Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF) enforcement agents arrested a Belle Rose man for allegedly driving or operating a vessel while impaired (DWI) in Assumption Parish on June 8.

Agents arrested Milton Metrejean, 54, for DWI and booked him into the Assumption Parish Jail.

Agents were patrolling the Belle River when they observed Metrejean operating a vessel and then made contact with him. Agents detected that Matrejean was impaired while operating the vessel.

Anyone cited for a DWI on the water or on the road will lose his or her driver's license and boating privileges for the specified time ordered by the judge in the case. Also, each offense of operating a vehicle or vessel while intoxicated counts toward the total number of DWI crimes whether they happened on the water or road.

In Louisiana, a DWI can be issued to anyone operating a moving vessel or vehicle while impaired.  First offense DWI carries a $300 to $1,000 fine and up to six months in jail.

Agents participating in the case are Agent Joel Rubio and Agent Patrick Stansbury.