Return the original signed and Office Use Only
Completed application by mail to: ReceivedBy:__ Date Received in Office:

Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries

ATTN: Wildlife Division, Room 442

2000 Quail Drive

Baton Rouge, LA 70808 Phone: 225-765-2346

Date Permit Mailed: Permit #:

PHYSICALLY CHALLENGED HUNTERS PERMIT APPLICATION
THIS IS A 2-PAGE APPLICATION. BOTH PAGES MUST BE RETURNED FOR PROCESSING.

Last First Middle Jr. or Sr.

Mailing Address

Phone # Date of Birth LA Driver’s License #
Hunter Education Certification # Social Security #
Applicant Signature Date

** Note: A background check will be performed and any applicants with felony convictions or with class two or
above wildlife convictions, WMA or littering violations within the last five years, as determined by the LDWF
Enforcement Division, shall not be issued permits. Fishing and boating violations are excluded.

This section must be completed by the applicants Louisiana Licensed Medical Doctor or
Ophthalmologist or Optometrist for the Visually Impaired

Type of permit applicant qualifies for (please check one):

o Class Il: Mobility Impaired (Permanent)
o Class Il: Mobility Impaired (Temporary)
e Duration of Disability

o Class I: Wheelchair Bound (Permanent)
o Class lll: Upper Extremity Amputee (Permanent)

0 Class IV: Visually Impaired (Permanent) (To qualify, the disability must be for at least 1 year.)

Describe the specific nature of the physical disability and the reason this applicant qualifies for the requested permit. If more
room is need, please use Physician's office letterhead to explain the nature of the disability.

I hereby affirm that | am a medical doctor licensed to practice medicine in the state of Louisiana and further state that the patient listed
above meets the criteria as described in the guidelines for the Physically Challenged Hunter Program and should be issued the appropriate
permit.

Physician’s Name (Printed): Phone #:

Address (Printed):

Physician's Signature: Date:

OFFICE USE ONLY
Enforcement Captain: Date
Division Administrator: Date
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NOTES:
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Physically Challenged Hunter Program Qualifications Information

CLASS I: WHEELCHAIR CONFINED

The applicant must have a disability that permanently confines the applicant to the use of a wheelchair.
He or she does not qualify for this class permit if the applicant may eventually recover enough to not require the
use of a wheelchair, or the future prognosis is uncertain.

CLASS I1: MOBILITY IMPAIRED

The disability must be permanent, AND;

Must impair the applicant sufficiently to preclude walking farther than 200 feet without stopping to rest, even with
mechanical aids.

Must require continual use of artificial limbs, crutches, leg braces, or canes due to injury, disease, or birth defect.
Cannot walk without the assistance of another person, walker, cane, crutches, braces, prosthetic device or temporary
use of a wheelchair.

May include defects of circulatory system, respiratory system, skeletal structure, or neurological disorders caused by
disease, injury, or birth defect.

Applicant must be restricted by a lung disease to such an extent that the person’s forced (respiratory) volume for one
second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or the arterial oxygen tension is less than sixty mm/hg
on room air at rest.

Uses portable oxygen.

Has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person’s functional limitations are classified in severity as class I11 or
class IV according to standards set by the American Heart Association, OR

Has a diagnosed disease or disorder including a severe arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic impairment, which
creates a severe mobility limitation.

He or she does not qualify for this class permit if there is eventual recovery; the future prognosis is uncertain; a
vision impairment; there are arm, hand, shoulder, or other impairments that do not affect walking; if any impairment
is considered to be a part of or resulting from the normal aging process; and/or if any impairment is resulting from or
due to a lack of physical conditioning.

For a Temporary Mobility Permit: individuals who are temporarily disabled for a minimum of one-year duration
may be issued this permit for a period of one year only. If the condition still exists after one year, the individual
would have to reapply and be issued a new permit.

CLASS 11l: AMPUTEE OF THE UPPER EXTREMITY

The applicant must have a permanent disability of amputation of at least one arm, hand, or all five fingers.

CLASS IV: VISUALLY IMPAIRED

Must have a permanent disability impairment of visual functioning, even after treatment and/or standard refractive
correction, and has a visual acuity of equal to or less than 20/200 to light perception certified by a Louisiana licensed
optometrist or ophthalmologist.

A permanent disability visual field of less than ten degrees from the point of fixation, as certified by a Louisiana licensed
optometrist or ophthalmologist.

Physician must initial
here to confirm
qualifications were read
and understood.
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