Buy A License Renew Your Boat Registration Pay Fines

License and Permit Fee List

Hunting Licenses and Permits

License/Permit Type Resident Fee Nonresident Fee
Basic Hunting $15 $150
Big Game $14 $150
Bow $10.50 $26
Primitive Firearm $10.50 $26
Louisiana Duck $5.50 $25
Federal Duck Stamp $27.22 $27.22
Louisiana Wild Turkey $5.50 $20.50
HIP Certification Free Free
WMA Hunting Permit $15 $15
Nonresident Small Game/Migratory Bird (1 day) $29
Nonresident Deer (1 day) $36
Nonresident Turkey (1 day)  $36
Senior Hunting/Fishing $5
Louisiana Sportsman's Paradise $100
Louisiana Native Basic Hunting $15
Louisiana Native Big Game $14
Louisiana Native Bow $10.50
Louisiana Native Primitive Firearm $10.50
Louisiana Native Louisiana Duck $5.50
Louisiana Native Louisiana Turkey $5.50
Nonresident Hunting Preserve (October 1-April 30) $15

See Hunting Licenses and Permits for more details. 

Trapping Licenses

License Type Resident Fee Nonresident Fee
Resident Trapping (under age 15) $5
Resident Trapping (age 15 or older) $25
Nonresident Trapping $200

 See Trapping Licenses for more details.

Recreational Fishing Licenses and Permits

License/Permit Type Resident Fee Nonresident Fee
Hook and Line (cane pole) $2.50
Basic Fishing $9.50 $60
Saltwater (Basic Fishing License required) $13 $30
Nonresident Basic Trip (1day) $5
Nonresident Saltwater Trip (1 day) $17.50
Nonresident Saltwater Season (Basic Fishing license required) $30
Senior Hunting/Fishing $5
Louisiana Sportman's Paradise $100
Charter Passenger (3 day) $10 $10
Charter Skiff (3 day) $30
Cans/Buckets (limit 5) $10 $40
Crab Traps (limit 10) $15 $60
Crawfish Traps (limit 35) $15 $60
Hoop Nets (limit 5) $20 $80
Oyster Tong (per tong) $5 $20
Pipes/Drums (limit 5) $10 $40
Slat Traps (limit 5) $20 $80
Trawls - less than 16 feet $25 $100
Trawls - 16 feet up to 25 feet $80 $320
Wire Nets (limit 5) $20 $80
Recreational Offshore Landing Permit Free Free

See Recreational Fishing Licenses and Permits for more details. 

For-Hire/Charter Fishing Licenses and Permits

License/Permit Type Resident Nonresident
Charter Boat Fishing Guide (up to 6 passengers) $250 $1,500
Charter Boat Fishing Guide (more than 6 passengers) $500 $2,500
Mothership (up to 6 skiffs) $1,000 $1,000
Mothership (more than 6 skiffs) $2,000 $2,000
Charter Skiff (for each skiff) $50 $50
Recreational Offshore Landing Permit Free Free

See For-Hire/Charter Fishing Licenses and Permits for more details.

Commercial Licenses and Permits

 

License/Permit Type Resident Nonresident
Commercial Fisherman $55 $460
Senior Commercial Fisherman $20
Minor Commercial Fisherman $55
Apprentice $27.50 $230
Reptile and Amphibian Collector  $25 ($10 for under age 16)  $200
Vessel (required south of saltwater line)  $15 $60
Special Bait Dealer's Permit  $110 (plus $1,000 cash bond)
Oyster Harvester License (captain only)  $100 $400
Calcasieu Lake Oyster Harvester Permit Free  Free
Public Oyster Seed Ground Vessel Permit - one scraper  $250 $1,000
Public Oyster Seed Ground Vessel Permit - two scrapers  $500 $2,200
Out-of-State Oyster Landing Permit  $100 $100
Alternative Oyster Culture Permit (Commercial Fisherman and Oyster Harvester Licenses required)  $100 application fee; $2 per acre lease fee   $100 application fee; $2 per acre lease fee
Mullet Permit (captain only)  $100 $400
Pompano Permit (captain only) Free Free
Shark Permit Free Free
Spotted Seatrout Permit  $100 $400
Traversing Permit  Free Free
Mussel Harvester Permit (captain only)  $100 $1,000
Bow and Arrow  $25 $100
Butterfly Net (per net)  $25 $100
Cans, Buckets, Pipes, Drums (any legal number)  $25 $100
Cast Net  $25 $100
Crab Drop Net  $25 $100
Crab Trap (any legal number)  $25 $100
Crawfish Trap (any legal number)  $25 $100
Dip Net  $25 $100
Eel Pot (any legal number)  $25 $100
Flounder Gig (per gig)  $25 $100
Freshwater Fish Seine (any legal number)  $25 $100
Freshwater Gill Net (any legal number)  $25 $100
Freshwater Shrimp Net  $25
Freshwater Trammel Net (any legal number)  $25 $100
Garfish Gig (per gig)  $25 $100
Hoop Net (any legal number)  $25 $100
Minnow Trap (any legal number)  $25 $100
Mullet Strike Net (per net)  $250 $1,000
Oyster Scraper (per scraper)  $25 $200
Oyster Tong (per tong)  $30 $240
Pompano Stike Net (per net) $250  $1,000
Purse/Menhaden Seine (per seine)  $505 $2,020
Rod and Reel (saltwater; any legal number)  $250 $1,000
Set Line (trot, bush, etc.; any legal number)  $25 $100
Shad Gill Net (Lac Des Allemands, Lake Palourde, Lake Verret)  $25 $100
Shad Seine (freshwater)  $25 $100
Shrimp Gear Fee (one-time annually)  $10 $40
Shrimp Trawl (per trawl)  $25 $100
Skimmer Net (per net)  $25 $100
Spear Gun (per spear gun)  $25 $100
Slat Trap (any legal number)  $25 $100
Wire Net (any legal number)  $25 $100
Wholesale/Retail Seafood Dealer - Business or Vehicle  $250 (or $1,000 for four years) $1,105 (or $4,420 for four years) 
Retail Seafood Dealer - Business or Vehicle $105 (or $420 for four years)  $405 (or $1,620 for four years)
Fresh Products (Commercial Fisherman License required) $20  $120
Fresh Products - Spouse  $5
Wholesale Out-of-State Crab Shipping  $100 $100
Retail Out-of-State Crab Shipping  $100 $100
Oyster Cargo Vessel Permit  $250 $1,105
Mussel Buyer's Permit  $150 $600
Reptile and Amphibian Wholesale/Retail Dealer  $105 $405
Nonresident Reptile and Amphibian Wholesale/Retail Dealer (3-day) $75 
Alligator Parts Dealer (expires June 30)  $50 $50
Alligator Parts Retailer (expires June 30)  $5 $5
Domesticated Aquatic Organism License  $15 $400
Wholesale/Retail Seafood Transport License  $30 $30
Retail Seafood Transport License  $30 $30
Commercial Fisherman Seafood Transport License  $30 $30
Reptile and Amphibian Transport License $30 $120
Resident Trapping (under age 15)  $5
Resident Trapping (age 15 or older)  $25
Nonresident Trapping $200
Fur Buyer  $25 $100
Fur Dealer  $150 ($500 deposit required) $300 ($1,000 deposit required)
Commercial Hunting Perserve License (pen-raised birds only) $200  $200
Game Breeder License  $25 (plus $50 inspection fee for deer and birds of prey)   $25 (plus $50 inspection fee for deer and birds of prey)
Nongame Quadruped Exhibitor License  $10 $10
Nongame Quadruped Breeder License $25 $25

See Commercial Licenses and Permits for more details.

WMA Licenses and Permits

License/Permit Type Resident Fee Nonresident Fee
Wild Louisiana Stamp1 $9.50 $9.50
Wild Louisiana Stamp1 $2 $2
Self-Clearing Permit2 Free Free

1Required to access WMAs or other LDWF-administered lands if you do not have a Louisiana fishing or hunting license.
2Required for all activities (hunting, fishing, hiking, irding, sightseeing, etc.) on WMAs unless otherwise specified. Check individual WMAs for exceptions. 

Lifetime Licenses

License Type Resident Fee Nonresident Fee
Resident Lifetime Fishing - age 5-13 $200
Resident Lifetime Fishing - age 14 and up $300
Resident Lifetime Hunting - age 5-13 $200
Resident Lifetime Hunting - age 14 and up $300
Resident Lifetime Hunting/Fishing - age 0-4 $200
Resident Lifetime Hunting/Fishing - age 5-13 $300
Resident Lifetime Hunting/Fishing - age 14 and up $500
Resident Lifetime senior Hunting/Fishing (60 or older) $50
Nonresident Lifetime Hunting/Fishing $3,000
Nonresident Lifetime Native Disabled Veteran Hunting/Fishing $300
Lifetime Recreational Fishing Gear 10 times annual fee per gear type (see application for details) 10 times annual fee per gear type (see application for details)

See Special Licenses for more details.

Disability Licenses and Permits

License/Permit Type Fee
Resident Disable Veterans Hunting and Fishing Free
Resident Disabled Sportsman Free
Resident Disabled Basic Recreational Fishing $2.50
Resident Disabled Saltwater Fishing $2.50
Resident Disabled Basic Hunting (excludes deer and turkey; includes WMA Hunting Permit) $5
Resident Disabled Big Game $5
Resident Disabled Bow $5
Resident Disabled Primitive Firearm $5
Developmentally Disabled Hunting/Fishing Free
Physically Challenged Hunter Permit Free

 See Special Licenses for more details.

Military Licenses

License Type Resident Fee Nonresident Fee
Active Military Basic Fishing: $9.50
Saltwater Fishing: $5.50
Basic Hunting: $15
Big Game: $14
Bow: $10.50
Primitive Firearm: $10.50
Louisiana Duck: $5.50
Wild Turkey: $5.50
Resident Louisiana National Guard Hunting/Fishing $50
Resident/Native Retired Military Hunting/Fishing $5 $5
Resident Surviving Spouse Killed in Action Fishing or Hunting $2.50
Resident/Nonresident Purple Heart Recipient Basic Fishing: $9.50
Saltwater Fishing: $13
Basic Hunting: $15
Big Game: $14
Louisiana Duck: $5.50
Bow: $10.50
Primitive Firearm: $10.50
Wild Turkey: $5.50 

 See Special Licenses for more details.

Student Licenses

License Type Fee
Nonresident Student Basic Fishing $9.50
Nonresident Student Saltwater (Basic Fishing License reuired) $5.50
Nonresident Student Basic Hunting $15
Nonresident Student Big Game $14
Nonresident Student Bow $10.50
Nonresident Student Primitive Firearm $10.50
Nonresident Student Duck $5.50
Nonresident Student Wild Turkey $5.50

 See Special Licenses for more details.