
STATE OF LOUISIANA DEPARTMENT OF WILDLIFE AND FISHERIES 

CARES ACT PROGRAM GUIDELINES 

 

PLEASE READ THOROUGHLY PRIOR TO SUBMITTING AN APPLICATION 

 

This program begins at 8:00 a.m. on September 14, 2020 and will close at 11:59 p.m. on October 26, 
2020. 

If you need language assistance or assistance submitting your application, please contact South Central 
Planning and Development Commission (SCPDC) at 1-800-630-3791. If you have questions regarding the 
status of your application or payment, these questions can be directed to the LDWF Program 
Development section at 1-855-262-1764 or (225) 765-3980. 

 

Purpose: 

The COVID-19 pandemic has devastated many important parts of Louisiana’s economy, including 
fisheries. As a result of the pandemic Congress passed the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic 
Security (CARES) Act providing $300 million in funding to assist hard-hit fisheries in states and territories. 
Louisiana received $14.8 million in assistance which is the eighth largest investment of CARES Act 
fisheries funding. Louisiana has chosen to assist with those economic losses through direct payments to 
qualifying participants. Funds will be provided to the Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission which will 
work with the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to distribute these funds. 

 

Program Eligibility:  

If applying as an individual, you must be a resident of Louisiana. If applying as a business, it must be 
domiciled in LA and registered with the Louisiana Secretary of State. 

Eligible fishery participant sectors include:  

 Commercial fishermen 

 Commercial fishing vessel owners 

 Charter/for-hire captains 

 Processors (possess a permit from the Louisiana Department of Health to process seafood) 

 Docks (facilities that land seafood and purchase it directly from the fishermen and are required 
to report via trip tickets) 

 Wholesalers/brokers (buy and resell seafood from other wholesale or retail dealers but do not 
land seafood or purchase it directly from fishermen, nor do they process the seafood they 
purchase) 

 Qualified aquaculture operations that are not eligible for the USDA Emergency Assistance for 
Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program  
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 Federally recognized Native American tribes of Louisiana, which have suffered at least a 35% 
economic loss or have experienced negative impacts to subsistence, cultural, or ceremonial 
fisheries. 

All eligible fishery participant sectors must have suffered at least a 35% economic loss.  

Applicants under this award may apply for other Federal assistance programs under the CARES Act or 
other Federal programs, however, the sum of all federal assistance funds, and/or any traditional revenue, 
cannot exceed the average revenue earned across the previous 5 years. 

Applicants must possess a 2020 qualifying Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries resident license. 
If a license/permit isn't required, you must provide proof that your qualifying business was active in 2020. 
Examples of acceptable documentation include, but are not limited to, municipal permits, occupational 
licenses, monthly or quarterly tax payment records, sales or financial reports, and payroll reports. 

Applicants must be able to show at least 35% loss of revenue during the selected time frame in 2020 
compared to a five year (2015-2019) average of the same time frame. You may choose a 4 month (March 
– June) or 3 month (April – June) time frame. Applicants with less than five years of revenue between 
2015 and 2019 are still eligible and should only include years in which there was revenue. 

Applicants Must be at least 18 years old. 

Applicants who are required to report seafood sales on trip tickets must have documented landings 
with LDWF in 2018 or 2019 to be eligible for this program. For applicants not required to submit LDWF 
trip tickets, proof of business activity in 2018 or 2019 is necessary. Examples of acceptable documentation 
include, but are not limited to, municipal permits, occupational licenses, monthly or quarterly tax payment 
records, sales or financial reports, and payroll reports. 

If a business is owned by a limited liability company, corporation, or partnership, the business must 
register and remain in Good Standing with the Louisiana Secretary of State. 

A separate application must be submitted for each taxpayer identification number (EIN or SSN) held on 
your LDWF licenses. 

Applicants may qualify for more than one sector as long as the greater than 35% loss requirement is 
met in each sector. 

Applicants qualifying for any combination of the commercial fishermen, vessel owner, and fresh product 
license sectors may submit one application. If a partnership, corporation, or limited liability company owns 
the vessel, a separate application must be submitted for that vessel. Applicants owning more than one 
vessel may submit one application for all vessels provided they are owned by and registered with the 
same legal entity (SSN or tax identification number (TIN)). Docks and processors may combine different 
locations on a single application provided they are owned by and licensed under the same legal entity 
(SSN or TIN). Charter captains, brokers, and aquaculture facilities sector applications cannot be combined 
with any other sector and must submit separate applications. 
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Required Documentation / Information 

Commercial Fisherman/Fresh Product Dealer/Vessel Owners/Charter Captain 

 Provide a copy of your Current Driver’s License/Photo ID. 

 Provide your LDWF Commercial License #'s/Vessel Registration #'s. 

 If vessel is registered under a business, a Board Resolution form will have to be signed and 
completed if the person completing the application is not the registered agent according to 
the Secretary of State. 

 Federal tax returns for the qualifying years of 2015-2019 (Gross receipts and sales will be 
determined using line 1 or 1a on tax return forms 1040 / Schedule C, Form 1120, Form 1120-
S, or Form 1065. The forms needed are dependent upon how the business is classified.) 

 If you requested a tax extension for any of the years 2015-2019 you will need a copy of the 
tax extension approval letter for those years. 

 Signed and completed W-9 form. 

Wholesale/Retail Dealer(Dock/Broker/Vehicle/Processor), Aquaculture Operation 

 Provide a copy of your Current Driver’s License/Photo ID. 

 Provide your LDWF Commercial License #'s. 

 Processors are required to provide their Department of Health Permit #. 

 Board Resolution form will have to be signed and completed if the person completing the 
application is not the registered owner. 

 Federal tax returns for the qualifying years of 2015-2019 (Gross receipts and sales will be 
determined using line 1 or 1a on tax return forms 1040 / Schedule C, Form 1120, Form 1120-
S, or Form 1065. The forms needed are dependent upon how the business is classified.) 

 If you requested a tax extension for any of the years 2015-2019 you will need a copy of the 
tax extension approval letter for those years. 

 Signed and completed W-9 form. 

Federally Recognized Tribe 

 Provide a copy of your Current Driver’s License/Photo ID. 

 You must upload a document explaining your negative impacts to subsistence, cultural, or 
ceremonial fisheries if you don't have documents such as receipts showing a 35% loss. 

 Signed and completed W-9 form 
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Funding Distribution: 

All sectors, except federally recognized tribes and aquaculture facilities, will be sub-divided into full-time 
and part-time sectors. Funds allocated to each sector will then be split between these two sub-sectors so 
that full-time participants receive a larger payment than part-time participants. The criteria to qualify for 
the full-time sub-sector for each sector is listed below: 

1. Commercial Fishermen – Those possessing the certified endorsement on their license qualify as full-
time. To obtain the certified endorsement, a fisherman must show that more than 50% of their income 
comes from commercial fishing activity. Certified endorsements must be on the applicant’s 2019 or 2020 
LDWF license. Certification performed by the Louisiana Department of Revenue will also be accepted.  

2. Vessel Owners – Those who qualify as full-time are those whose 2018 and 2019 average of landings by 
weight or trips taken exceeds 70 percent of all the other eligible vessels harvesting similar species. LDWF 
will automatically make this determination based on available trip ticket data. Vessels with only one year 
of landings will not be penalized and the year in which they had landings will be used as their average. 

3. Charter / For-hire - Those possessing the certified endorsement on their license qualify as full-time. To 
obtain the certified endorsement, a charter captain must show that more than 50% of their income comes 
from for-hire fishing activity. Certified endorsements performed by LDWF must be on the applicant’s 2019 
or 2020 license. 

4. Fresh Product Licensees – Those whose associated commercial fishermen’s license is certified will 
qualify as full-time. Certified endorsements must be on the applicant’s 2019 or 2020 LDWF license. 

5. Wholesale Dealers / Docks - Those who qualify as full-time are those whose 2018 and 2019 average of 
landings by weight or trips landed exceeds 70 percent of all the other eligible dealers purchasing the same 
species. LDWF will automatically make this determination based on available trip ticket data. Dealers with 
only one year of landings will not be penalized and the year in which they had landings will be used as 
their average. 

6. Wholesale Dealer / Brokers - Those who qualify as full-time are those whose 5-year average of gross 
receipts and sales exceeds 50 percent of the all the other applicants in this sector. LDWF will automatically 
make this determination once all dealer applications have been processed. Brokers with less than five 
years of gross receipts and sales will not be penalized and their average will be calculated using only those 
years in which they had sales. 

7. Wholesale Dealer / Processors - Those who qualify as full-time are those whose 5-year average of gross 
receipts and sales exceeds 50 percent of the all the other applicants in this sector. LDWF will automatically 
make this determination once all processor applications have been processed. Processors with less than 
five years of gross receipts and sales will not be penalized and their average will be calculated using only 
those years in which they had sales. 

Vessel and dock applicants who work with more than once species and do not qualify for the full-time 
sub-sector for any one individual species will have their landings combined and compared to the 
combined landings of their respective sector. This provides an alternative method to qualify for the full-
time sub-sector. Please refer to tables 1 and 2 below for a detailed breakdown of full-time qualifying 
criteria. 
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Table 1. Full-time minimum qualifying criteria for vessels by fishery based on the 70th percentile. 

Sector Fishery Annual Trips 

(minimum #) 

 

 

 

OR 

 

Annual Landings 

(minimum lbs) 

Vessel Owners Crab 80 30,242 

 Oyster 69 12,736 

 Saltwater Fish 10 12,001 

 Shrimp 18 34,185 

 Combined 36 31,802 

 

Table 2. Full-time minimum qualifying criteria for wholesale dealer/docks by fishery based on the 70th 

percentile.  

 

Applicants not currently certified but who are eligible for certification will be allowed to submit certified 
applications by mail during the application process and beyond the application deadline. Payments to 
those claiming to be certified will not be made until the certification process is completed. The 
certification process will require copies of the most recent tax return. Applicants will need to have the 
form completed by a tax preparer possessing a preparer tax identification number (PTIN) and notarized. 
An electronic copy of this form can be submitted with the application or submitted via email. The original 
certification form should be mailed to LDWF. 

Gross receipts and sales will be determined using line 1 or 1a on tax return forms 1040 / Schedule C, Form 
1120, Form 1120-S, or Form 1065. The exact forms needed are dependent upon how the business is 
classified and how you file your taxes. 

 

Sector Fishery Annual Trips 

(minimum #) 

 

 

 

OR 

 

Annual Landings 

(minimum lbs) 

Wholesale Dealer / Docks Crab 125 34,307 

 Oyster 480 76,067 

 Saltwater Fish 50 87,572 

 Shrimp 82 53,924 

 Combined 207 97,161 
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The funding distribution process will be divided into two phases or payments. 

1. During the first phase, the minimum payment will be issued as applications are approved in an effort 
to get funding to those in need as quickly as possible. The minimum payment was determined using 
an estimate of the maximum number of eligible applicants, and by setting aside a portion of the 
funding to ensure there is enough funding to pay all applicants should the number of approved 
applications exceed our estimation. 
 

2. Upon closing of the application period and completion of the review process, the final number of 
eligible applicants within each sector will be determined. Any funds remaining in each sector after 
phase 1 will be applied to the total number of eligible applicants and a second payment will be 
calculated using the same criteria as used in phase 1 maintaining a full-time to part-time payment 
ratio. This will ensure that all funds within each sector are distributed. Final payment amounts will be 
determined by the total number of eligible applications received and may be of higher value than 
Phase 1 payments. 

All applicants will be checked against State records for delinquent child support. Identified delinquencies 
will be deducted from the applicant’s payment amount and the funds provided to the appropriate 
government agencies. 

Applications will be processed in the order in which they are received. This program is subject to the 
availability of funding. There is no guarantee that your application will qualify for this program. Applicants 
who qualify will at least receive the minimum payment amount. The maximum amount that each 
applicant can receive is $10,000. Please refer to table 3 below for a detailed breakdown of the initial first 
phase allocation payments. 

 

Table 3. Funding allocation by fishing sector and participation status. 

   

Commercial Sector Part-time Payout Full-time Payout 

Commercial Fishermen 
Full time = Certified 

$286.33 $1,265.92 

Vessels 
Full time = 70% 

$531.35 $2,358.48 

LA Charter Captains 
Full time=Certified 

$489.72 $2,199.67 

Fresh-Product 
Full time=Certified 

$132.99 $604.95 

Wholesale Dealers 
(Brokers) 

Full time=70% 
$302.46 $1,375.22 

Wholesale Dealers 
(Dock) 

Full time=70% 
$833.40 $3,765.59 

Wholesale Dealers 
(Processors) 

Full time=70% 
$1,202.92 $5,397.35 
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Aquaculture Facilities 
Full time=None 

$0.00 $6,152.93 

Coastal Federal Indian 
Tribes 

$0.00 $14,063.84 

 

Additional Terms: 

Applications may be placed on a waiting list to receive funding from the Louisiana Department of Wildlife 
and Fisheries through this program. Additional documentation may be requested if necessary. Approval 
of applications does not entitle eligible entities to any funds disbursed through this program. Applicants 
will not qualify for program funding if previous funding has been received from USDA Emergency 
Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program, processors or other fishery related 
businesses. Income received through participation in this program is legally required to be reported to 
the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) using a 1099-G form. By submitting an application, participants agree 
to follow the rules and requirements of the program, and certify all information provided on the 
application is correct to the best of their knowledge. Falsification of any information provided on the 
application will be cause for disqualification from the program. Application signatories must be named on 
the license, be listed as the registered agent, or be a recognized signatory as designated by either a Board 
Resolution or Mandate/ Power of Attorney documentation. 

Eligible entities will be required to agree to a validation process allowing LDWF or its contractors to review 
business and financial records related to claims made in the application. Such records can include bank 
statements or legers, quarterly tax payments, sales records, payroll records, tax records, and accounting 
records. LDWF will attempt to validate a minimum of 20% of all applications submitted by entities not 
required to report trip ticket data. All applications submitted by entities reporting trip ticket data will be 
validated against the LDWF trip ticket database.   

Applicants found to have willfully falsified their loss and supporting documentation will be prosecuted 
to the full extent of the law. 


