expired vessel registration, and failing to change ownership of the vessel to himself within 45 days of purchase.

On Nov. 24, agents cited Patrick C. Seiner, 23, of Baton Rouge, in Chef Menteur Pass for operating a vessel with a suspended driving license.

Both Seiner and Margiotta had their driving privileges suspended for previous Driving While Under the Influence (DWI) convictions.

Anyone cited for a DWI on the water or on the road will lose his or her driver's license and boating privileges for the specified time ordered by the judge in the case.  Also, each offense of operating a vehicle or vessel while intoxicated counts toward the total number of DWI crimes whether they happened on the water or road.

The LDWF Boating Safety Program teaches a mandatory boating safety education course for anybody born after Jan. 1, 1984 who operates a vessel in excess of 10 horsepower.  For a schedule of courses, visit www.wlf.louisiana.gov/boating.

Operating a vessel while under license suspension brings a $900 to $950 fine and up to 120 days in jail.  Operating a vessel at night with no running lights, no possession of the boating education card, expired vessel registration and failing to change ownership of the vessel each carry up to a $50 fine and 15 days in jail.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or aeinck@wlf.la.gov.

LDWF Agents Arrest Ascension Parish Man for Boating Hit and Run

Release Date: 08/15/2014

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement Division agents arrested an Ascension Parish man this morning, Aug. 15, for his alleged involvement in a boating hit and run.

Agents arrested Thomas J. Amorello, 32, of the St. Amant area, for felony hit and run, negligent injury and reckless operation of a vessel and booked him into the Livingston Parish Jail.

Agents began investigating a hit and run between two ski boats on the Amite River Diversion Canal on July 26 in Livingston Parish.  The incident happened around 8:30 p.m. when a ski boat was rear ended and ran over by another ski boat allegedly operated by Amorello.  The three passengers of the boat that was run over were treated for minor injuries and released.

Using eyewitness accounts of the description of a ski boat that sped through a no wake zone just north of where the hit and run took place near the Tiki Hut, agents were able to identify and track down Amorello’s boat on July 28 at his residence.  Amorello’s boat matched the description and also had damage to the hull.

Agents seized Amorello’s boat and the victim’s boat and brought them to the Louisiana State Police Crime Lab for further investigation.  The crime lab was able to make a direct match between the damage sustained on both vessels and determined that Amorello’s ski boat was involved in the hit and run.

Felony hit and run brings up to a $5,000 fine and 10 years in jail.  Negligent injury carries up to a $500 fine and six months in jail.  Reckless operation brings up to a $200 fine and 90 days in jail.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or aeinck@wlf.la.gov.

LDWF Agents Investigating Fatal Boat Incident on Amite River

Release Date: 07/02/2014

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) Enforcement Division agents are investigating a fatal boating incident on the Amite River in Livingston Parish on July 1.

LDWF agents were notified about a single vessel incident around 6:30 p.m. involving a husband and wife of Livingston Parish.

It is believed at this time that the 17 foot surface drive vessel operated by Richard Ledoux, 58, hit a tree near the bank in the Killian area near Pete’s Landing.  The collision with the tree resulted in the death of Deborah Ledoux, 59, and injuries for Richard.

Richard was airlifted to the Our Lady of the Lake Hospital in Baton Rouge for treatment.  It is not suspected that his injuries are life threatening at this time.

Deborah's body was turned over to the Livingston Parish Coroner’s Office.  An autopsy will be performed to determine a cause of death.

LDWF will be the lead investigative agency for this fatal boating incident.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at 225-765-2465 or aeinck@wlf.la.gov.

164 Boaters Certified During "Boating Education Lagniappe Day"

Release Date: 05/13/2014

The Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) certified 164 boaters statewide after their fourth annual "Boating Education Lagniappe Day" on May 10.

Boating Education Lagniappe Day was at eight locations across the state and consisted of the National Association of Safe Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) boating education course, food and drinks, giveaways and door prizes all free of charge to the public.

The NASBLA safe boating certification is mandatory for anybody born after Jan. 1, 1984 who wants to operate a motorboat in excess of 10 horsepower.

The NASBLA approved course includes information on choosing a boat, classification, hulls, motors, legal requirements and equipment requirements.  The course also covers many navigation rules and charts, trailering, sailboats, canoeing, personal watercraft and more.  Each student received that completed the course was issued a vessel operators certification card.

The eight locations consisted of:

Bossier Parish
Academy Sports and Outdoors
Sponsors: Academy Sports and Outdoors, Bayou Outdoor Supercenter of Bossier City, H&W Marine of Bossier City and O’Reilly Auto Parts.

Ouachita Parish
Academy Sports and Outdoors
Sponsors: Academy Sports and Outdoors, Louisiana Wildlife Agents Association and Pizza Hut.

Rapides Parish
Academy Sports and Outdoors
Sponsors: Academy Sports and Outdoors and the Louisiana Wildlife Agents Association.

St. Landry Parish
St. Landry Lumber
Sponsors: Raising Canes of Opelousas, Acadiana Outfitters of Iberia, Walmart of Eunice and St. Landry Lumber of Opelousas.

Calcasieu Parish
Lake Charles Civic Center
Sponsors: Calcasieu Chapter Whitetails Unlimited.

Lafourche Parish
Lafourche Parish Sheriff’s Office Rifle Range
Sponsors: Louisiana Wildlife Agents Association and Kief's Hardware Inc. of Cutoff.

Ascension Parish
Cabellas
Sponsors: Cabela’s and Louisiana Waterway Safety Inc.

St. Tammany Parish
Madisonville Branch of St. Tammany Parish Public Library
Sponsors: Louisiana Wildlife Agents Association.

For more information on boating regulations and safety, please visit www.wlf.louisiana.gov/boating.  For more information on boating education courses, please visit www.wlf.louisiana.gov/boating/courses.

Studies have shown that states with a mandatory boating education program have fewer boating incidents that result in fatalities than states that have no boating education program.  States with a boating education program for more than 20 years had 3.67 fatalities per 100,000 registered boats, and states with no boating education program had 6.61 fatalities per 100,000 boats.

LDWF initiated the state's boating education program in 2003 and has certified over 50,000 boaters during that time.

For more information, contact Adam Einck at aeinck@wlf.la.gov or 225-765-2465.

Syndicate content