Buy A License Renew Your Boat Registration Pay Fines

Special Licenses and Permits (Lifetime, Disability, Military, and Student)

Lifetime Licenses

If you’re a Louisiana resident, you may purchase a Lifetime Hunting, Fishing, or Combination Hunting and Fishing License. The cost varies according to your age at the time of purchase. A Lifetime License is valid for life and remains valid even if you become a resident of another state.

Nonresidents may purchase a Nonresident Lifetime Combination Hunting and Fishing License.

Lifetime Hunting Licenses cover Basic, Big Game, Bow, and Primitive Firearm hunting licenses; Louisiana Duck and Turkey stamps; and the WMA Hunting Permit. Federal Duck Stamps are not included.

Lifetime Fishing Licenses cover Basic and Saltwater Fishing licenses.

Lifetime Combination Hunting and Fishing Licenses cover all of the above.

Lifetime Recreational Fishing Gear Licenses are also available.

How do I purchase a Lifetime License?

Lifetime Licenses are available from LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge during normal business hours, 8 am to 4 pm, Monday through Friday. You can also submit an application via email or mail.

  • Email it to lifetime@wlf.la.gov. Scan and attach the application and all required documents (including birth certificate) to your email. Licensing staff will contact applicants by phone to collect payment by credit card.
  • Mail it to the address below with all required documents and a check, money order, or cashier’s check for your license fees:
    LDWF
    Attn: Sports License
    PO Box 98000
    Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000.

Applications are available online or by calling 225.765.2887.

Please allow three weeks of processing time. For more information, call 225.765.2887.

How do I qualify for resident license rates?

To be eligible for resident rates, you must meet the bona fide residency requirements defined below and provide a copy of the following documents with your completed application:

  • If age 18 or older, a valid Louisiana driver's license issued for a minimum of 6 months and ONE of the following: current Louisiana voter's registration card, Louisiana vehicle registration in your name, or two immediate previous years’ Louisiana tax returns, marked “received” by Department of Revenue and Taxation.
  • If under age 18, an original certified birth certificate from the Department of Health, social security number, and a copy of both parents’ Louisiana driver’s licenses. Birth certificates will not be returned if you apply by mail.
Bona Fide Residency Requirements:

You’re a bona fide resident if you’ve resided in the state of Louisiana continuously during the 6 months immediately prior to the date you apply for any license and if you’ve established Louisiana as your legal domicile. You must demonstrate compliance with all of the following, as applicable:

  • If you’re registered to vote, you’re registered to vote in Louisiana
  • If you’re licensed to drive a motor vehicle, you have a valid Louisiana driver’s license
  • If you own a motor vehicle located within Louisiana, you have a valid Louisiana registration for that vehicle
  • If you earn an income, you have filed a Louisiana state income tax return and have complied with state income tax law and regulations. 

Any person, corporation, or other legal entity that possesses a resident license from any other state or country shall not qualify for a resident license in Louisiana.

License Types and Fees

License Type: Resident Fee Nonresident Fee
Resident Lifetime Fishing (age 5-13) $200
Resident Lifetime Fishing (age 14 and up) $300
Resident Lifetime Hunting (age 5-13) $200
Resident Lifetime Hunting (age 14 and up) $300
Resident Lifetime Hunting/Fishing (age 0-4) $200
Resident Lifetime Hunting/Fishing (age 5-13) $300
Resident Lifetime Hunting/Fishing (age 14 and up) $500
Resident Lifetime Senior Hunting/Fishing (60 and older) $50
Nonresident Lifetime Hunting/Fishing $3,000
Nonresident Lifetime Native Disabled Veterans Hunting/Fishing1 $300
Lifetime Recreational Fishing Gear  10 times annual fee per gear type (see application for details)

1Copy of driver’s license, notarized copy of birth certificate, and Disabled Veterans Hunting and Fishing License Application must accompany application.

Application Forms

Next time you renew your driver’s license at the Office of Motor Vehicles, you can add a Lifetime Hunting, Fishing, or Combination License endorsement to your license for free. If you have this endorsement, you do not have to carry your lifetime license with you as long as you have your driver’s license.

 

Disability Licenses and Permits

Certain disabled Louisiana residents may obtain recreational fishing and hunting licenses free of charge or at reduced rates. Disability license applicants must present a copy of their valid Louisiana driver's license or identification card issued by the Office of Motor Vehicles and appropriate proof of disability along with their license application.

Unless otherwise noted, submit applications for disability licenses in person at LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge during normal business hours, 8 am to 4 pm, Monday through Friday. You can also submit an application via email or mail.

  • Email it to lifetime@wlf.la.gov. Scan and attach the application and all required documents to your email. Licensing staff will contact applicants by phone to collect payment (if applicable) by credit card.
  • Mail it to the address below with all required documents and, if applicable, a check, money order, or cashier’s check for your license fees:
    LDWF
    Attn: Sports License
    PO Box 98000
    Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000.

Please note that you can only submit Physically Challenged Hunter Permit applications by mail. Please see the information below. 

Application forms are available below. Call 225.765.2887 for more information.

Resident Disabled Veterans Hunting and Fishing License

  • For resident veterans who have a permanent service-connected disability classification of 50 percent or more
  • Free
  • Includes Basic and Saltwater fishing licenses; Basic, Big Game, Bow, and Primitive Firearm hunting licenses; Louisiana Duck and Turkey stamps; and the WMA Hunting Permit
  • Does not include Federal Duck Stamp

Resident Disabled Sportsman License

  • For residents who are blind, paraplegic or multiple amputee and residents required to use one or more artificial limbs or permanent braces for mobility or who are a single amputee
  • Free
  • Includes Basic and Saltwater fishing licenses; Basic, Big Game, Bow, and Primitive Firearm hunting licenses; Louisiana Duck and Turkey stamps; and the WMA Hunting Permit

Resident Disabled Hunting and Fishing License

  • For residents who are totally and permanently disabled and receiving federal social security disability benefits or disability retirement income from a retirement system whose members are exempt from social security pursuant to the Railroad Retirement Insurance Act or employees of the state or a political subdivision of the state that has not voluntarily agreed to participate in federal social security
  • Reduced rates for the following licenses:
License Type Fee
Basic Recreational Fishing $2.50
Saltwater Fishing $2.50
Basic Hunting (excludes deer and turkey; includes WMA Hunting Permit) $5
Big Game $5
Bow $5
Primitive Firearm $5
  • Must also submit a letter from the federal Social Security Administration or retirement system granting disability benefits, along with proper identification
  • This exemption does not apply to Supplemental Security Income benefits.

Developmentally Disabled License

Residents who are considered developmentally disabled may obtain special disability hunting and/or fishing licenses for free. The fishing license includes Basic and Saltwater fishing licenses. The hunting license covers Basic, Big Game, Bow, Primitive Firearm hunting licenses; Louisiana Duck and Turkey stamps; and the WMA Hunting Permit. Anyone fishing with a special disability fishing license must be accompanied by a validly licensed fisherman; anyone hunting with a special disability hunting license must be accompanied by a validly licensed hunter.

To qualify for a developmentally disabled license, the applicant must meet all other legal requirements to obtain a fishing and/or hunting license and submit proof of residing in Louisiana consecutively for the immediate 12 months prior to applying for a license (e.g. resident driver's license of guardian or caregiver, voter registration card, vehicle registration, certification by guardian or caregiver, etc.), in addition to the license application and other required documents listed above.

Physically Challenged Hunter Permit

LDWF provides a free Physically Challenged Hunter Permit to individuals who are wheelchair-bound, mobility impaired, upper extremity amputees, or visually impaired.

These permits allow qualified individuals to participate in special deer hunts on private and public lands, access specially designated ATV trails on wildlife management areas, and hunt from ATVs, in accordance with state and parish laws.

Contact 225.765.2346 or see the permit application (linked below) for additional details.

To submit an application for a Physically Challenged Hunter Permit, mail it to:

LDWF
Attn: Wildlife Division, Room 442
2000 Quail Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70808

Physically Challenged Hunter Permits can only be submitted via mail.

Mobility Impaired Individuals

Residents who are considered mobility-impaired and over age 60 may use one legal slat trap and/or one hoop net not greater than 18 feet by 8 feet, without a license in any waters of the state, except where specific gear is restricted, only for the purpose of catching catfish for home consumption. They must possess valid identification while using these gears.


 

Military Licenses

License Types and Fees

License Type Resident Fee Nonresident Fee
Active Military Basic Fishing: $9.50
Saltwater Fishing: $5.50
Basic Hunting: $15
Big Game: $14
Bow: $10.50
Primitive Firearm: $10.50
Louisiana Duck: $5.50
Wild Turkey: $5.50
Resident Louisiana National Guard Hunting/Fishing $50
Resident/Nonresident Native Retired Military Hunting/Fishing $5
Resident Surviving Spouse Killed in Action Hunting or Fishing $2.50
Resident/Nonresident Purple Heart Recipient Basic Fishing: $9.50
Saltwater Fishing: $13
Basic Hunting: $15
Big Game: $14
Louisiana Duck: $5.50
Bow: $10.50
Primitive Firearm: $10.50
Wild Turkey: $5.50

Active Military

If you are on active duty with any of the U.S. Armed Forces, including the National Guard, or are the spouse or dependent of an active-duty member, you may purchase a license for hunting or recreational fishing in Louisiana for the same fee paid by Louisiana residents. Active duty military licenses are available at many LDWF offices (Baton Rouge, Alexandria, Lake Charles, Monroe, and Opelousas) and local retailers. You must present a valid active duty military ID card when you purchase your license AND have your military ID or dependent card and appropriate license(s) in your possession at all times while hunting or fishing. Active-duty military licenses are valid only while you are on active duty. In addition, active-duty members and/or their spouse and dependents may receive a credit toward individual income tax liability for obtaining a Louisiana hunting or recreational fishing license.

Louisiana National Guard

If you are a Louisiana resident who is a member of the Louisiana National Guard or any reserve component of the U.S. Armed Forces, you may purchase a combination hunting and fishing license for $50. This license covers your Basic and Saltwater fishing licenses; Basic, Big Game, Bow, and Primitive Firearm hunting licenses; Louisiana Duck and Turkey stamps; and WMA Hunting Permit.

Simply complete a Resident Non-Active Louisiana National Guard Hunting/Fishing license application and submit it along with applicable fees, a copy of your Louisiana driver’s license and military ID card, and an original letter from your commanding officer verifying that you are in “good standing” with the Louisiana National Guard. You may only apply for these licenses at LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge.

Retired Military

If you are a Louisiana resident or native-born retired member of the U.S. Armed Forces, including the Louisiana National Guard, you may purchase a combination hunting and fishing license for $5. To qualify for this license, you must submit the following:

  • Residents: a copy of valid Louisiana driver’s license or Louisiana identification card (issued a minimum of 6 months prior to applying) and a copy of your retired military identification card
  • Nonresidents: a certified copy of your Louisiana birth certificate, a copy of your driver’s license and a copy of your retired military identification card.

You may apply for this license at LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge or by mail to:

LDWF
Attn: Sports License
PO Box 98000
Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000

Surviving Spouse

If you are a Louisiana resident who is a surviving spouse of a member of the U.S. Armed Forces, including the Louisiana National Guard or Air National Guard, who was killed in action while in a combat zone, you may purchase recreational fishing and hunting licenses for $2.50 each. The recreational fishing license includes Basic and Saltwater fishing licenses. The hunting license includes Basic, Big Game, Bow, and Primitive Firearm hunting licenses; Louisiana Duck and Turkey stamps; and the WMA Hunting Permit.

To qualify for these licenses, you must submit copies of the DD 1300 form, the death certificate, and your valid Louisiana driver’s license or Louisiana identification card; you must have also lived in Louisiana continuously for at least the past 6 months. You may apply for these licenses at LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge or by mail to:

LDWF
Attn: Sports License
PO Box 98000
Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000

Call 225.765.2887 for more information.

Purple Heart Recipient

Any person, whether a resident or nonresident, who has been awarded a Purple Heart is eligible for hunting and fishing licenses at the resident rate. The applicant must submit one of the following:

  • Louisiana Vehicle Registration indicating a Purple Heart Specialty plate
  • Photocopy of a DD214 form or any other military document that indicates the applicant received a
    Purple Heart.

You may apply for these licenses at LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge or by mail to:

LDWF
Attn: Sports License
PO Box 98000
Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000

 Call 225.765.2887 for more information.

 


 

Student Licenses

License Types and Fees

License Type Fee
Nonresident Student Basic Fishing $9.50
Nonresident Student Saltwater (Basic Fishing License required) $5.50
Nonresident Student Basic Hunting $15
Nonresident Student Big Game $14
Nonresident Student Bow $10.50
Nonresident Student Primitive Firearm $10.50
Nonresident Student Duck $5.50
Nonresident Student Wild Turkey $5.50

College/University Students

If you’re not a Louisiana resident but are a full-time student enrolled in an accredited college or university that has a physical campus in the state of Louisiana, you may purchase recreational fishing and hunting licenses for the cost of resident licenses. To purchase a license at the reduced rate, you must provide LDWF with verification of your full-time status. You must have your student identification card indicating current full-time status in your possession while fishing or hunting under your student license.

High School Students

If you’re not a Louisiana resident but are 16 years of age or older and enrolled full- or part-time in a public or private high school in the state of Louisiana, you may purchase recreational hunting licenses for the cost of resident licenses. To purchase a license at the reduced rate, you must provide LDWF with verification of your enrollment status in a Louisiana high school. You must have your student identification card indicating current enrollment status in your possession while hunting under your student license.

How do I purchase a Student License?

Student Licenses are available from LDWF Headquarters at 2000 Quail Drive in Baton Rouge during normal business hours, 8 am to 4 pm, Monday through Friday. You can also mail your application with all required documents and a check, money order, or cashier’s check for your license fees to:

LDWF
Attn: Sports License
PO Box 98000
Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000

For more information, call 225.765.2887.