Buy A License Renew Your Boat Registration Pay Fines

Ditch the Paper Tags! Tag Your Harvest by Text Message

Text-to-tag is here! Hunters can tag and validate their deer or turkey harvest directly from their smartphone (via text) immediately after the animal is harvested.

Display Your Hunting/Fishing License on LA Wallet

Citizens with a Louisiana Driver’s License or State ID can now use LA Wallet to display their purchased LDWF licenses on their smartphone.

New Phone Number for Validating Deer Tags

LDWF recently changed the phone number for validating a harvest by phone. The new phone number is 225.267.9998. The old 844 number is no longer active.

Attention Point of Sale License Vendors

If you're having trouble logging into the LDWF license portal, please use this link: If you need additional assistance, call our Help Desk at 225.267.9992.

Understanding the Upcoming Commercial and Recreational License Changes

LDWF is implementing a new fee structure for hunting and fishing licenses and boat registrations. The new fee structure streamlines the old process, reducing the number of licenses required for hunters and anglers.

Resources for New Hunters

To help the next generation of hunters learn to hunt, we have assembled some useful videos to get you started.

Tunica Hills WMA Closed to All Other Activities during Youth Deer Hunting and Turkey Hunting Weekends

Tunica Hills WMA is CLOSED TO ALL ACTIVITIES except as permitted for youth deer hunting and turkey hunting on the weekends these seasons are in progress. Upcoming closure dates: November 6-7, 2021

Help LDWF Monitor for Chronic Wasting Disease and Enter to Win a Gift Card!

Deer hunters and state taxidermists will be entered into a contest for $1,000 and $500 gift cards, respectively, when they submit a sample from a mature buck harvested in the 2021-22 deer season in Louisiana. Contact your local LDWF office to submit a sample.

Mandatory Hunter Education

To hunt in Louisiana, you must complete an LDWF-approved hunter education course and earn your Hunter Education Certification (exception for those born before September 1, 1969). We offer traditional classroom courses, an online course with an in-person field day, and an online only course (for those age 16 and older). View the schedule or register for a course.

Stay in the Know

Sign up to receive updates on Louisiana's wildlife and fisheries.

Need Assistance?

Nuisance Wildlife Injured or Orphaned Wildlife Private Land Management Assistance
Review Our Research and Publications View Photos Watch Videos

Recent News


Our Outdoor Explorer interactive map allows you to discover all our state has to offer—from basins to bayous and ranges to refuges. Start exploring today.

Upcoming Events


Hunter Education Class - Lincoln Parish


Boater Education Class - Webster Parish


Hunter Education Class - Vernon Parish


Boater Education Class - La Salle Parish